$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ima Contractor
Business
Richmond VA
Dec 11, 2012

good enough

it was better than expected. convenient to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fontalys
Business
France
Jan 24, 2013

Perfect location; friendly staff.

The Cavalier Inn is owned by the University of Virginia & has recently been renovated. The foyer has high ceilings, beautiful woodwork and the walls provide a wonderful exhibition of historical photographs showing university events in times gone by. The gracious hospitality of the staff is a gift to the tired traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

One mile up Emmet Street at the back of the Cavalier Inn is The Barracks Road Mall which has coffee shops, a super market, a bank, a drugstore, restaurants, dress & shoe shops and more.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoadKing1964
Business
Leesburg, VA
Jan 25, 2013

Great Access to Campus

The hotel is conveniently located if you want to be close to campus.The room was nice and the free breakfast had waffles and cottage cheese with fruit in addition to oatmeal, etc. The fitness center was pretty good for a hotel of this level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juggletreble
Business
Fairfax, VA
Mar 13, 2013

Convenient, clean

Other than the knock down drag out fight on the next floor, we found the Cavalier to be very nice. Location looks right across to campus, about a mile from the medical center. Room was clean. Bed was comfy. Shower had very poor temperature control. Acceptable for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Mar 15, 2013

Day Trip

I needed the room for a day and the staff was happy to allow me to check in at 10:00 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Last minute traveler9
Business
Washington dc
Apr 4, 2013

easy, affordable, comfortable

Great stay, comfortable room with lots of space. Nice free breakfast every morning. Can't get much closer/more convenient to UVA! And free parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Apr 12, 2013

Mid-Week Trip

I stay here for my monthly trip to Charlottesville. They let me check in in the morning so I can get prepared for my afternoon meetings. Staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little John's Deli on The Corner

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottish Novelist
Business
Morristown, NJ
Apr 23, 2013

Great Travel Value

The Cavalier Inn was a good value for the price. We booked through Orbiz and that saved around $30. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast offered waffles, fruit, rolls, or cereal. Good selection for being free. The breakfast room is extremely large and comfortable. Guys at the front desk when we checked in had a great sense of humor. The only negative comment would be that the hotel appears to have originally consisted of outdoor entrances on each level. These exterior passages have now been enclosed [plexiglass?] and there are elevators to each floor but the exterior corridors were very cold at this time of year and I would imagine they are quite hot in summer. Once inside the room, however, no problem. And each room offers a microwave and fridge - a GREAT aminity when on the road. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't feel like taking the car out, there are several restaurants in walking distance including a diner and a Chinese restaurant.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
May 3, 2013

Day Trip

Another great day in Charlottesville at the Cavalier Inn for my meetings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shortygree
Business
Verona, VA
May 8, 2013

Over night stay

I would stay there again. Good location, close to UVA hospital Easy to get in and out of parking lot/hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top