$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
View map of 1901 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
57 reviews
personal trip

Hotel resold my room after cancelling first day due to FAA shut down. Hotel is very clean and would... See full review

  • Hello Mom
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great business stay

Extremely comfortable pillows and bed. Very clean facility. Very cost effective See full review

  • Tricia DFG
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Comfort of Home at the Gateway of all Charlottesville has to Offer Welcome to Holiday Inn® University Area , the perfect location for leisure stays, social occasions, corporate meetings, and conferences. We are conveniently located on Route 29 near the University of Virginia. We offer complimentary shuttle service to/from nearby Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport (CHO). Our spacious guest rooms include free Wi-Fi , a refrigerator, microwave, and 37in HDTV. Take in the rich history of Cville at Thomas Jefferson's Monticello , James Madison's Montpelier, James Monroe's Ashland, and lunch at Michie Tavern. Taste and tour at an area winery or visit one of the many seasonal family-friendly festivals. The hotel is near many corporate and government offices including Northrop Grumman, NGIC, State Farm, Lexis Nexis, JAG, CFA Institute, Siemens, GE, Federal Executive Institute, and UVA Research Park. Enjoy great shopping and restaurants at Barracks Road or the city's newest upscale center, The Shops at Stonefield, which is adjacent to the hotel. Stroll the Downtown Pedestrian Mall or take in a show or sporting event at John Paul Jones Arena. The hotel offers casual dining at Emmet's Restaurant and Lounge , open for breakfast and dinner or room service in the comfort of your room. Take a dip in our heated indoor pool or workout in our Fitness Center. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • University Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. Offering daily Chef's Specials and a variety of delcious entrees, salads, sandwiches, appetizers and desserts! The restaurant is open
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UVA family
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
May 29, 2011

[...]

[...] The hotel lobby was beautiful and upgraded restuarant...our room for my son's graduation from UVA was in a disgusting hallway on the first floor in the back of the hotel that was so heavy laden with smoke in the hallway that I could not have my family stay there overnite...then when we opened the door to our room again, heavy smoke smell and the patio door was open two feet and my sons could not close it. I complained of course and was offered a maintenance call [...]. A trip back to the lobby with my familiy in tow resulted in a beautful room which just happened to be available. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jul 18, 2011

Not worth the $$

Spent $185 for a night in this hotel. PROS: bar/lounge area, and very friendly bar tender. CONS: as another reviewer posted, we thought there were no black out drapes to block out light. We called front desk and after 10 minutes of ringing the desk, he finally answered.He came to our room (on the first floor with only sheers on the windows so anyone walking by could see in) and he looked at the drapes and told us "I guess this room doesn't have the drapes". The next morning, after sleeping with a parking lot light glaring through the sheer curtains, we found the black out curtains in front of the sheers pushed all the way to the sides. Our first floor view was of a dumpster with a toilet sitting along side of it. The room had an antiquated tv with a broken power button and there were stains all over the carpet. I would have tolerated these little things if 1) I wasn't so grumpy from lack of sleep and b) I had paid only $79.99 for the room. Not worth the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If trying to get to the hotel from Route 29, go to the light and make a u-turn instead of trying to turn left into the parking lot. We sat forever waiting for a break in traffic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo, NY
Nov 28, 2010

Cold Stay

The pool was cold. They gave us a discount, but not enough to make up for what I spent getting a hotel with an indoor pool. No breakfast not even danish. Not a good value. The Restaurant is expensive and food tasteless and cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Oct 19, 2009

Should be better

This hotel stay was just underwhelming. Room service messed up our order. The room service food wasn't that good. Room service didn't answer the second night at all. The room had weird smells but we couldn't find the source of the problem. There were just enough annoying little problems to sour me on the whole stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Management Consultant
Business
Washington DC
Oct 9, 2009

Smells bad

Room on the 7th floor had too strong of a smell of something like urine. hotel staff moved us to another room, smell still there, from cleaning products I guess, not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UVa mama
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 23, 2013

Horrible pillows, "wobbly" bed

Pillows were half the size of regular pillows, bed was so wobbly, i was afraid it might collapse! Rooms seemed somewhat clean, lobby was decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SwoVa
Business
Chesapeake,Va
Jul 9, 2011

Not impressed

Visited UVA to drop my daughter off for college. Great location, clean, however the ac unit was loud and there was no heavy drapes to block out the street lights at night. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fredericksburg
Aug 24, 2008

My review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Lots of aging paint and some grime, though they are renovating. Location is the only saving grace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
short time traveler
Business
Virginia
Oct 7, 2009

Holiday Inn has maintenance prbblems

Checked in, desk staff was warm and personable. Went to room and bathroom light had a 10 minute delay before coming in. Call front desk and informed them of problems. They changed the room. Inspected second room, room entrance light flashed like a strobe light Hotel. Staff tried to change room again but that new room did not have refrigerator. Pillows on bed were small, requested more pillows, staff brought more pillows but one was torn with filling going all over the floor. Bathtub had mold going underneath soapdish and there was dust on top on light fixture. The toilet seat kept falling down after being raised completely to the vertical position. The computer chair was too short for using a laptop on the desk in the room. There was not enough electrical outlets by the desk. This hotel was about 35 years old with the minimal of room amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SW North Carolina
Jun 25, 2009

Under Contruction

The hotel was obviously under construction. The manager, while very friendly and sympathetic, could not correct many of the problems - no wi-fi in entire wing of hotel, etc. The expected renovations sounded wonderful but at the present time the place showed many signs of deferred maintenance. Advice: Wait until 2010 to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top