$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicky1001
Business
Florida
Nov 10, 2013

very comfortable, excellent breakfast

no complaints but hard to find, especially at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Oct 25, 2013

Anothe rday trip

I solely stay at the Cavalier Inn because they are able to accommodate my early check-in needs. The rooms are clean and very up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A2 Superdad
Business
Louisville, KY
Oct 19, 2013

Business trip

Overall, very good location. Rooms were average though very clean. No workable hot water for use at complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Driving distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colwal
Business
Australia
Oct 15, 2013

Great location

Hotel shuttle service was a bonus as the Charlottesville airport is a considerable way out. Breakfast is included and has a reasonable selection. Good value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Former CVILLian
Business
SC
Sep 13, 2013

1 week stay

My experience was better than i expected. I initially expected an average visit. But the Staff is all about making things convenient for the guest and are more than helpful. It is in a good location, you hear sirens but that is because it is near the hospital. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. I would stay here again and recommend it for a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fontalys
Business
France
Jun 22, 2013

Lovely hotel.

The perfect location across from UVA and the gracious staff make this a welcoming place to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Barracks shopping mall close by is superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanna of 2
Business
Lexington, KY
Jun 21, 2013

Short Getaway

The hotel is not far from restaurants and shops and we enjoyed our walk up University Ave and Main Street. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and the price was very reasonable. The only negative would be a noisy air conditioner and a mattress that was a little hard. We would stay there again, but would ask for a room on the back side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fox & Hounds GastroPub on Main Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zarxinod Gobhanotham
Business
Your Town, USA
Jun 8, 2013

Comfortable and convenient, nicely priced.

Room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is very conveniently located next to the University of Virginia campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Approximately one mile from the hotel is the fantastic Peter Chang's China Grill. If you like Szechuan cuisine, this is not to be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
May 28, 2013

Day Trip

Another satisfied day trip to Charlottesville. Front desk staff let me check in at 10a.m so I could begin my interviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ski45acp
Business
easton, pa
May 23, 2013

so so overnight stay

Pool was CLOSED due to some ADA sling construction.....that had not yet started....weather was warm. Pool could have been opened until construction started. BEDS were terrible for both my wife and I...not comfortable. Sorry, but that's the way it happened It did not ruin our stay..just annoying!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top