$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
129 reviews
Fantastic Stay

Although the hotel is a little hard to find, it is a great place to stay for one night or multiple.... See full review

  • Ant Com
  • Jul 29, 2014
Lovely hotel.

The perfect location across from UVA and the gracious staff make this a welcoming place to arrive. See full review

  • Fontalys
  • Jun 22, 2013
Guests will find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. Every room is fully equipped with complimentary wireless highspeed internet. Cable tv/ 37 inch flat screen tv/ electronic lap top size safe/large desk space/ coffee tea maker/ iron ironing board/refrigerator and micro combo. Complimentary deluxe breakfast and free newspaper. After a busy day visitors to this hotel can enjoy a dip in the outdoor pool. Enjoy spacious accommodations at this two diamond AAA rated charlottesville hotel ideally located on the university of virginia grounds. Centrally located near historic attractions. Cavalier inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of virgina thomas jeffersons architectural masterpiece the worldfamous rotunda of the university of Virginia monticello michie tavern ash lawnhighland and the Charlottesville and richmond international airports. Guests will also find numerous recreational activities within a short distance. Each spacious room is fully equipped with complimentary highspeed internet/ cable tv/ 37 inch flatscreen tv large desk Space/ coffee/tea maker/ iron/ironing board/ frig/micro combo. Electronic lap top size safe/ every morning guests are greeted with a complimentary deluxe breakfast and free newspaper. Comfortable university of virginia themed lobby. Come experience the hospitality and professional service at Cavalier inn at the university of virginia in charlottesville virginia.enjoy spacious accommodations at this two diamond AAA rated charlottesville hotel ideally located on the university of virginia grounds. Centrally located near historic attractions cavalier inn provides comfortable accommodations and easy access to the University of virgina s thomas jeffersons architectural masterpiece the worldfamous rotunda of the university of Virginia. Monticello michie

Hotel Map

38.0399 -78.5067
Nearby airports
Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport, (CHO), 9.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 110.00, MI, N; Byrd Field/Richmond Intl Airport, (RIC), 80.00, MI, E;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cavalier Inn at the University also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Cavalier Inn at the University Rooms

Deluxe
King Deluxe -Deluxe room with seating area one King Bed and a sleep sofa fully equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet cable satellite television with HBO and coffee maker.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
One Double with sleep sofa - 1 double bed and a queen sleep sofa refrigerator FREE high-speed Internet Flat Screen TV with 150 Channels In Room Electronic Safe coffee maker. hair dryer Iron and Board
Standard
King Bed - King Rooms equipped with refrigerator Hi Speed Internet Flat Screen TV In Room Safe Iron and Iron Board coffee maker
Standard
Queen Accessible -One Queen Bed Handicapped Accessible Room fully equipped with complimentary wireless high-speed Internet cable satellite television with HBO and coffee maker.
Standard
Two Double Beds - 2 double beds Refrigerator FREE high-speed Internet Flat Screen TV with 150 Channels In Room Electronic Safe Iron and Iron Board coffee maker hair dryer

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Family plan
Services
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
FREE transportation
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • University Hall: 0.3 mi
  • John Paul Jones Arena: 0.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 0.7 mi

Dining

Off property dining
American Asian Barbeque Bavarian Brazilian Cajun Chinese Ethiopian French Greek HighTea Indian International Italian Japanese Kosher Mediterranean Mexican MiddleEastern Muslim Pacific Rim Polynesian Seafood Scandinavian Steak House Swiss TexMex Thai Turki
Aberdeen barn
One of the oldest eateries in charlottesville under the same Ownership for over 19 years serving lunch dinner and. Comfortable atmosphere serving some of the best steak in c ville.
Carmellos
An appetizing menu of Italian dishes. Complete with appetizers soups and salads pastas fish veal chicken parmesan dishes desserts and chef specials. Serving dinner nightly at 5 p.m. Reservations suggested for Friday and Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mclean va
Jul 9, 2011

Good location

Room was nice and clean, however the air condition was very noisy. Breakfast was not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Miami
Jul 4, 2011

Great

Loved it close to UVA close to downtown and great walking everywhere. Included breakfast and rooms are nice and great price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown mall area is so nice and cute for movies or dinner and UVA is beautiful campus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingpriest
Business
New York, NY
Jun 12, 2011

Convenient, Clean, Efficient

Convenient location to UVa/The Corner, not so much to Downtown and the Mall. Very clean, friendly staff, efficient check-in and easy to use. A bit loud - but there were two weddings lodging guests at the hotel - I imagine that's not a normal day-to-day thing. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Downtown Mall for Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 8, 2011

A good value hotel

I was down in Charlottesville for a conference held on UVA's campus. I was on a tight budget and appreciated being able to walk to the conference and avoid parking fees. I admit I did not spend much time in my hotel room as I was out exploring the area as much as I could, but it was a nice, clean room to come back to in the evening. While clean, I would not say this hotel is luxurious. I had a fridge but no microwave (which I expected) in my room. My flat screen tv buzzed when it was played at moderate/high volume but this was not a problem to me- I did not complain so I don't know if it would/could have been fixed- and the mattress on one of the beds in my room seemed a bit older but still quite comfortable. They offer free wireless which worked well as did the AC (it was HOT when I was down there), a good complimentary breakfast, a small business center with an available printer and the fitness center is better equipped than at most hotels I have been to. A good value for the money, and it allows pets. The staff was courteous and overall I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I am a young, active individual, so I would recommend checking out the local parks & looking up some good hiking spots. C'ville is a pretty active area, so there were many sporting opportunities at the surrounding parks including Washington only 1.5 miles away and Darden Towe. I recommend taking a walk up University Ave too- it has a cute college town feel. I ran out of time, but I wanted to check out the Ragged Mountain Running store there in C'ville as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 7, 2011

OK

The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. I had a handicapped room and was astonished at how heavy the bathroom door was, more like an exterior steel door rather than an inside door. There was a problem with the bath in that a jet of water came from the temperature knob so that very little water came through the shower head. These two things made using the bathroom difficult for me. The breakfast was strange. No scrambled eggs, bacon, or sausage. Only cold hard-boiled eggs for real protein.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoping for better
Business
DC
May 15, 2011

Tolerable. Tacky.

Loud fridge. Couldn't get any natural light without the whole world being able to see you as they walk by. Had to put my car in a scketchy and smelly lot because the above-ground parking was full. Overall, you're looking at a holiday inn express type standard, but with a bigger price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh, pa
Feb 24, 2011

Not bad for the price

I stayed there for one night. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. Free breakfast (not just coffee) was also a great bonus. My one complaint was that the heater kept turning on and off every few minutes and when it would turn on, it would be very loud. I didn't sleep well because I had turn the heater off but then felt cold. I guess it would be better as a summer hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a large shopping mall less than 1 mile away with stores and places to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roanoke VA
Feb 17, 2011

Only OK

I was there for one night on business. The hotel is relatively old but there had been some recent remodeling, and it was clean. The A/C was very sporadic and noisy. The reason I had selected this particular hotel was for the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Near UVa campus and all associated sports complexes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mitchell SD
Jan 30, 2011

Great Stay

Clean rooms and friendly/helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Uva!
Business
LA, CA
Jan 16, 2011

Nice decor and conveniently located

The room had nice decorations. The shower was not impressive. Service wasn't great, but did improve when asked for. Overall, 3-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top