$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 23, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Jun 29, 2009

General rating

Noisy corridor around the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
nice mom
Business
charleston.SC
Apr 6, 2010

nice mom

it's served our purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Byrd
Business
VA
Jan 8, 2014

Not Bad

Front Desk is friendly.... free breakfast is not bad, especially if you are hungry. Hope you get the side that is closed off compare to the open side when it's cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baltimore Native
Business
Southwest US
Feb 24, 2014

Needed Maintenance

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions over the years, given its combination of location and price. Most of these visits have been fine, but this past weekend was not, as our request to have the clogged bathroom sink was never acted on. (When the water was run it drained v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y and the prior crud backed up into the sink.) Also, the heat / air conditioning unit did not work and the front desk staff was notably unsympathetic to the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert Mathis
Business
Charleston, WV
Mar 28, 2014

Good hotel location if you have business with UVA.

A lot of noise outside our room with people walking by and rolling of suitcases. This was until around 11:00 p.m. but quite after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sports mom 2
Business
New Jersey
Apr 21, 2014

Game day

I had an overall positive experience. The hotel operator was friendly and helpful.. I was a late arrival so I was a little nervous. The night manager was great. The room was clean, but the hotel does need some upgrades: tiles in shower need to be fixed; loud noise in adjacent rooms from water; towels were thin and rough. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing special. It was a good value for what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I try to be a healthy eater, but when travelling to places like these, college towns, one needs to do some research prior to trying to find somewhere to eat as all you are likely to find within walking distance is 7 eleven.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LAX Mom
Business
Marietta, GA
Mar 2, 2010

Great Location and nice room

Went to this hotel with a Lacrosse Team as a parent watching my kid. Was chosen by the coach for location and I am sure price. Not a first class modern facility but for a team trip it was great! Had a banquet room for a team dinner. Clean and great location and just right for a large group of big college boy athletes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UVA Visitor
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Apr 21, 2010

Convenient and clean

This is a great place to stay when visiting the University of Virginia. It is right across the street from the campus and has free parking. It was clean and had amenities such as a hair dryer and iron and ironing board in the room. If I visit UVA again, I will definitely stay at the Cavalier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family & Friends
Business
Clinton, Md.
Jun 3, 2010

Nice Stay

Recently, my family attended a Family Reunion in the Charlottesville, Va.,area. Most of the guest stayed at the Cavalier Inn. The Inn was clean and the front desk staff were very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast which was included was fair, but there are plenty of places to eat near the inn. All in all the Cavalier Inn is affordable, clean and centrally located near the University of Va.,shopping and other historical points. My family will definitely stay at the Cavalier again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Coast
Jun 25, 2010

May Visit

I was visiting a friend who was getting married nearby. The location was very convenient to the UV campus. Room was clean but a little noisy when other guests walked past the room. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If new to Chaorlottesville and driving around, a navigator in the car is very useful.

Back to menu Return to top