$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
1600 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
88 reviews
great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in... See full review

  • The weekly traveler
  • Jun 3, 2014
Charlottesville stay

Not bad for the price I got a smoking room as I smoke but the years of smoking made the room smell... See full review

  • timtomtober
  • Mar 26, 2014
Conveniently located in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains, just minutes from all major businesses and local attractions such as the University of Virginia College and Hospital, Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, over 20 different Wineries, Michie Tavern, Monpelier and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems and Biotage Technologies. Our guest rooms have been recently redecorated to provide our guest with a comfortable sleep experience. Included in your rate is complimentary Breakfast, complimentary High Speed Internet access, microwave and Refrigerator, fitness center, complimentary parking for overnight guest, extended cable channels, HBO, ESPN, Cartoon Network, CNN and many more. We have a newly renovated Lobby. No shuttle service is available at property. Pets accepted - charge of 20.00 USD. Rollaways available - charge 15.00 USD.

Hotel Map

38.0583 -78.4937
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.1 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.1 mi
  • University Hall: 552.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 88
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.7

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Train lovers
Del Rio, TX
Apr 22, 2014

Renovating

The room was below average in all aspects except location, it was close to the hospital, which was why I needed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GS31
Washington, DC
Nov 11, 2013

Fine for what it is

The shower was damaged but OK otherwise. Breakfast was actually decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Emily Anne
charlottesville, va
May 21, 2013

weekend getaway

thought this was recently "renovated" but I don't think so! very small bathroom & tub; towels were not even K-mart quality; had to unplug light to plug in coffee maker. long line at check-in - will not stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bprem
indiana
Dec 17, 2012

cheap hotel, expensive price

We stayed here for a concert at the john Paul Jones arena because it was in walking distance. The location was great. The hotel on the other hand was gross. It looks like nothing has been updated or washed since the seventies. The bathroom was gross and was unsuitable for walking on while barefoot. The pool area ever though closed was very unsightly and should be filled in. Positives - location - about one mile from JPJ arena, temperature easily controlled, housekeeping staff friendly, but none of them spoke English so it was hard to get extra amenities. Negatives - PRICE, I understand that it was a concert weekend so you can jack up the price but $171 for two nights at this hotel is absolutely ridiculous. Front desk staff acted annoyed that they had to check us in and.provide us with WiFi password. Room was disgusting, especially the bathroom. Shower was small. Pool area and closed restaurant were sore spots that our room ov overlooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larry1 fig
monroe township, nj
Sep 6, 2012

good location basic hotel

clean room updated amentities good value would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CYAcademy
Issaquah
May 14, 2012

Hotels are all getting older, what'd'ya do?

This place was in the perfect location to get to the airport nice and early. The breakfast was minimal - no eggs - hard for a diabetic to find something to eat. It looks like they try very hard to keep the place clean. We stayed at a new hotel every night this week, and this was one of the nicer places. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
needed a night away
virginia
Mar 25, 2012

For a quick overnight stay it will do, but pricess should be cheaper.

The room was ok, had a microwave and fridge. How ever the bathroom was not in the best shape and if your clausterphobic then its not for you. I dont feel that the room was worth the $70, it should have been about $45. I think next time I will try one of the cheaper motels for an overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
barnyard
high point va
Mar 13, 2012

Ok

Lot of remodeling going on for a Sun. (Noisy) I was given a room that was undergoing a facelift. (totally) 2nd room was ok (inconvenient) There was no smoking rooms on 1st floor (Down & Out) All non-smoking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of places to eat & shop. Close to UVA

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ErinL
Richmond, VA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

About what we expected, minus a little

Checked during early afternoon that our room was available - it was. Went back later that night, were given our room keys, went to the room, door wouldn't open. Went back, person followed us back to the room, realized the room wasn't ready/ clean. Had to wait for another room. The towels were the thinnest I've come across in any hotel - barely held any water. The bathroom was closet sized but had good water pressure. We stayed here because of location, and needed somewhere to crash after a football game. Not as nice as we were hoping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relaxer
Syracuse, NY
Aug 23, 2011

Clean, Inexpensive Hotel

Room was barebones but clean and location was convenient. The listing says they have a pool, which they do, but there was no water in it and it was covered. There was a continental breakfast but if you got there for the last hour, you were pretty much out of luck. They didn't tend to restock the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Looking for a really good mexican meal, go to Mono Loco in downtown Charlottesville. Service was fantastic and the food was plentiful.

Back to menu Return to top