$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
1901 EMMET STREET, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
91 reviews
Great time visiting historic sites!

We'd never been to Charlottesville, and were not familiar with the area or the hotels. We were very... See full review

  • Debbie musician
  • Aug 2, 2013
convienient city stay

Staff was super friendly, room was clean and comfortable, only complaint was a housekeeper was... See full review

  • Erinluvsbags
  • Jun 10, 2013
Welcome to Charlottesville Holiday Inn® University Area We are the perfect location for business or social occasions. The Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport CHO offers international and domestic destinations. Plan a Visit to the University of Virginia nearby, or take in the rich history that surrounds us, such as: Monticello, the homes of Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and James Monroe. Along with Montpelier and Ash-lawn Highland. The hotel is adjacent to The Shops at Stonefield, the city's newest upscale shopping center featuring an IMAX Regal Movie Theater, Burton's Grill, Travinia Italian Restaurant, Trader Joe's, Pottery Barn, Vineyard Vines, Williams-Sonoma, L'occitane, Brooks Brothers and much more right here at your door. Stroll the Charlottesville Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall and enjoy lunch at the nearby Michie Tavern a real treat for everyone. Take in a show at the Paramount Theatre, John Paul Jones Arena or visit our local calendar of events web page for a complete listing of local festivals and area events. We invite you to come by Emmets's Restaurant & Lounge for Breakfast, Dinner or just relax and enjoy room service at your door. The hotel offers a delicious array of dining options in a casual comfortable atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.0609 -78.4927
Nearby airports
Richmond Internation Airport, (RIC), 70.00, MI; Charlottesville Albemarle Regional Airport, (CHO), 6.00, MI; Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 90.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi
  • University Hall: 552.1 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Lounge & Bar is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. There are daily beverage and menu specials to compliment the full dinner menu.
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.3

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill the Movie Buff
Greensboro, NC
Nov 7, 2012

Great weekend getaway!

Room was comfortable! I especially liked the free unlimited computer access. The in-hotel restaurant where we had the breakfast buffet was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best bagel in the world is at Bodo's just down the road toward Barracks Road.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UVa mama
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 23, 2013

Horrible pillows, "wobbly" bed

Pillows were half the size of regular pillows, bed was so wobbly, i was afraid it might collapse! Rooms seemed somewhat clean, lobby was decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LizzzzTN
Business
TN
Sep 15, 2013

Avoid room 400

Next to the ice machine and elevator. Noisy environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
APLMom
NJ
Sep 7, 2013

Sufficient for our needs - Issues quickly addressed

The hotel has been renovated. The double beds are now queen size beds. The rooms have a mini-fridge and a microwave. We noticed water on the carpet in our room which we first thought was from the air conditioner. We notified the staff and a repair person arrived in 1/2 hour. He though the problem was a leak in the patio door (which only opens a crack). But regardless -- they were able to move us to a new room very quickly -- it was great service by the staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie musician
Sykesville Maryland
Aug 2, 2013

Great time visiting historic sites!

We'd never been to Charlottesville, and were not familiar with the area or the hotels. We were very pleased with the Holiday Inn on Emmet St. Everyone was very nice, we had everything we needed, and if anything ran out, they provided it immediately. The restaurant in the hotel was nice--we had two meals there--and the staff there was very accommodating, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For some of the best pizza you ever ate, try a small shop called Slice. The staff was very hard-working--and kept everything spotless! We found this place by accident, while shopping at the Barracks Road Shopping Center.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erinluvsbags
Charlottesville,Va
Jun 10, 2013

convienient city stay

Staff was super friendly, room was clean and comfortable, only complaint was a housekeeper was knocking on doors early yelling,"HOUSEKEEPING!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Stonefield commons, amazing restaraunts,shopping and dining,very convienient!!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark42
Pacific Northwest
Mar 29, 2013

Reasonable Accomodations

Staff was attentive and the facilities were nice. The pool was COLD and CLOUDY (and had been for several days.. I checked the pool checklist); it didn't look like they were doing anything about it... just marking it on the check sheet. It was nice to have a washer/dryer available during our stay; but we didn't appreciate the creepy guy that was hanging out down there... staff should check the area more often (CCTV?)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Chinese Delivery was BETTER than the hotel restaurant offerings... fast, free delivery... menus in the elevator lobby (why not put it in the rooms?)

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sugarshorts
Durham, NC
Nov 18, 2012

Great Hotel

Great location, unusually nice rooms. Very clean and enjoyable. Staff was excellent in all areas. One Lady at the front desk who waited on us was most helpful and friendly. Also, the food prices were reasonable also. Couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Went there for Football game. Transportation in the City is not desirable for this type activity. Need to prearrange transportation service of some kind. We were to go to the John P. Jones building and pick up a shuttle to the Football stadium. This doesn't exist anymore. We had to walk from the JPJ Center for 1-1/ 2 miles there and back where we parked. Hotel was not aware of this change.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill the Movie Buff
Greensboro, NC
Nov 7, 2012

Great weekend getaway!

Room was comfortable! I especially liked the free unlimited computer access. The in-hotel restaurant where we had the breakfast buffet was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best bagel in the world is at Bodo's just down the road toward Barracks Road.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Organizer
Atlanta
Jun 5, 2012

Last Minute

Because it was a last minute booking under different names, we were placed on different floors. Immedaitely the receptionist relocated us so we were only a couple of door apart. It would have been helpful to have a breakfast coupon to use for a 'take with you' breakfast rather than the dining room only. The cleanliness was great. Neither the pool nor exercise room was used - too busy - and they looked rather plain. If I'd had time, I would have visited them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The location of the hotel on Rte 29 made it easy to reach the historic area and malls for shopping. With this combination we found unique gifts and the every day items we needed.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doggydoc
Business
Blacksburg, VA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Nicer than the average Holiday Inn

It was clean, the staff was friendly and accommodating, and the room was large and had a refrigerator and microwave which was a plus. Checkout was fast and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top