$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

2 stars
View map of 1610 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dragracer 1369
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Feb 7, 2013

business

Overall nice stay, very close to major roadways, stores, and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bprem
Business
indiana
Dec 17, 2012

cheap hotel, expensive price

We stayed here for a concert at the john Paul Jones arena because it was in walking distance. The location was great. The hotel on the other hand was gross. It looks like nothing has been updated or washed since the seventies. The bathroom was gross and was unsuitable for walking on while barefoot. The pool area ever though closed was very unsightly and should be filled in. Positives - location - about one mile from JPJ arena, temperature easily controlled, housekeeping staff friendly, but none of them spoke English so it was hard to get extra amenities. Negatives - PRICE, I understand that it was a concert weekend so you can jack up the price but $171 for two nights at this hotel is absolutely ridiculous. Front desk staff acted annoyed that they had to check us in and.provide us with WiFi password. Room was disgusting, especially the bathroom. Shower was small. Pool area and closed restaurant were sore spots that our room ov overlooked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramkii
Business
VA Beach
Nov 25, 2012

not bad

I paid about $25 extra booking through the travel sites. Next time I wouldn't do it through that. I would directly book it through the hotel website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wahooooooooooooo
Business
Radford, VA
Nov 11, 2012

Terrible - overpriced

Went through multiple sets of door keys because none would work. Several patrons walked by expressing same frustration .. One couple had stayed there previously & said had same problem the first time. They finally moved us, & yes, same problem. Bathroom not super clean & tub floor was squishy like something was going on underneath & they threw an insert in to cover it up. Stay elsewhere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larry1 fig
Business
monroe township, nj
Sep 6, 2012

good location basic hotel

clean room updated amentities good value would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wahookitty
Business
charlottesville
Jul 5, 2012

Good, basic lodging

I had a "staycation" at two hotels in Charlottesville as I waited for my electrical service to be restored. With respect to the comfort of the bed and the quality of the cable service, both this hotel and the more upscale one were very similar. Days Inn wins with the inclusion of the microwave and refrigerator. There is a bit of road noise because my room faced the 29/250 bypass onramp and the out-of-town service crews would roll in at all hours, but it was bearable. Only one ice machine was working, and the pool is out of service. It's a bit rundown, but for the price and proximity to my office it can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though Kentucky Fried is right across the street, the street (US 29/Emmet) is VERY BUSY and crossing on foot may present safety issues. Walk across Holiday to the Aberdeen Barn or get in your car and take the short trip south to Bodo's Bagels.

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CYAcademy
Business
Issaquah
May 14, 2012

Hotels are all getting older, what'd'ya do?

This place was in the perfect location to get to the airport nice and early. The breakfast was minimal - no eggs - hard for a diabetic to find something to eat. It looks like they try very hard to keep the place clean. We stayed at a new hotel every night this week, and this was one of the nicer places. A great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Good guy traveler
Business
Norfolk , virginia
May 7, 2012

No good!

For a hundred bucks a nite, not worth it! Man without shirt hung outside! Limited parking. Two cigarette burns on my work chair! Tube tv! A hundred bucks a nite! Not even a cheap flat screen tv ! Had to search for ice machine. Far away from UVA ! Despite the hotel title include university!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Whole foods market behind hotel.

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bus ranger
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

Party Motel

The place was generic and ok,I guess, but overpriced. Unfortunately the place was full of frat party boys and the noise went on all night until 4 am despite my polite requests for the consideration of others. The parking lot in the morning was littered with cans and cups. On check out the manager asked me how everything was (without looking at me). When I told him of the noise he sort of shrugged, mumbled a sorry (without looking at me) and pushed me the bill without another word.I was not expecting too much for the price but I was hoping to be able to get some sleep which I did on one of my two nights there. My advice would be to check that there is no frat boy convention going on and try to get a quiet corner of the motel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Charlottesville/University Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hhmc
Business
NY
Mar 28, 2012

you got what you paid

old carpet smell bathroom ceiling with rust and water stains. very close to other motels. no amenities. phone keep rinning with no one in the other end. I unplugged the phone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top