$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
1600 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
68 reviews
great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in... See full review

  • The weekly traveler
  • Jun 3, 2014
Decent stay near grounds

stayed there overnight when paying a visit to the alma mater. the hotel is located not too far from... See full review

  • cavalier1112
  • Oct 12, 2014
Conveniently located in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains, just minutes from all major businesses and local attractions such as the University of Virginia College and Hospital, Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, over 20 different Wineries, Michie Tavern, Monpelier and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems and Biotage Technologies. Our guest rooms have been recently redecorated to provide our guest with a comfortable sleep experience. Included in your rate is complimentary Breakfast, complimentary High Speed Internet access, microwave and Refrigerator, fitness center, complimentary parking for overnight guest, extended cable channels, HBO, ESPN, Cartoon Network, CNN and many more. We have a newly renovated Lobby. No shuttle service is available at property. Pets accepted - charge of 20.00 USD. Rollaways available - charge 15.00 USD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.1 mi
  • University Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 68
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The weekly traveler
Business
pungoteague va 23422
Jun 3, 2014

great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in disrepair it takes away from the outside appearance,I was pleasently surprised when I entered the hotel it was lovely. The landscape around the pool was very relaxing. And the total area was very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Aberdeen barn, great restaurant right across the side street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wahookitty
Business
charlottesville
Feb 14, 2014

Really, really bad

I stayed at this Days Inn two years ago during the power outages after the derecho and had a great experience. This time, seeking shelter from the snow storm, was AWFUL. The front desk clerk was slow and clueless. Her directions to the room were vague and ultimately wrong. After wandering about in the cold and snow on untreated sidewalks for 15 minutes, I went back to the office and was treated very rudely. The room, once found, was not clean. Fixtures were damaged, carpet torn, microwave broken, bathtub peeling, toilet running...but I also realized that the clerk would be more than useless so I did what I could to make things work. And getting out? Were the parking lots plowed? HA. No. Really messed up my car. Don't stay here unless you have no other choice. I would give it no stars, but that's not an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kira G
Business
Omaha
Sep 16, 2013

Convenient to airport and nice

The motel is a big, old Days Inn, well maintained. A power strip for charging phones, etc. was welcome. I used McCoy's taxi service to travel to and from the airport ($30 each way, tip included). There is a Szechuwan restaurant and a high end steak restaurant (Aberdeen Barn) across from the motel. Otherwise, all eating establishments are located across the road on a busy divided lane highway, not meant for pedestrian crossing. Kroger's grocery is down the street and that's where I elected to find food.The store offers excellent food choices. A nice motel, with splendid staff and courtesy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All kinds of fast food and other restaurants in neigborhood. It's a motel center, on the road from the airport. If you have a car, no problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tarakanshchik
Business
DC Suburbs
Aug 21, 2013

Good Value in Charlottesville

Days Inn offered a good value in Charlottesville. The room has the things to make a business visit productive. The internet connection is fast and their was a large desk in the room. There was an ironing board and mini fridge and a microwave, all in good working condition. These were the critical things that made the trip pleasant. The televisions are bit dated, and the décor is a bit shabby, but all things I needed were there. The location is a short 5 minute drive to everything in Charlottesville. I am sure I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tarakanshchik
Business
DC Suburbs
Jun 24, 2013

Reasonable Place to stay for business

The good- the rooms are a good size with a nice desk for a computer. The mattresses are firm and comfortable. The bathrooms have generous vanities and the shower was warm immediately. Breakfast is passable with make your own waffles, cereal, muffins, juice and coffee. The physical plant could use some updating. One of the ceiling tiles in the bathroom was delaminated. The microwave had analog dials which was a bit surprising. One side of the hotel overlooks a for sale/abandoned pool and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The indian restaurant across the street and up a block is quite good if you like spicy food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarakanshchik
Business
DC Suburbs
May 4, 2013

Affordable stay

Rented a room for a business trip. The room had a microwave, fridge, desk and television, all in working order. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is minutes to downtown Charlottesville. Breakfast was adequate with eggs and biscuits, fruit and cereal. The staff was pleasant. The view could be better, as the pool looked in a state of disrepair and possibly abandoned. But I was happy with the space and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dragracer 1369
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Feb 7, 2013

business

Overall nice stay, very close to major roadways, stores, and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
drop
Business
Meridian, ID
Mar 18, 2012

Business trip

Hotel staff professional.Contential Breakfest avarage. Card reader on my room did not work most of the time created an inconveniece for me accessing room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's Restuarant on Seminole Trail just down the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gary29ct
Business
CT
Oct 18, 2009

Stay Away!

The tv didn't work (but was finally fixed). I woke up with a bug in my bed and when I reported it, was told the general manager would contact me. He didn't. The heating unit sounded like a 747 taxiing on the tarmac. More staff that I spoke to had a "not my job" response than an "I'll se that it gets taken care of" response. Summary: these guys are in the wrong business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Sep 25, 2009

Brutal

Brutal. Bathroom was dirty, tub was cracked. Air conditioner leaked from the ceiling and there was a puddle of water on the floor. The room smelled terrible as well. Should have only paid 10 dollars to stay here. I felt very unsafe as the locks on the door were broken and you really had to push it to latch it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top