$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Va Beach
Sep 5, 2009

Nice hotel near campus

Friendly staff. Great walking access to the UVA campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 27, 2010

cavalier inn

Room was neat and clean. Good value for the money. Close to U of Virginia. Very nice personnel. We checked in, got a room on the 4th floor. After we unpacked everything, the lights went out. The whole area was DARK, but the motel did not have any emergency generator. So we had to pack up in the dark, and walk down 4 flights of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Longmeadow, MA
May 16, 2010

Better than usual this trip

The location can't be beat if you're visiting UVA, and the free breakfast is one of the best I've had (with a roomy breakfast area). But the rooms are dark, with NO natural light unless you don't care about privacy, and noise is easily transmitted if other guests are not considerate. On this trip, there was no wireless internet signal in my room, but at least the room was cleaner than others I've stayed in at the same hotel. Charlottesville hotels are not cheap. Stay a half hour west in Waynesboro instead -- you'll get a much nicer room at the same or lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kim the College Student
Business
Wocester, MA
May 16, 2010

A great price but average

The overall experience was pretty good. The staff was great and friendly but the room was average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Aug 3, 2009

Pleasantly Surprised

I read mixed reviews about the place but found that it exceeded my expectations. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and the location was great. There could certainly be improvements at the property but for the price of the room, I found it to be an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville
Nov 25, 2009

Convenient but needs a lot of polishing.

I had been there before, and enjoyed the location and cleanness of the rooms. However, the free Internet was an empty promise, and the staff kept making excuses about it, which I hated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The old parts of the University are well worth visiting even if you are not a student.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
northern virginia
Jul 24, 2010

campus visit base camp

The location is very convenient for campus visits to UVA. The staff were extremely friendly. The room was clean. The pool was small but we enjoyed it. The breakfast was OK and there were many tables in the breakfast area. The elevators were slow and the building looks rather old, but we found it adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go about a half mile down University, just past the Thomas Jefferson statue, for some very cozy restaurants with outdoor seating.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
May 3, 2010

Mostly good...

Room quality was excellent for the price... clean bathrooms, comfortable beds. HVAC system needs updating, though. Carpetting in hallways needs to be replaced. Free continental breakfast was nothing special but was adequate. The coffee (can't remember the brand) was awesome! BIG NEGATIVE: The Wifi did not work in my room. This was a huge disadvantage for me. I mentioned this to two different persons at the front desk staff. Both apologized and thanked me for letting them know. One said they are aware of the issue and are working on improving the connectivity. IF YOU NEED INTERNET ACCESS FROM YOUR ROOM, you should call them and make sure you get a room that has it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. UVA, "The Corner," and Barracks Road shopping plaza are short walks from the hotel. My room overlooked UVA's Carrs Hill field. It was fun to watch the students play soccer and ultimate frisbee on a sunny afternoon.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
May 31, 2010

One opinion

Easy access to UVA and major thoroughfares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runnerinwoods
Business
Mountain View, CA
May 4, 2010

Nice stay, nice location, slow elevators

I had a nice stay and liked the location but gave up on using the very slow elevators--it was much faster to take the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top