$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
129 reviews
Excellent Location

Excellent location and good price! Would come again. See full review

  • Seref
  • May 7, 2015
I thought I knew this hotel...

But, I was more than pleasantly surprised. Truly hospitable staff, spotless and well appointed... See full review

  • r scott c.
  • Apr 26, 2015
Guests will find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. Every room is fully equipped with complimentary wireless highspeed internet. Cable tv/ 37 inch flat screen tv/ electronic lap top size safe/large desk space/ coffee tea maker/ iron ironing board/refrigerator and micro combo. Complimentary deluxe breakfast and free newspaper. After a busy day visitors to this hotel can enjoy a dip in the outdoor pool. Enjoy spacious accommodations at this two diamond AAA rated charlottesville hotel ideally located on the university of virginia grounds. Centrally located near historic attractions. Cavalier inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of virgina thomas jeffersons architectural masterpiece the worldfamous rotunda of the university of Virginia monticello michie tavern ash lawnhighland and the Charlottesville and richmond international airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. Each spacious room is fully equipped with complimentary highspeed internet/ cable tv/ 37 inch flatscreen tv large desk Space/ coffee/tea maker/ iron/ironing board/ frig/micro combo. Electronic lap top size safe/ every morning guests are greeted with a complimentary deluxe breakfast and free newspaper. Comfortable university of virginia themed lobby. Come experience the hospitality and professional service at Cavalier inn at the university of virginia in charlottesville virginia.enjoy spacious accommodations at this two diamond AAA rated charlottesville hotel ideally located on the university of virginia grounds. Centrally located near historic attractions cavalier inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of virgina s thomas jeffersons architectural masterpiece the worldfamous rotunda of the university of Virginia. Monticello michie

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalier Inn at the University also booked these hotels.

★★
$41
2.7 / 5 108 reviews
★★★
$116
4.5 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★
$101
4.1 / 5 86 reviews
★★
$104
3.4 / 5 9 reviews
★★★
$104
3.5 / 5 55 reviews
★★★
$127
4.1 / 5 36 reviews
★★★
$119
4.0 / 5 38 reviews
★★★
$80
3.4 / 5 85 reviews

Cavalier Inn at the University Rooms

Deluxe
King Deluxe -Deluxe room with seating area one King Bed and a sleep sofa fully equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet cable satellite television with HBO and coffee maker.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
One Double with sleep sofa - 1 double bed and a queen sleep sofa refrigerator FREE high-speed Internet Flat Screen TV with 150 Channels In Room Electronic Safe coffee maker. hair dryer Iron and Board
Standard
King Bed - King Rooms equipped with refrigerator Hi Speed Internet Flat Screen TV In Room Safe Iron and Iron Board coffee maker
Standard
Queen Accessible -One Queen Bed Handicapped Accessible Room fully equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet cable satellite television with HBO and coffee maker.
Standard
Two Double Beds - 2 double beds Refrigerator FREE high-speed Internet Flat Screen TV with 150 Channels In Room Electronic Safe Iron and Iron Board coffee maker hair dryer

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • University Hall: 0.3 mi
  • John Paul Jones Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 0.7 mi

Dining

Off property dining
American Asian Barbeque Bavarian Brazilian Cajun Chinese Ethiopian French Greek HighTea Indian International Italian Japanese Kosher Mediterranean Mexican MiddleEastern Muslim Pacific Rim Polynesian Seafood Scandinavian Steak House Swiss TexMex Thai Turki
Aberdeen barn
One of the oldest eateries in charlottesville under the same Ownership for over 19 years serving lunch dinner and. Comfortable atmosphere serving some of the best steak in c ville.
Carmellos
An appetizing menu of Italian dishes. Complete with appetizers soups and salads pastas fish veal chicken parmesan dishes desserts and chef specials. Serving dinner nightly at 5 p.m. Reservations suggested for Friday and Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BobN
Business
Warwick, RI
Nov 23, 2011

Cheap price, cheap place

This hotel is just one step above a Motel 6. Cleanliness was an issue. Upon entering the room I was greeted by that locker-room odor that indicates it's time for a full remodeling of the place. Sure it was only $70, but it wasn't a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heart Nurse
Single
Virginia
Dec 10, 2012

quick getaway

Room was filthy! Ants and "stink bugs" all throughout the room. I need to switch rooms in the middle of the night because of the bug problem. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tired and weary wife of a very sick man!
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Feb 15, 2010

BOTTOM OF THE BARREL!

Husband in hospital-room dirty-no microwave or fridge as stated-they brought up a microwave-filthy-opened it out fell food-really dirty inside and out. had to stand on bed to adjust the heat-could not turn on any air. Floor dirty-key card machine wasn't working-employee had to go with you to open room. Elevator broken. The boy working said the were supposed to have fixed it yesterday. I was on 3rd floor. It stopped on 2-no one there and stayed there for 2-3 minutes. The boy said it will go up adventually!!! Alarm clock was broken--you could set hour, but not the minutes. Need I go on. I will be here for a week or so and have found a place to stay that is clean and neat and everything working. [...] Do not stay at the Cavelier Inn ever.!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chesapke
Jun 13, 2009

My 1star Stay at Cavalier Inn & Orbitz

Promises of refridgerator & microwave not kept till I complained. And even then still did not get microwave even when I explained it was to store medicine that had to be cooled and medical fluids that needed heating. Very disappointing. ***Also, Bewteen Orbitz and Cavalier Inn, a credit card that didn't exist was charged on my behalf which I find very disturbing, esp having given & presented my real credit card at reservation and check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JayDub
Couples
Annandale, VA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Near to the Corner

Although it appears the Cav Inn had a bit of a face lift recently (new carpet and drapes in the room), the bathroom was very dated and sorely in need of new fixtures, exhaust fan, and the ceiling was in very sad shape. The bed was not that comfortable, and the train coming through (about a block away) several times through the night meant that it was not a very restful night for me. The breakfast was okay; it was sufficient to get us through to lunch; but I will say the hotel staff at in the dining room were very helpful and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Allentown, PA
Jun 21, 2010

Noisy Place!

After arriving at 1:30 am (after a long drive), I was disappointed to be awoken at 2:30 am by a wedding group who was partying outside their room! After notifying the front desk (and hearing the commotion for some time), it took almost 20 minutes for hotel staff to subdue this nuisance. When I reported the above timetable to the front desk upon check-out, I was a given a response of "well they had a wedding party". I will not return to this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
NY
Jul 12, 2010

Inn experience

Vacation travel plan However, there was renovation going on at time of visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
NY
Aug 12, 2009

Could do much better

I just stayed in my room, had breakfast and used the Internet. But the WiFi was out, the lounge computer worked in the evening but not in the morning, and the staff didn't apologize at all. Oh, and the water pressure in the shower was terrible. Shampooing alone took 15 minutes because of that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bus system runs near the hotel.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mother of a college freshman
Family
atlanta ga
Jul 24, 2011

Very mediocre

Hotel ran out of washcloths the day after the first night's stay and didn't have any available until the last day. Breakfast was sparse, fresh fruit minimal, lots of dry donuts and pastries, etc. Air conditioner in the room rattled and made noises Hotel shuttle not readily available when we asked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Sep 2, 2009

Disappointing

This visit was unfortunately poor although I have stay here before and it was acceptable. The hotel did not get the information from Orbitz about my reservation and it took 2 days to settle. I was locked out of my room because my reservation with Orbitz was not communicated to the Cavalier. My room was never cleaned, or bed made and I had to request towels everyday. Very unfortunate visit...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top