$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zarxinod Gobhanotham
Business
Your Town, USA
Jun 8, 2013

Comfortable and convenient, nicely priced.

Room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is very conveniently located next to the University of Virginia campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Approximately one mile from the hotel is the fantastic Peter Chang's China Grill. If you like Szechuan cuisine, this is not to be missed.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
May 28, 2013

Day Trip

Another satisfied day trip to Charlottesville. Front desk staff let me check in at 10a.m so I could begin my interviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ski45acp
Business
easton, pa
May 23, 2013

so so overnight stay

Pool was CLOSED due to some ADA sling construction.....that had not yet started....weather was warm. Pool could have been opened until construction started. BEDS were terrible for both my wife and I...not comfortable. Sorry, but that's the way it happened It did not ruin our stay..just annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shortygree
Business
Verona, VA
May 8, 2013

Over night stay

I would stay there again. Good location, close to UVA hospital Easy to get in and out of parking lot/hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
May 3, 2013

Day Trip

Another great day in Charlottesville at the Cavalier Inn for my meetings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottish Novelist
Business
Morristown, NJ
Apr 23, 2013

Great Travel Value

The Cavalier Inn was a good value for the price. We booked through Orbiz and that saved around $30. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Breakfast offered waffles, fruit, rolls, or cereal. Good selection for being free. The breakfast room is extremely large and comfortable. Guys at the front desk when we checked in had a great sense of humor. The only negative comment would be that the hotel appears to have originally consisted of outdoor entrances on each level. These exterior passages have now been enclosed [plexiglass?] and there are elevators to each floor but the exterior corridors were very cold at this time of year and I would imagine they are quite hot in summer. Once inside the room, however, no problem. And each room offers a microwave and fridge - a GREAT aminity when on the road. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't feel like taking the car out, there are several restaurants in walking distance including a diner and a Chinese restaurant.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Apr 12, 2013

Mid-Week Trip

I stay here for my monthly trip to Charlottesville. They let me check in in the morning so I can get prepared for my afternoon meetings. Staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Little John's Deli on The Corner

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Race 3K
Business
New Jersey
Apr 8, 2013

family visit

Great location, rooms are a little small but perfectly fine for 2 adults, very clean and in good condition. You can tell they take care to make the rooms comfortable and updated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Last minute traveler9
Business
Washington dc
Apr 4, 2013

easy, affordable, comfortable

Great stay, comfortable room with lots of space. Nice free breakfast every morning. Can't get much closer/more convenient to UVA! And free parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cherise22
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 27, 2013

A place to sleep

Experience was Ok. Beds are not comfortable at all and shower water pressure was not good. Hot breakfast was the best part.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top