$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nycwahoo
Business
nyc
Oct 3, 2011

solid alternative for university location

clean rooms, friendly staff, reasonably priced, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PikeHoo
Business
Arlington, VA
Oct 12, 2010

Cavalier Inn Weekend

For the price, I thought this hotel was very good. Rooms were clean and the service was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 20, 2009

Great for Prospective Student Visit!

Within walking distance to UVA--Rotunda and The Lawn, Admissions Office, Alumni Hall and The Corner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss visiting Downtown Main Street. Great restaurants!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Apr 6, 2010

Great Location

Great location for access to the University. Hotel is clean and lobby is nicely cared for. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was typical - nothing special but food was well stocked and coffee was hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srinidhi
Business
Bryan
Jun 13, 2014

Clean and tidy place

It was clean and friendly staff.I would prefer this hotel if at all i have a chance to in future .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thedocisinthebuilding
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 20, 2014

Great hotel and great staff!

I've stayed out this hotel weekly since January so I can teach class at UVA. Great staff and I love the fact there are refrigerators in the rooms. I've stayed at more expensive hotels in the area that did not have this option. Kids loved it when they visited too. This is the only place I'll stay when in Charlottesville!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT just happy to be in NO
Business
Oak Hill, WV
Jun 27, 2014

Pleased

Pleasantly surprised by the overall condition of such an old motel. Very clean and well kept. Air conditioner was a little loud but no big deal. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I'm not a big Waffle house fan but the one on Seminole Rd. was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie college tour mom
Business
Upper Holland , Pa
Jul 27, 2014

Cavalier Inn

We were on a college tour for UVA . The location was a perfect walk to the college grounds as well as restaurants in town. The inn is a bit dated but was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. The morning continental breakfast was a nice addition to our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Virginian in town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Quetzalcoaltl_returns
Business
Sacramento CA
Oct 15, 2009

Nice place for the price

Great place if you are doing business at U of VA. I was able to walk to any building, which is important because traffic and parking looked painful. The level of service was fine - free high-speed internet is a must these days and room had all the features you need, except a microwave. The breakfast buffet is always a nice morning bonus, but thought it was strange that they only put out spoons and knives. I am not sure how you could eat a waffle with a spoon, but that was all you had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Book through [...] - I called the hotel directly at first, but the price was a little high compared to others in the area. So I went online and [...] saved me 15%!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LAX Mom
Business
Marietta, GA
Mar 2, 2010

Great Location and nice room

Went to this hotel with a Lacrosse Team as a parent watching my kid. Was chosen by the coach for location and I am sure price. Not a first class modern facility but for a team trip it was great! Had a banquet room for a team dinner. Clean and great location and just right for a large group of big college boy athletes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top