$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 27, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
1901 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
56 reviews
personal trip

Hotel resold my room after cancelling first day due to FAA shut down. Hotel is very clean and would... See full review

  • Hello Mom
  • Oct 3, 2014
Family vacation

The waiter knowingly served me the wrong dressing on my salad. I guess he was waiting to see if I... See full review

  • josephindesmoines
  • Jul 31, 2014
Welcome to Charlottesville Holiday Inn® University Area We are the perfect location for business or social occasions. The Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport CHO offers international and domestic destinations. Plan a Visit to the University of Virginia nearby, or take in the rich history that surrounds us, such as: Monticello, the homes of Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and James Monroe. Along with Montpelier and Ash-lawn Highland. The hotel is adjacent to The Shops at Stonefield, the city's newest upscale shopping center featuring an IMAX Regal Movie Theater, Burton's Grill, Travinia Italian Restaurant, Trader Joe's, Pottery Barn, Vineyard Vines, Williams-Sonoma, L'occitane, Brooks Brothers and much more right here at your door. Stroll the Charlottesville Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall and enjoy lunch at the nearby Michie Tavern a real treat for everyone. Take in a show at the Paramount Theatre, John Paul Jones Arena or visit our local calendar of events web page for a complete listing of local festivals and area events. We invite you to come by Emmets's Restaurant & Lounge for Breakfast, Dinner or just relax and enjoy room service at your door. The hotel offers a delicious array of dining options in a casual comfortable atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Hotel Map

38.0609 -78.4927
Nearby airports
Charlottesville Albemarle Regional Airport, (CHO), 6.00, MI, N; Richmond Internation Airport, (RIC), 70.00, MI, E; Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 90.00, MI, N;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • University Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. Offering daily Chef's Specials and a variety of delcious entrees, salads, sandwiches, appetizers and desserts! The restaurant is open
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 56
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LizzzzTN
Business
TN
Sep 15, 2013

Avoid room 400

Next to the ice machine and elevator. Noisy environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doggydoc
Business
Blacksburg, VA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Nicer than the average Holiday Inn

It was clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the room was large and had a refrigerator and microwave which was a plus. Checkout was fast and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUVOJIT
Business
ATLANTA
Feb 18, 2012

Short nice Biz Trip

I stayed for 1 night for office trip. Room was neat and clean, Amenities are excellent. I got what I needed for a short biz trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SwoVa
Business
Chesapeake,Va
Jul 9, 2011

Not impressed

Visited UVA to drop my daughter off for college. Great location, clean, however the ac unit was loud and there was no heavy drapes to block out the street lights at night. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bedford
Jun 19, 2011

It was okay!

It was okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NikkiP for Darden
Business
houston, tx
Nov 28, 2010

Holiday Inn Charlottesville

Went there to visit UVa and wanted a basic hotel to sleep and shower. It was clean and neat - no frills. If you need a quick pit stop this is the place. Staff was friendly as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Quick easy access to UVa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Mar 24, 2010

Delivered the goods

As a business tvlr, my time is at a premium. Hotel staff was routinely unavailable on several times I stopped by with questions. That said, the property was very clean and the room an excellent value so I was able to unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Do your homework so you don't need to depend on staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kickstart
Business
West Point, NY
Nov 15, 2009

Business trip

The hotel is listed as a "university area hotel," but it is a couple miles (about 10min) from the university up busy Rt 29. There are several other hotels actually closer to UVA and the downtown area, if needed. The staff was very attentive and courteous and the room was comfortable. I was in town on a house-hunting trip of approximately a week, so a fridge and/or microwave in the room would have been appreciated (room only had a coffee maker). Access to a fitness center was important to me, and the hotel had a small exercise room with 2 treadmills, a stair stepper, and a recumbent bike. All-in-all, it was a good experience and I would stay here again (although maybe elsewhere if I really needed to be "close" to UVA).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

While there is one restaurant in the hotel, the hotel is situated on Rt29, with a variety of dining options within a short drive in either direction.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Management Consultant
Business
Washington DC
Oct 9, 2009

Smells bad

Room on the 7th floor had too strong of a smell of something like urine. hotel staff moved us to another room, smell still there, from cleaning products I guess, not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jul 24, 2009

Nice Surprise.

Very accommondating with newly renovated hotel,,,,,very friendly personnel staff,,,,,great new dinging / bar area with big screen tvs everywhee & comfortable new furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top