$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Miami
Jul 4, 2011

Great

Loved it close to UVA close to downtown and great walking everywhere. Included breakfast and rooms are nice and great price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown mall area is so nice and cute for movies or dinner and UVA is beautiful campus

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Miami
Jul 4, 2011

Great

Loved it close to UVA close to downtown and great walking everywhere. Included breakfast and rooms are nice and great price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown mall area is so nice and cute for movies or dinner and UVA is beautiful campus

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingpriest
Business
New York, NY
Jun 12, 2011

Convenient, Clean, Efficient

Convenient location to UVa/The Corner, not so much to Downtown and the Mall. Very clean, friendly staff, efficient check-in and easy to use. A bit loud - but there were two weddings lodging guests at the hotel - I imagine that's not a normal day-to-day thing. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Downtown Mall for Food.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 8, 2011

A good value hotel

I was down in Charlottesville for a conference held on UVA's campus. I was on a tight budget and appreciated being able to walk to the conference and avoid parking fees. I admit I did not spend much time in my hotel room as I was out exploring the area as much as I could, but it was a nice, clean room to come back to in the evening. While clean, I would not say this hotel is luxurious. I had a fridge but no microwave (which I expected) in my room. My flat screen tv buzzed when it was played at moderate/high volume but this was not a problem to me- I did not complain so I don't know if it would/could have been fixed- and the mattress on one of the beds in my room seemed a bit older but still quite comfortable. They offer free wireless which worked well as did the AC (it was HOT when I was down there), a good complimentary breakfast, a small business center with an available printer and the fitness center is better equipped than at most hotels I have been to. A good value for the money, and it allows pets. The staff was courteous and overall I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I am a young, active individual, so I would recommend checking out the local parks & looking up some good hiking spots. C'ville is a pretty active area, so there were many sporting opportunities at the surrounding parks including Washington only 1.5 miles away and Darden Towe. I recommend taking a walk up University Ave too- it has a cute college town feel. I ran out of time, but I wanted to check out the Ragged Mountain Running store there in C'ville as well.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 7, 2011

OK

The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. I had a handicapped room and was astonished at how heavy the bathroom door was, more like an exterior steel door rather than an inside door. There was a problem with the bath in that a jet of water came from the temperature knob so that very little water came through the shower head. These two things made using the bathroom difficult for me. The breakfast was strange. No scrambled eggs, bacon, or sausage. Only cold hard-boiled eggs for real protein.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoping for better
Business
DC
May 15, 2011

Tolerable. Tacky.

Loud fridge. Couldn't get any natural light without the whole world being able to see you as they walk by. Had to put my car in a scketchy and smelly lot because the above-ground parking was full. Overall, you're looking at a holiday inn express type standard, but with a bigger price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Feb 24, 2011

Not bad for the price

I stayed there for one night. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. Free breakfast (not just coffee) was also a great bonus. My one complaint was that the heater kept turning on and off every few minutes and when it would turn on, it would be very loud. I didn't sleep well because I had turn the heater off but then felt cold. I guess it would be better as a summer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a large shopping mall less than 1 mile away with stores and places to eat.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke VA
Feb 17, 2011

Only OK

I was there for one night on business. The hotel is relatively old but there had been some recent remodeling, and it was clean. The A/C was very sporadic and noisy. The reason I had selected this particular hotel was for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near UVa campus and all associated sports complexes.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mitchell SD
Jan 30, 2011

Great Stay

Clean rooms and friendly/helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uva!
Business
LA, CA
Jan 16, 2011

Nice decor and conveniently located

The room had nice decorations. The shower was not impressive. Service wasn't great, but did improve when asked for. Overall, 3-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top