$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 10, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
129 reviews
Fantastic Stay

Although the hotel is a little hard to find, it is a great place to stay for one night or multiple.... See full review

  • Ant Com
  • Jul 29, 2014
Lovely hotel.

The perfect location across from UVA and the gracious staff make this a welcoming place to arrive. See full review

  • Fontalys
  • Jun 22, 2013
Guests will find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. Every room is fully equipped with complimentary wireless highspeed internet. Cable tv/ 37 inch flat screen tv/ electronic lap top size safe/large desk space/ coffee tea maker/ iron ironing board/refrigerator and micro combo. Complimentary deluxe breakfast and free newspaper. After a busy day visitors to this hotel can enjoy a dip in the outdoor pool. Enjoy spacious accommodations at this two diamond AAA rated charlottesville hotel ideally located on the university of virginia grounds. Centrally located near historic attractions. Cavalier inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of virgina thomas jeffersons architectural masterpiece the worldfamous rotunda of the university of Virginia monticello michie tavern ash lawnhighland and the Charlottesville and richmond international airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. Each spacious room is fully equipped with complimentary highspeed internet/ cable tv/ 37 inch flatscreen tv large desk Space/ coffee/tea maker/ iron/ironing board/ frig/micro combo. Electronic lap top size safe/ every morning guests are greeted with a complimentary deluxe breakfast and free newspaper. Comfortable university of virginia themed lobby. Come experience the hospitality and professional service at Cavalier inn at the university of virginia in charlottesville virginia.enjoy spacious accommodations at this two diamond AAA rated charlottesville hotel ideally located on the university of virginia grounds. Centrally located near historic attractions cavalier inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of virgina s thomas jeffersons architectural masterpiece the worldfamous rotunda of the university of Virginia. Monticello michie

Hotel Map

38.0399 -78.5067
Nearby airports
Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport, (CHO), 9.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 110.00, MI, N; Byrd Field/Richmond Intl Airport, (RIC), 80.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalier Inn at the University also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cavalier Inn at the University Rooms

Deluxe
King Deluxe -Deluxe room with seating area one King Bed and a sleep sofa fully equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet cable satellite television with HBO and coffee maker.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
One Double with sleep sofa - 1 double bed and a queen sleep sofa refrigerator FREE high-speed Internet Flat Screen TV with 150 Channels In Room Electronic Safe coffee maker. hair dryer Iron and Board
Standard
King Bed - King Rooms equipped with refrigerator Hi Speed Internet Flat Screen TV In Room Safe Iron and Iron Board coffee maker
Standard
Queen Accessible -One Queen Bed Handicapped Accessible Room fully equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet cable satellite television with HBO and coffee maker.
Standard
Two Double Beds - 2 double beds Refrigerator FREE high-speed Internet Flat Screen TV with 150 Channels In Room Electronic Safe Iron and Iron Board coffee maker hair dryer

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • University Hall: 0.3 mi
  • John Paul Jones Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 0.7 mi

Dining

Off property dining
American Asian Barbeque Bavarian Brazilian Cajun Chinese Ethiopian French Greek HighTea Indian International Italian Japanese Kosher Mediterranean Mexican MiddleEastern Muslim Pacific Rim Polynesian Seafood Scandinavian Steak House Swiss TexMex Thai Turki
Aberdeen barn
One of the oldest eateries in charlottesville under the same Ownership for over 19 years serving lunch dinner and. Comfortable atmosphere serving some of the best steak in c ville.
Carmellos
An appetizing menu of Italian dishes. Complete with appetizers soups and salads pastas fish veal chicken parmesan dishes desserts and chef specials. Serving dinner nightly at 5 p.m. Reservations suggested for Friday and Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colwal
Business
Australia
Oct 15, 2013

Great location

Hotel shuttle service was a bonus as the Charlottesville airport is a considerable way out. Breakfast is included and has a reasonable selection. Good value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Oct 25, 2013

Anothe rday trip

I solely stay at the Cavalier Inn because they are able to accommodate my early check-in needs. The rooms are clean and very up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from Durham
Business
Durham, NC
Dec 23, 2013

Pleasant stay

The hotel is showing its age a bit in terms of threadbare carpet and dated fixtures, but it was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect for a quick trip to Charlottesville. It was a bit odd that the room door stood wide open when we first went up to drop our bags. The shower didn't have much pressure, because most of the water still went out of the spout after the shower knob was pulled. We left early in the morning before the breakfast service started, so I can't comment on the food quality. Not the Ritz Carlton, but a good place to stay for a no frills visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Social butterfly
Business
Charlottesville, Virginia
Dec 26, 2013

