$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uva!
Single
LA, CA
Jan 16, 2011

Nice decor and conveniently located

The room had nice decorations. The shower was not impressive. Service wasn't great, but did improve when asked for. Overall, 3-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Rockville, MD
Jul 19, 2011

Good location

Location is great, rooms are very clean! But the pictures look much better than it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke VA
Feb 17, 2011

Only OK

I was there for one night on business. The hotel is relatively old but there had been some recent remodeling, and it was clean. The A/C was very sporadic and noisy. The reason I had selected this particular hotel was for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near UVa campus and all associated sports complexes.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CVplumber
Business
Kansas City, KS
Apr 24, 2010

Great location, close to running trails

Slightly outdated but clean, staff very helpful. Website states shuttle service to airport but it only runs at certain times of day and not after 200pm. Also state they have shuttle service to Medical Center but each time I needed it it was not available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess expert traveler
Couples
Jacksonville,NC
Jul 20, 2009

Decent

A bit deceptive, in the features part of Orbitz it had listed a fridge and microwave as part of the amenities. There was NO microwave or fridge, which was upsetting because we picked this hotel for that reason. The first night we stayed in a room where the air conditioning didn't even work! The next day I asked for another room and they were very kind and promt to get a room for us, with a working air conditioner. Nice staff, but I will not book a room here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Va Beach
Sep 5, 2009

Nice hotel near campus

Friendly staff. Great walking access to the UVA campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 27, 2010

cavalier inn

Room was neat and clean. Good value for the money. Close to U of Virginia. Very nice personnel. We checked in, got a room on the 4th floor. After we unpacked everything, the lights went out. The whole area was DARK, but the motel did not have any emergency generator. So we had to pack up in the dark, and walk down 4 flights of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Longmeadow, MA
May 16, 2010

Better than usual this trip

The location can't be beat if you're visiting UVA, and the free breakfast is one of the best I've had (with a roomy breakfast area). But the rooms are dark, with NO natural light unless you don't care about privacy, and noise is easily transmitted if other guests are not considerate. On this trip, there was no wireless internet signal in my room, but at least the room was cleaner than others I've stayed in at the same hotel. Charlottesville hotels are not cheap. Stay a half hour west in Waynesboro instead -- you'll get a much nicer room at the same or lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim the College Student
Single
Wocester, MA
May 16, 2010

A great price but average

The overall experience was pretty good. The staff was great and friendly but the room was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Arlington, VA
Aug 3, 2009

Pleasantly Surprised

I read mixed reviews about the place but found that it exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the location was great. There could certainly be improvements at the property but for the price of the room, I found it to be an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top