$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
1901 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
57 reviews
personal trip

Hotel resold my room after cancelling first day due to FAA shut down. Hotel is very clean and would... See full review

  • Hello Mom
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great business stay

Extremely comfortable pillows and bed. Very clean facility. Very cost effective See full review

  • Tricia DFG
  • Oct 29, 2014
Welcome to Charlottesville Holiday Inn® University Area We are the perfect location for business or social occasions. The Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport CHO offers international and domestic destinations. Plan a Visit to the University of Virginia nearby, or take in the rich history that surrounds us, such as: Monticello, the homes of Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and James Monroe. Along with Montpelier and Ash-lawn Highland. The hotel is adjacent to The Shops at Stonefield, the city's newest upscale shopping center featuring an IMAX Regal Movie Theater, Burton's Grill, Travinia Italian Restaurant, Trader Joe's, Pottery Barn, Vineyard Vines, Williams-Sonoma, L'occitane, Brooks Brothers and much more right here at your door. Stroll the Charlottesville Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall and enjoy lunch at the nearby Michie Tavern a real treat for everyone. Take in a show at the Paramount Theatre, John Paul Jones Arena or visit our local calendar of events web page for a complete listing of local festivals and area events. We invite you to come by Emmets's Restaurant & Lounge for Breakfast, Dinner or just relax and enjoy room service at your door. The hotel offers a delicious array of dining options in a casual comfortable atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • University Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. Offering daily Chef's Specials and a variety of delcious entrees, salads, sandwiches, appetizers and desserts! The restaurant is open
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.3

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sugarshorts
Durham, NC
Nov 18, 2012

Great Hotel

Great location, unusually nice rooms. Very clean and enjoyable. Staff was excellent in all areas. One Lady at the front desk who waited on us was most helpful and friendly. Also, the food prices were reasonable also. Couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Went there for Football game. Transportation in the City is not desirable for this type activity. Need to prearrange transportation service of some kind. We were to go to the John P. Jones building and pick up a shuttle to the Football stadium. This doesn't exist anymore. We had to walk from the JPJ Center for 1-1/ 2 miles there and back where we parked. Hotel was not aware of this change.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bedford
Jun 19, 2011

It was okay!

It was okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocky Mount VA
Jun 14, 2011

Very nice!

This was great for a girls weekend getaway. The hotel was nice, the room was clean, staff was helpful for our many questions. We spent most of our time having fun in C'ville, but if I was to stay in the area again, I'd definitely choose this one. The only problem we had was that I asked for an extra bed (there were 3 of us) and we didn't get one, but I consider that minor compared to all the things that could happen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you want cheap dining, the little places on the UVA campus are great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jun 2, 2011

Very friendly staff

The front desk was very helpful and so was the van driver. We explored the downtown walking mall and drove out to Monticello. The weather was mild and pleasant. The people were friendly and helpful. The Boat House restaurant is only a short walk from the hotel and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely would recommend visiting Monticello. Beautiful location, part of American history.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UVA family
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
May 29, 2011

[...]

[...] The hotel lobby was beautiful and upgraded restuarant...our room for my son's graduation from UVA was in a disgusting hallway on the first floor in the back of the hotel that was so heavy laden with smoke in the hallway that I could not have my family stay there overnite...then when we opened the door to our room again, heavy smoke smell and the patio door was open two feet and my sons could not close it. I complained of course and was offered a maintenance call [...]. A trip back to the lobby with my familiy in tow resulted in a beautful room which just happened to be available. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tappan
Business
Boise, ID
Nov 29, 2010

Nothing Special

An older Holiday Inn that has been spruced up a bit. Very clean. Nothing extraordinary either in the positive or negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NikkiP for Darden
Business
houston, tx
Nov 28, 2010

Holiday Inn Charlottesville

Went there to visit UVa and wanted a basic hotel to sleep and shower. It was clean and neat - no frills. If you need a quick pit stop this is the place. Staff was friendly as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Quick easy access to UVa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo, NY
Nov 28, 2010

Cold Stay

The pool was cold. They gave us a discount, but not enough to make up for what I spent getting a hotel with an indoor pool. No breakfast not even danish. Not a good value. The Restaurant is expensive and food tasteless and cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
damndqueen
Business
Fincastle, Va
Nov 13, 2010

Holiday Inn, Charlottesville, VA

Decent stay, nice staff. Had a little trouble with the phone in the room, also the toilet was a bit slow to flush. That's just nit-picky though....would stay again. Pool was warm and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Retford
Sep 25, 2010

Consider this Charlottesville hotel

A reasonably priced hotel for the region and handily placed on the edge of town for easy access from most main routes. Alternative dining a short walk away, downtown bus stop by hotel entrance. Good hotel facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Major shoping / dining mall about 1 mile away and smaller shopping/dining malls 5 mins walk and 2 miles away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington dc
Jun 13, 2010

very pleasant

convenient location to UVA; historic sites; near shopping;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top