$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
1600 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
66 reviews
great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in... See full review

  • The weekly traveler
  • Jun 3, 2014
Charlottesville stay

Not bad for the price I got a smoking room as I smoke but the years of smoking made the room smell... See full review

  • timtomtober
  • Mar 26, 2014
Conveniently located in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains, just minutes from all major businesses and local attractions such as the University of Virginia College and Hospital, Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, over 20 different Wineries, Michie Tavern, Monpelier and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems and Biotage Technologies. Our guest rooms have been recently redecorated to provide our guest with a comfortable sleep experience. Included in your rate is complimentary Breakfast, complimentary High Speed Internet access, microwave and Refrigerator, fitness center, complimentary parking for overnight guest, extended cable channels, HBO, ESPN, Cartoon Network, CNN and many more. We have a newly renovated Lobby. No shuttle service is available at property. Pets accepted - charge of 20.00 USD. Rollaways available - charge 15.00 USD.

Hotel Map

38.0583 -78.4937
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.1 mi
  • University Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JT Business Traveler
Business
Louisville KY
Jun 22, 2009

Old, dirty hotel, inconvenient area

I stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of the contact at the University with whom I was doing business, who also told me I would not need a rental car. As a result I was stranded in a dirty, old hotel partially under reconstruction (a fact not advertised or described anywhere on their website or by their staff when I called), on a commercial strip not navigable by foot, with no amenities save a dubious seafood restaurant and an intermittent, low-strength wireless internet signal. The doors to the rooms (which opened onto the outside, not a hallway) fitted badly, which caused concerns about security as well as allowing dust and leaves to blow in under the door; the carpet in the room looked like it had last been cleaned in 1975, shortly after being installed, and the shower fixtures were about the same age. The first room I was in was "on the parking lot side" - the check-in clerk forgot to inform me that the parking lot was undergoing reconstruction and I could expect several hours of high-decibel machine noise. Upon asking for a different room, I was told "I can move you, but if I do I can't guarantee anything - the whole place is being rebuilt." I would never have stayed here if I had been aware in advance of the conditions, and I will not stay here again, nor would I recommend anyone else do so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wahooooooooooooo
Radford, VA
Nov 11, 2012

Terrible - overpriced

Went through multiple sets of door keys because none would work. Several patrons walked by expressing same frustration .. One couple had stayed there previously & said had same problem the first time. They finally moved us, & yes, same problem. Bathroom not super clean & tub floor was squishy like something was going on underneath & they threw an insert in to cover it up. Stay elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
And'e
Oakland, MD
Jun 23, 2009

A terrible experience

This hotel stay was terrible. When we searched for a hotel, one of our requirements was a pool. This hotel advertised a pool but the manager didn't tell us until we checked in that the pool was not filled. The room was small. There was no coffee carafe for the coffee maker. The wires for the hairdryer were pulled out of the wall and were hanging down loose. The table lamp had wires that were taped. There was also some object underneath the flooring that if you weren't very careful you would trip over it as you walked by. There was also trash all over the grounds there. There was no scoop for the ice machine either. Overall, we were very dissapointed nin our stay. We will NOT be returning there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Murphy11377
Augusta, GA
Jan 10, 2014

Not clean, had bedbugs!

Stayed at a wonderful hotel in this chain elsewhere, so booked this one. It was a shabby motel. When I got in bed after midnight, I saw bedbugs! They gave me another room but I did not sleep well. Checked out in the morning, cutting stay short and asked for refund. Manager was not on site, so I still have to try for refund.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Sep 25, 2009

Brutal

Brutal. Bathroom was dirty, tub was cracked. Air conditioner leaked from the ceiling and there was a puddle of water on the floor. The room smelled terrible as well. Should have only paid 10 dollars to stay here. I felt very unsafe as the locks on the door were broken and you really had to push it to latch it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scoey
Newark,OH
Aug 5, 2014

Who is renting the rooms?

The big problem was the people in the other rooms.It seems as if they were long term renters,They hung out on their balconies all night partying and staring at others walking by, making comments in a foreign language.I was sure they were going to confront me when I went to get ice.This was in a good area with high end shopping centers nearby,so I was very surprised and fearful for my family.At 2:30 a.m.,people began screaming right outside our door.No management were ever seen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
chesapeake VA
Nov 16, 2010

Awful for the price.

The box spring of the beds were all torn up and dirty. Did not feel sanitary. When I discussed it with the manager - he didn't seem to care. After all fees - I paid $280 for a room that was definitely not worth it. I would never stay at a Days Inn again. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chesapeake, Virginia
Apr 25, 2009

stuffy, stinky, with no air conditioning

We were in town for the Dave Matthews concert. There was no air flow in the room. The air conditioning was broke. We had to keep the door open as much as we could because of the stuffy stinchy air in the room. All I can say is at least it was a place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Illinois
Apr 16, 2010

Horrible...Avoid at all costs

There were dead bugs on the floor and under the pillows. When using the shower black mold came oozing out of the crack around the drain of the tub. Switched rooms but the second room was just as bad as the first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wahookitty
Business
charlottesville
Feb 14, 2014

Really, really bad

I stayed at this Days Inn two years ago during the power outages after the derecho and had a great experience. This time, seeking shelter from the snow storm, was AWFUL. The front desk clerk was slow and clueless. Her directions to the room were vague and ultimately wrong. After wandering about in the cold and snow on untreated sidewalks for 15 minutes, I went back to the office and was treated very rudely. The room, once found, was not clean. Fixtures were damaged, carpet torn, microwave broken, bathtub peeling, toilet running...but I also realized that the clerk would be more than useless so I did what I could to make things work. And getting out? Were the parking lots plowed? HA. No. Really messed up my car. Don't stay here unless you have no other choice. I would give it no stars, but that's not an option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search