$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1610 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
74 reviews
Comfortable room but uncomfortable bed

The room was fine but the mattress was thin and hard. See full review

  • Russell G.
  • Apr 27, 2015
great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in... See full review

  • The weekly traveler
  • Jun 3, 2014
Conveniently located in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains, just minutes from all major businesses and local attractions such as the University of Virginia College and Hospital, Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, over 20 different Wineries, Michie Tavern, Monpelier and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems and Biotage Technologies. Our guest rooms have been recently redecorated to provide our guest with a comfortable sleep experience. Included in your rate is complimentary Breakfast, complimentary High Speed Internet access, microwave and Refrigerator, fitness center, complimentary parking for overnight guest, extended cable channels, HBO, ESPN, Cartoon Network, CNN and many more. We have a newly renovated Lobby. No shuttle service is available at property. Pets accepted - charge of 20.00 USD. Rollaways available - charge 15.00 USD.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.1 mi
  • University Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 74
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Russell G.
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Comfortable room but uncomfortable bed

The room was fine but the mattress was thin and hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hfdkf
Business
NY
Aug 15, 2014

good

i wish a slipper, and water voiler, but generally it is good for such price, it is too far away from UVA main campus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luckymom16
Business
Charlottesville VA
Oct 1, 2013

one night stay

The tub was old and worn and the surface was coming off. Also the rugs weren't very clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pizza overburnt
Business
Charlottes, VA
Aug 24, 2013

okay overall

TV check, A/C check, hotwater check, fridge check, microwave oven check, wifi check, semi-auto coffee maker check. No swimming pool available. Don't expect too much for the free breakfast. Route 7 & 8 stops nearby. It's a not bad choice considering the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Best buy within 100m.

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robby T.
Business
Fair Oaks, Ca.
Mar 31, 2013

OK

Somewhat noisy. TV did not get major networks. Breakfast : eggs runny, pastries plain and sticky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wahookitty
Business
charlottesville
Jul 5, 2012

Good, basic lodging

I had a "staycation" at two hotels in Charlottesville as I waited for my electrical service to be restored. With respect to the comfort of the bed and the quality of the cable service, both this hotel and the more upscale one were very similar. Days Inn wins with the inclusion of the microwave and refrigerator. There is a bit of road noise because my room faced the 29/250 bypass onramp and the out-of-town service crews would roll in at all hours, but it was bearable. Only one ice machine was working, and the pool is out of service. It's a bit rundown, but for the price and proximity to my office it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though Kentucky Fried is right across the street, the street (US 29/Emmet) is VERY BUSY and crossing on foot may present safety issues. Walk across Holiday to the Aberdeen Barn or get in your car and take the short trip south to Bodo's Bagels.

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Good guy traveler
Business
Norfolk , virginia
May 7, 2012

No good!

For a hundred bucks a nite, not worth it! Man without shirt hung outside! Limited parking. Two cigarette burns on my work chair! Tube tv! A hundred bucks a nite! Not even a cheap flat screen tv ! Had to search for ice machine. Far away from UVA ! Despite the hotel title include university!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Whole foods market behind hotel.

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bus ranger
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Party Motel

The place was generic and ok,I guess, but overpriced. Unfortunately the place was full of frat party boys and the noise went on all night until 4 am despite my polite requests for the consideration of others. The parking lot in the morning was littered with cans and cups. On check out the manager asked me how everything was (without looking at me). When I told him of the noise he sort of shrugged, mumbled a sorry (without looking at me) and pushed me the bill without another word.I was not expecting too much for the price but I was hoping to be able to get some sleep which I did on one of my two nights there. My advice would be to check that there is no frat boy convention going on and try to get a quiet corner of the motel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hhmc
Business
NY
Mar 28, 2012

you got what you paid

old carpet smell bathroom ceiling with rust and water stains. very close to other motels. no amenities. phone keep rinning with no one in the other end. I unplugged the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SengSeng
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Some glitches, but not bad.

I stayed at the Days' Inn in mid-September 2011, visiting Charlottesville for a reunion at UVA. The room was quiet and comfortable and I slept well, and there's also free WiFi, a fridge, a microwave, and a coffee machine in-room, so it's a great value. The location's perfect too, right by the Barracks Road shopping center and Bodo's. So here's the downsides: 1. The shower was not clean. When I first arrived around 8pm and checked in, I wanted to hop into the shower but found it was littered with several short hairs. No matter though - I let the water wash them away, then stepped in. 2. Finished my shower, toweled off, and then went to use the in-wall hairdryer unit (nice, right?). But when I pressed the power button, the entire room went DARK - guess the fuse blew. Without power or lights, I had to finish dressing and makeup by the light of my laptop computer. I was heading out to meet some friends for dinner anyway, so on the way out I swung by the front desk and explained what happened. The staff was very apologetic and helpful, so they get major points there. I returned 3 hours later and the room's power was back to normal. 3. The front door had some issues - the door stuck to the frame and was very difficult to open. Plus, every keycard I got seemed to stop working after 2 or 3 swipes (and I always kept the card far away from my cell and any other magnetic sources). Again, the staff was super helpful and always gave me a new set of keycards upon request, but by the end of my 2-night stay, I had used 6 keycards. So, the staff, the location, and the quietness are great. The amenities are a big plus too, as long as the hairdryer doesn't blow a fuse. It's not a terribly new or fancy room, but it's clean and comfy. Aside from the few glitches I had, I had a very pleasant stay and would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top