$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1610 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
69 reviews
great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in... See full review

  • The weekly traveler
  • Jun 3, 2014
Decent stay near grounds

stayed there overnight when paying a visit to the alma mater. the hotel is located not too far from... See full review

  • cavalier1112
  • Oct 12, 2014
Conveniently located in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains, just minutes from all major businesses and local attractions such as the University of Virginia College and Hospital, Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, over 20 different Wineries, Michie Tavern, Monpelier and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems and Biotage Technologies. Our guest rooms have been recently redecorated to provide our guest with a comfortable sleep experience. Included in your rate is complimentary Breakfast, complimentary High Speed Internet access, microwave and Refrigerator, fitness center, complimentary parking for overnight guest, extended cable channels, HBO, ESPN, Cartoon Network, CNN and many more. We have a newly renovated Lobby. No shuttle service is available at property. Pets accepted - charge of 20.00 USD. Rollaways available - charge 15.00 USD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.1 mi
  • University Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chesapeake VA
Nov 16, 2010

Awful for the price.

The box spring of the beds were all torn up and dirty. Did not feel sanitary. When I discussed it with the manager - he didn't seem to care. After all fees - I paid $280 for a room that was definitely not worth it. I would never stay at a Days Inn again. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Good guy traveler
Business
Norfolk , virginia
May 7, 2012

No good!

For a hundred bucks a nite, not worth it! Man without shirt hung outside! Limited parking. Two cigarette burns on my work chair! Tube tv! A hundred bucks a nite! Not even a cheap flat screen tv ! Had to search for ice machine. Far away from UVA ! Despite the hotel title include university!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Whole foods market behind hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wahooooooooooooo
Business
Radford, VA
Nov 11, 2012

Terrible - overpriced

Went through multiple sets of door keys because none would work. Several patrons walked by expressing same frustration .. One couple had stayed there previously & said had same problem the first time. They finally moved us, & yes, same problem. Bathroom not super clean & tub floor was squishy like something was going on underneath & they threw an insert in to cover it up. Stay elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bprem
Business
indiana
Dec 17, 2012

cheap hotel, expensive price

We stayed here for a concert at the john Paul Jones arena because it was in walking distance. The location was great. The hotel on the other hand was gross. It looks like nothing has been updated or washed since the seventies. The bathroom was gross and was unsuitable for walking on while barefoot. The pool area ever though closed was very unsightly and should be filled in. Positives - location - about one mile from JPJ arena, temperature easily controlled, housekeeping staff friendly, but none of them spoke English so it was hard to get extra amenities. Negatives - PRICE, I understand that it was a concert weekend so you can jack up the price but $171 for two nights at this hotel is absolutely ridiculous. Front desk staff acted annoyed that they had to check us in and.provide us with WiFi password. Room was disgusting, especially the bathroom. Shower was small. Pool area and closed restaurant were sore spots that our room ov overlooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Mike 007
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 18, 2013

June 7, 2013

The swimming pool was closed for repairs. There were loud people outside our room late at night. There was no hotel security to keep people quiet. The faucet moved around because it was not connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Murphy11377
Business
Augusta, GA
Jan 10, 2014

Not clean, had bedbugs!

Stayed at a wonderful hotel in this chain elsewhere, so booked this one. It was a shabby motel. When I got in bed after midnight, I saw bedbugs! They gave me another room but I did not sleep well. Checked out in the morning, cutting stay short and asked for refund. Manager was not on site, so I still have to try for refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wahookitty
Business
charlottesville
Feb 14, 2014

Really, really bad

I stayed at this Days Inn two years ago during the power outages after the derecho and had a great experience. This time, seeking shelter from the snow storm, was AWFUL. The front desk clerk was slow and clueless. Her directions to the room were vague and ultimately wrong. After wandering about in the cold and snow on untreated sidewalks for 15 minutes, I went back to the office and was treated very rudely. The room, once found, was not clean. Fixtures were damaged, carpet torn, microwave broken, bathtub peeling, toilet running...but I also realized that the clerk would be more than useless so I did what I could to make things work. And getting out? Were the parking lots plowed? HA. No. Really messed up my car. Don't stay here unless you have no other choice. I would give it no stars, but that's not an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake, Virginia
Apr 25, 2009

stuffy, stinky, with no air conditioning

We were in town for the Dave Matthews concert. There was no air flow in the room. The air conditioning was broke. We had to keep the door open as much as we could because of the stuffy stinchy air in the room. All I can say is at least it was a place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hockessin
Aug 19, 2009

The dirtest motel I have stayed in.

I traveled for business in this are fro 30 years and stayed at this motel several times but have not been on the road fro 5 yrs (retired). What a shock to see such a beautiful motel turned into a "dump". I would not recommend this motel to Nancy Pelosi, maybe her.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Oct 5, 2008

Sleezy

The hotel was way to expensive for what we got. First we were sent on a wild goose chase through and around a maze of buildings when the room was just around the corner from the front desk. The room was gross. Blanket was moth-eaten. The never got warm and the heater madea bunch of noise. We slept with our cloths on. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top