Perfect occasion

The staff is wonderful and they always greet me with a warm hug and smile. They are like a little family away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinning, Malls, Movies and more all 5 minutes or less away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 8, 2011

A good value hotel

I was down in Charlottesville for a conference held on UVA's campus. I was on a tight budget and appreciated being able to walk to the conference and avoid parking fees. I admit I did not spend much time in my hotel room as I was out exploring the area as much as I could, but it was a nice, clean room to come back to in the evening. While clean, I would not say this hotel is luxurious. I had a fridge but no microwave (which I expected) in my room. My flat screen tv buzzed when it was played at moderate/high volume but this was not a problem to me- I did not complain so I don't know if it would/could have been fixed- and the mattress on one of the beds in my room seemed a bit older but still quite comfortable. They offer free wireless which worked well as did the AC (it was HOT when I was down there), a good complimentary breakfast, a small business center with an available printer and the fitness center is better equipped than at most hotels I have been to. A good value for the money, and it allows pets. The staff was courteous and overall I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I am a young, active individual, so I would recommend checking out the local parks & looking up some good hiking spots. C'ville is a pretty active area, so there were many sporting opportunities at the surrounding parks including Washington only 1.5 miles away and Darden Towe. I recommend taking a walk up University Ave too- it has a cute college town feel. I ran out of time, but I wanted to check out the Ragged Mountain Running store there in C'ville as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville NC
Oct 22, 2009

Very Nice

Visited ganddaughter at UVA. Perfect location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UVA Student
Business
Seattle, WA and Charlottesville, VA
Jul 9, 2009

Quality hotel for a good price

I stayed here on more than one occasion when I visted UVA prior to becoming a student. If UVA is your main reason for visiting Charlottesville, and you will be spending most or all of your time on grounds, the Cav Inn can't be beat. Virtually on grounds, you are within easy walking distance of most school buildings. You won't need a car if you don't plan on going down town, and even if you do there is a bus system available. The Cav Inn also provides a free shuttle from the Charlottesville airport on request. I used this service--they were prompt and the driver was friendly. As far as the rooms themselves go, the hotel is a little old. I've heard rumors that they might tear it down. But the rooms are very clean and well kept, even if a little worn. The beds are very comfy! The staff od this hotel is very friendly, from the front desk attendents to a maintenace guy I met in the elevator. They work hard to ensure you have a nice stay. The prices are very affordable. I booked through Orbitz with a discount code and got my room for the night for only $64! Its no luxury suite, but if you are looking for clean, comfortable accomadations with good service, the Cav Inn is a great deal! For a traveler visiting UVA, I highly recommend the Cav Inn. Even the hotel gets in the college spirit-the lobby follows a UVA color scheme and even the front doors are emblazoned with an enthusiastic WAHOOWA! Enjoy your stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to get the proper UVA experience, head to "The Corner" at night. Popular student hang out near Rugby Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FOS
Business
NC
Feb 22, 2010

Excellent location for UVA visits

Used the hotel to visit UVA, however, the maps provided by the hotel were very poor and the staff had limited local knowledge. The staff were excellent at replacing a lightbulb and providing more towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coffeegoat
Business
Charleston, SC
Oct 10, 2009

good value, great location

Better value than expected. Staff was very helpful and welcoming. Continental breakfast included biscuits and gravy. An affordable, no-frills place to stay in a very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Music's Paramour
Business
Dinwiddie, Virginia
Apr 30, 2010

Awesome deal

My husband and I frequently visit John Paul Jones Arena for concerts but have never stayed overnight. This time, we chose to stay at the Cavalier Inn for its unbeatable price, location, and convenience rather than drive 2 hours back home. We were extremely satisfied. You can see the John Paul Jones Arena from every room. Its THAT close. Despite being located dangerously close to a main road, the rooms are surprisingly quiet. It it essentially located in the heart of the UVA campus and, therefore, is a 5-minute walk away from good food and hang-out spots. We definitely recommend staying here and will be staying again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are visiting for a concert at the John Paul Jones arena, definitely stay here. Its clean, cozy, quiet, and provides a good night's rest after all that screaming, dancing, and moshing. Also, the short distance to the arena parking garage helps to secure a good arena parking space.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top