$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1610 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
71 reviews
great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in... See full review

  • The weekly traveler
  • Jun 3, 2014
Satisfied

a good value for the money, stayed there one night after going to a concert. Staff friendly and... See full review

  • Pfrog231
  • Mar 18, 2015
Conveniently located in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains, just minutes from all major businesses and local attractions such as the University of Virginia College and Hospital, Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, over 20 different Wineries, Michie Tavern, Monpelier and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems and Biotage Technologies. Our guest rooms have been recently redecorated to provide our guest with a comfortable sleep experience. Included in your rate is complimentary Breakfast, complimentary High Speed Internet access, microwave and Refrigerator, fitness center, complimentary parking for overnight guest, extended cable channels, HBO, ESPN, Cartoon Network, CNN and many more. We have a newly renovated Lobby. No shuttle service is available at property. Pets accepted - charge of 20.00 USD. Rollaways available - charge 15.00 USD.

Top hotels

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.1 mi
  • University Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The weekly traveler
Business
pungoteague va 23422
Jun 3, 2014

great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in disrepair it takes away from the outside appearance,I was pleasently surprised when I entered the hotel it was lovely. The landscape around the pool was very relaxing. And the total area was very safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Aberdeen barn, great restaurant right across the side street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bowie, MD
Jul 15, 2008

Very kid friendly

While Days Inn is your basic motel, we enjoyed it. The kids loved the pool and I found the area around it very pleasant for watching them swim. The room was quiet and we slept well. The staff in the adjacent Red Lobster were wonderful to them and both of them remarked on how nice the staff was and how good the food was. Even though I find Charlottesville roads confusing (Thank goodness for the GPS) it was convenient to all the major tourist attractions allowing us to see Monticello, the Academic Village at UVA, Ash Lawn and Montpelier in 2 days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
timtomtober
Business
Charlottesville va
Mar 26, 2014

Charlottesville stay

Not bad for the price I got a smoking room as I smoke but the years of smoking made the room smell bad I would recommend a non smoking room and smoke outside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Villa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CYAcademy
Business
Issaquah
May 14, 2012

Hotels are all getting older, what'd'ya do?

This place was in the perfect location to get to the airport nice and early. The breakfast was minimal - no eggs - hard for a diabetic to find something to eat. It looks like they try very hard to keep the place clean. We stayed at a new hotel every night this week, and this was one of the nicer places. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larry1 fig
Business
monroe township, nj
Sep 6, 2012

good location basic hotel

clean room updated amentities good value would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramkii
Business
VA Beach
Nov 25, 2012

not bad

I paid about $25 extra booking through the travel sites. Next time I wouldn't do it through that. I would directly book it through the hotel website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarakanshchik
Business
DC Suburbs
May 4, 2013

Affordable stay

Rented a room for a business trip. The room had a microwave, fridge, desk and television, all in working order. The bed was comfortable. The hotel is minutes to downtown Charlottesville. Breakfast was adequate with eggs and biscuits, fruit and cereal. The staff was pleasant. The view could be better, as the pool looked in a state of disrepair and possibly abandoned. But I was happy with the space and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kira G
Business
Omaha
Sep 16, 2013

Convenient to airport and nice

The motel is a big, old Days Inn, well maintained. A power strip for charging phones, etc. was welcome. I used McCoy's taxi service to travel to and from the airport ($30 each way, tip included). There is a Szechuwan restaurant and a high end steak restaurant (Aberdeen Barn) across from the motel. Otherwise, all eating establishments are located across the road on a busy divided lane highway, not meant for pedestrian crossing. Kroger's grocery is down the street and that's where I elected to find food.The store offers excellent food choices. A nice motel, with splendid staff and courtesy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

All kinds of fast food and other restaurants in neigborhood. It's a motel center, on the road from the airport. If you have a car, no problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church, VA
Jul 21, 2009

Not too bad

I was a little concerned when I saw the outside of the hotel. It needs some work done on the building but overall the rooms were nice and the staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaSha
Business
Hockessin, DE
Aug 22, 2011

Move-in weekend at UVA

My husband and I needed a clean, affordable placed to stay overnight for our trip to Charlottesville, VA in order to move our son into his dorm at UVA. The Days Inn where we stayed fit the bill just fine. Nothing fancy, but clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. And we plan to stay there again in October when we go back for "Family Weekend" at the university. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top