$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naples, FL, USA
Aug 23, 2011

UVA visit

Pleasantly surprised. Last minute reservation. From the outside pretty plain but nice inside with pleasant staff. Fitness room, pool, breakfast, free shuttle to the airport all a pleasant surprise. Walking distance to UVA, the Corner, church, shopping. Much better than the Red Roof Inn or the Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

See the party scene of UVA at the Corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 27, 2011

Handy for UVa visitor

One hotel elevator was broken all weekend, and the remaining operating elevator slow and stuffy in the heat. Otherwise, the room, hotel and breakfast were fine, comparable to prior visits.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient for visits to UVa

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mother of a college freshman
Business
atlanta ga
Jul 24, 2011

Very mediocre

Hotel ran out of washcloths the day after the first night's stay and didn't have any available until the last day. Breakfast was sparse, fresh fruit minimal, lots of dry donuts and pastries, etc. Air conditioner in the room rattled and made noises Hotel shuttle not readily available when we asked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville, MD
Jul 19, 2011

Good location

Location is great, rooms are very clean! But the pictures look much better than it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
mclean va
Jul 9, 2011

Good location

Room was nice and clean, however the air condition was very noisy. Breakfast was not that great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Miami
Jul 4, 2011

Great

Loved it close to UVA close to downtown and great walking everywhere. Included breakfast and rooms are nice and great price :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown mall area is so nice and cute for movies or dinner and UVA is beautiful campus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelingpriest
Business
New York, NY
Jun 12, 2011

Convenient, Clean, Efficient

Convenient location to UVa/The Corner, not so much to Downtown and the Mall. Very clean, friendly staff, efficient check-in and easy to use. A bit loud - but there were two weddings lodging guests at the hotel - I imagine that's not a normal day-to-day thing. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Downtown Mall for Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 8, 2011

A good value hotel

I was down in Charlottesville for a conference held on UVA's campus. I was on a tight budget and appreciated being able to walk to the conference and avoid parking fees. I admit I did not spend much time in my hotel room as I was out exploring the area as much as I could, but it was a nice, clean room to come back to in the evening. While clean, I would not say this hotel is luxurious. I had a fridge but no microwave (which I expected) in my room. My flat screen tv buzzed when it was played at moderate/high volume but this was not a problem to me- I did not complain so I don't know if it would/could have been fixed- and the mattress on one of the beds in my room seemed a bit older but still quite comfortable. They offer free wireless which worked well as did the AC (it was HOT when I was down there), a good complimentary breakfast, a small business center with an available printer and the fitness center is better equipped than at most hotels I have been to. A good value for the money, and it allows pets. The staff was courteous and overall I was very pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I am a young, active individual, so I would recommend checking out the local parks & looking up some good hiking spots. C'ville is a pretty active area, so there were many sporting opportunities at the surrounding parks including Washington only 1.5 miles away and Darden Towe. I recommend taking a walk up University Ave too- it has a cute college town feel. I ran out of time, but I wanted to check out the Ragged Mountain Running store there in C'ville as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 7, 2011

OK

The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. I had a handicapped room and was astonished at how heavy the bathroom door was, more like an exterior steel door rather than an inside door. There was a problem with the bath in that a jet of water came from the temperature knob so that very little water came through the shower head. These two things made using the bathroom difficult for me. The breakfast was strange. No scrambled eggs, bacon, or sausage. Only cold hard-boiled eggs for real protein.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hoping for better
Business
DC
May 15, 2011

Tolerable. Tacky.

Loud fridge. Couldn't get any natural light without the whole world being able to see you as they walk by. Had to put my car in a scketchy and smelly lot because the above-ground parking was full. Overall, you're looking at a holiday inn express type standard, but with a bigger price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top