$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
silvina
Business
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Jul 10, 2012

Cavalier inn review

Good quality for cost. Breakfast is included. Excellent location: close to university, shopping, restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elenore
Business
Virginia Beach
Oct 28, 2012

Nice Stay

Close to all I wanted to do and see. A little noisy on the backside of hotel great location helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I attended a concert . Short walk to the venue and safe area.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bowserbud
Business
Radford, Va
Nov 6, 2012

Nice Location

The location is ideal for the area. Close to UVA Medical Center, John Paul Jones areana, Fontaine Research Center, Barracks Road Shopping Center. I did not receive my wake up call. The computor was down. The breakfast was typical coplimentary. Close proximity to the major routes, 29, 250, and I-81. Rooms are small but had micro and refrig. Overall a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
UVa Alumnus
Business
Michigan
Dec 10, 2012

Business Travel

Solid location to get to The Corner, The Lawn, etc. Reasonably priced. Originally was placed in corner room facing Ivy/parking lot - was extremely loud inside the room, so asked for switch. Was kindly given "inside" room facing Emmet St, and was much improved. Overall, hotel was what I expected and worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Jan 18, 2013

Quick Meeting

The Cavalier Inn is close to :The Corner" and the University of Virginia. I needed a room for a mid-afternoon meeting and the staff was more than happy to let me do an early check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Feb 8, 2013

Day Trip

Had to rent a room for the "day" to conduct meetings/interviews. Front desk staff was more tan helpful in accommodating a 10:00 a.m. check in. I will exclusively use this hotel now for my monthly meetings in Charlottesville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trumpet mom
Business
Northern Virginia
Feb 25, 2013

Good for a one night stay

The room was clean, but the heat vents were next to one bed, blocking the heat to the rest of the room. Therefore, I was hot all night and my husband was cold. Everything is very low, meaning the sink, toilet, etc. This is not easy for folks getting up there in age. The beds were very comfortable (something hard to find in other hotels).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherise22
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 27, 2013

A place to sleep

Experience was Ok. Beds are not comfortable at all and shower water pressure was not good. Hot breakfast was the best part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Race 3K
Business
New Jersey
Apr 8, 2013

family visit

Great location, rooms are a little small but perfectly fine for 2 adults, very clean and in good condition. You can tell they take care to make the rooms comfortable and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ski45acp
Business
easton, pa
May 23, 2013

so so overnight stay

Pool was CLOSED due to some ADA sling construction.....that had not yet started....weather was warm. Pool could have been opened until construction started. BEDS were terrible for both my wife and I...not comfortable. Sorry, but that's the way it happened It did not ruin our stay..just annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top