$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
1600 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
68 reviews
great weekend

This property is well kept ,unfortunately there is a vacant building adjoining the hotel that is in... See full review

  • The weekly traveler
  • Jun 3, 2014
Decent stay near grounds

stayed there overnight when paying a visit to the alma mater. the hotel is located not too far from... See full review

  • cavalier1112
  • Oct 12, 2014
Conveniently located in the foothills of The Blue Ridge Mountains, just minutes from all major businesses and local attractions such as the University of Virginia College and Hospital, Monticello, Ash Lawn Highland, over 20 different Wineries, Michie Tavern, Monpelier and various boutique shops and galleries. Nearby companies and government offices include State Farm Regional Office, GE Fanuc, Northrop Grumman, Lexi Nexis, Klockner, Sprint, PRA, National Ground Intelligence Center, J.A.G. School, UVA Health Systems and Biotage Technologies. Our guest rooms have been recently redecorated to provide our guest with a comfortable sleep experience. Included in your rate is complimentary Breakfast, complimentary High Speed Internet access, microwave and Refrigerator, fitness center, complimentary parking for overnight guest, extended cable channels, HBO, ESPN, Cartoon Network, CNN and many more. We have a newly renovated Lobby. No shuttle service is available at property. Pets accepted - charge of 20.00 USD. Rollaways available - charge 15.00 USD.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.1 mi
  • University Hall: 1.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (68)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SengSeng
Business
Oakland, CA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Some glitches, but not bad.

I stayed at the Days' Inn in mid-September 2011, visiting Charlottesville for a reunion at UVA. The room was quiet and comfortable and I slept well, and there's also free WiFi, a fridge, a microwave, and a coffee machine in-room, so it's a great value. The location's perfect too, right by the Barracks Road shopping center and Bodo's. So here's the downsides: 1. The shower was not clean. When I first arrived around 8pm and checked in, I wanted to hop into the shower but found it was littered with several short hairs. No matter though - I let the water wash them away, then stepped in. 2. Finished my shower, toweled off, and then went to use the in-wall hairdryer unit (nice, right?). But when I pressed the power button, the entire room went DARK - guess the fuse blew. Without power or lights, I had to finish dressing and makeup by the light of my laptop computer. I was heading out to meet some friends for dinner anyway, so on the way out I swung by the front desk and explained what happened. The staff was very apologetic and helpful, so they get major points there. I returned 3 hours later and the room's power was back to normal. 3. The front door had some issues - the door stuck to the frame and was very difficult to open. Plus, every keycard I got seemed to stop working after 2 or 3 swipes (and I always kept the card far away from my cell and any other magnetic sources). Again, the staff was super helpful and always gave me a new set of keycards upon request, but by the end of my 2-night stay, I had used 6 keycards. So, the staff, the location, and the quietness are great. The amenities are a big plus too, as long as the hairdryer doesn't blow a fuse. It's not a terribly new or fancy room, but it's clean and comfy. Aside from the few glitches I had, I had a very pleasant stay and would recommend it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Irene Evacuee
Business
Tidewater, VA
Sep 2, 2011

Accomodating Staff

Made arrangements through Orbitz for 3 people and got a room with 1 bed. Older accomidations, but the staff was over-the-top fantastic. Pet friendly is an understatement. Great shopping access and close to the college.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Relaxer
Business
Syracuse, NY
Aug 23, 2011

Clean, Inexpensive Hotel

Room was barebones but clean and location was convenient. The listing says they have a pool, which they do, but there was no water in it and it was covered. There was a continental breakfast but if you got there for the last hour, you were pretty much out of luck. They didn't tend to restock the food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Looking for a really good mexican meal, go to Mono Loco in downtown Charlottesville. Service was fantastic and the food was plentiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShaSha
Business
Hockessin, DE
Aug 22, 2011

Move-in weekend at UVA

My husband and I needed a clean, affordable placed to stay overnight for our trip to Charlottesville, VA in order to move our son into his dorm at UVA. The Days Inn where we stayed fit the bill just fine. Nothing fancy, but clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. And we plan to stay there again in October when we go back for "Family Weekend" at the university. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Nov 22, 2010

Comfortable, clean, friendly

We drove to Charlottesville for a DMB concert and stayed at this hotel. It was comfortable and clean. Great bed and very roomy. We enjoyed it. Nothing fancy, just what we needed. I'd recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Miller's Downtown is a great pub with a lot of VA culture. Short drive from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maximom
Business
Gettysburg, PA
Nov 21, 2010

Old but reasonably clean, good location

Hotel was old and decor was outdated but beds were comfortable, and the room was reasonably clean. No remote for the old tv though. Great location for John Paul Jones Arena events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping and eating and about a mile from John Paul Jones Arena, many people walked to/from the concert.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chesapeake VA
Nov 16, 2010

Awful for the price.

The box spring of the beds were all torn up and dirty. Did not feel sanitary. When I discussed it with the manager - he didn't seem to care. After all fees - I paid $280 for a room that was definitely not worth it. I would never stay at a Days Inn again. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JennFitz
Business
Graham, NC
Jul 5, 2010

OKish

The automatic control on the AC didn't work, so had to get up every couple of hours to turn on and off. Bathtub had peeling paint, couldn't/didn't bathe my kids there. Not the cleanest place I've ever stayed in, lots of flies. The staff and the people were nice. Next time will pay more for a little nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
solarxt
Business
Virginia
Jun 21, 2010

Needs work

Someone needs to put some work into this hotel. We had to move three times because of the air conditioning not working or the smell of smoke in the non smoking room. We also had to request the coffee maker that ended up not working anyway. Lights flickering a little scary. The staff what there was was helpful. I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Apr 16, 2010

Horrible...Avoid at all costs

There were dead bugs on the floor and under the pillows. When using the shower black mold came oozing out of the crack around the drain of the tub. Switched rooms but the second room was just as bad as the first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top