$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
1901 EMMET STREET, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
91 reviews
Great time visiting historic sites!

We'd never been to Charlottesville, and were not familiar with the area or the hotels. We were very... See full review

  • Debbie musician
  • Aug 2, 2013
convienient city stay

Staff was super friendly, room was clean and comfortable, only complaint was a housekeeper was... See full review

  • Erinluvsbags
  • Jun 10, 2013
Welcome to Charlottesville Holiday Inn® University Area We are the perfect location for business or social occasions. The Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport CHO offers international and domestic destinations. Plan a Visit to the University of Virginia nearby, or take in the rich history that surrounds us, such as: Monticello, the homes of Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and James Monroe. Along with Montpelier and Ash-lawn Highland. The hotel is adjacent to The Shops at Stonefield, the city's newest upscale shopping center featuring an IMAX Regal Movie Theater, Burton's Grill, Travinia Italian Restaurant, Trader Joe's, Pottery Barn, Vineyard Vines, Williams-Sonoma, L'occitane, Brooks Brothers and much more right here at your door. Stroll the Charlottesville Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall and enjoy lunch at the nearby Michie Tavern a real treat for everyone. Take in a show at the Paramount Theatre, John Paul Jones Arena or visit our local calendar of events web page for a complete listing of local festivals and area events. We invite you to come by Emmets's Restaurant & Lounge for Breakfast, Dinner or just relax and enjoy room service at your door. The hotel offers a delicious array of dining options in a casual comfortable atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.0609 -78.4927
Nearby airports
Richmond Internation Airport, (RIC), 70.00, MI; Charlottesville Albemarle Regional Airport, (CHO), 6.00, MI; Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 90.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • University Hall: 552.1 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Lounge & Bar is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. There are daily beverage and menu specials to compliment the full dinner menu.
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUVOJIT
Business
ATLANTA
Feb 18, 2012

Short nice Biz Trip

I stayed for 1 night for office trip. Room was neat and clean, Amenities are excellent. I got what I needed for a short biz trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel much
Fl.
Feb 7, 2012

great value!

wonderful experience..staff helpful..room excellent. location perfect for UVA functions we attended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monticello, of course, but the wine tour..amazing! must do!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Asbestos Inspector
Lewisburg, WV
Dec 11, 2011

Hospital Stay @ UVA

Hotel was very understanding and adaptable to our needs while family was hospitalized. Also has discounted rate for UVA patients/family with documentation from hospital. Close to hospital & very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If UVA patient/family, hotel does offer discount rate.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon G
Royersford, PA
Oct 4, 2011

Friendly Staff

I've stayed at this hotel several times while in Charlottesville for UVa football games. The staff remembers their regular guests and are very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon G
Royersford, PA
Oct 4, 2011

Friendly Staff

I've stayed at this hotel several times while in Charlottesville for UVa football games. The staff remembers their regular guests and are very friendly and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottesville, VA
Jul 18, 2011

Not worth the $$

Spent $185 for a night in this hotel. PROS: bar/lounge area, and very friendly bar tender. CONS: as another reviewer posted, we thought there were no black out drapes to block out light. We called front desk and after 10 minutes of ringing the desk, he finally answered.He came to our room (on the first floor with only sheers on the windows so anyone walking by could see in) and he looked at the drapes and told us "I guess this room doesn't have the drapes". The next morning, after sleeping with a parking lot light glaring through the sheer curtains, we found the black out curtains in front of the sheers pushed all the way to the sides. Our first floor view was of a dumpster with a toilet sitting along side of it. The room had an antiquated tv with a broken power button and there were stains all over the carpet. I would have tolerated these little things if 1) I wasn't so grumpy from lack of sleep and b) I had paid only $79.99 for the room. Not worth the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If trying to get to the hotel from Route 29, go to the light and make a u-turn instead of trying to turn left into the parking lot. We sat forever waiting for a break in traffic!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlottesville, VA
Jul 18, 2011

Not worth the $$

Spent $185 for a night in this hotel. PROS: bar/lounge area, and very friendly bar tender. CONS: as another reviewer posted, we thought there were no black out drapes to block out light. We called front desk and after 10 minutes of ringing the desk, he finally answered.He came to our room (on the first floor with only sheers on the windows so anyone walking by could see in) and he looked at the drapes and told us "I guess this room doesn't have the drapes". The next morning, after sleeping with a parking lot light glaring through the sheer curtains, we found the black out curtains in front of the sheers pushed all the way to the sides. Our first floor view was of a dumpster with a toilet sitting along side of it. The room had an antiquated tv with a broken power button and there were stains all over the carpet. I would have tolerated these little things if 1) I wasn't so grumpy from lack of sleep and b) I had paid only $79.99 for the room. Not worth the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If trying to get to the hotel from Route 29, go to the light and make a u-turn instead of trying to turn left into the parking lot. We sat forever waiting for a break in traffic!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SwoVa
Business
Chesapeake,Va
Jul 9, 2011

Not impressed

Visited UVA to drop my daughter off for college. Great location, clean, however the ac unit was loud and there was no heavy drapes to block out the street lights at night. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SwoVa
Business
Chesapeake,Va
Jul 9, 2011

Not impressed

Visited UVA to drop my daughter off for college. Great location, clean, however the ac unit was loud and there was no heavy drapes to block out the street lights at night. Will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
SW Virgina
Jul 4, 2011

Fair

I had reserved a nonsmoking room, adding a message that I have asthma and a smoke allergy. I was given a smoking room, or anyway one that smelled like an ashtray. The desk clerk moved me to another room, one that smelled only slightly smoky. This is typical treatment for a female traveling alone. The hotel is attractive, overpriced, not altogether clean, with uncomfortable beds and acceptable food. I won't stay here again if I can help it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuisine of India, one door down. Very good.

Back to menu Return to top