$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicknamehassle
Business
Davidson, NC
Feb 23, 2014

Cavalier Inn

Super location, walking distance to the beautiful campus. Lively area. Yet the room was quiet. Older, but also a handsome property, well-maintained. I thought it was a terrific stay for the money. Breakfast was pretty generous, and had healthy options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Second Street Gallery and the creperie up the street!!!

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Byrd
Family
VA
Jan 8, 2014

Not Bad

Front Desk is friendly.... free breakfast is not bad, especially if you are hungry. Hope you get the side that is closed off compare to the open side when it's cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike from Durham
Couples
Durham, NC
Dec 23, 2013

Pleasant stay

The hotel is showing its age a bit in terms of threadbare carpet and dated fixtures, but it was clean, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect for a quick trip to Charlottesville. It was a bit odd that the room door stood wide open when we first went up to drop our bags. The shower didn't have much pressure, because most of the water still went out of the spout after the shower knob was pulled. We left early in the morning before the breakfast service started, so I can't comment on the food quality. Not the Ritz Carlton, but a good place to stay for a no frills visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicky1001
Family
Florida
Nov 10, 2013

very comfortable, excellent breakfast

no complaints but hard to find, especially at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rex 1
Business
Bedford, VA 24523, USA
Oct 25, 2013

Anothe rday trip

I solely stay at the Cavalier Inn because they are able to accommodate my early check-in needs. The rooms are clean and very up to date.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A2 Superdad
Business
Louisville, KY
Oct 19, 2013

Business trip

Overall, very good location. Rooms were average though very clean. No workable hot water for use at complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Driving distance

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colwal
Couples
Australia
Oct 15, 2013

Great location

Hotel shuttle service was a bonus as the Charlottesville airport is a considerable way out. Breakfast is included and has a reasonable selection. Good value for money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Former CVILLian
Friends
SC
Sep 13, 2013

1 week stay

My experience was better than i expected. I initially expected an average visit. But the Staff is all about making things convenient for the guest and are more than helpful. It is in a good location, you hear sirens but that is because it is near the hospital. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. I would stay here again and recommend it for a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fontalys
Business
France
Jun 22, 2013

Lovely hotel.

The perfect location across from UVA and the gracious staff make this a welcoming place to arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Barracks shopping mall close by is superb.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nanna of 2
Couples
Lexington, KY
Jun 21, 2013

Short Getaway

The hotel is not far from restaurants and shops and we enjoyed our walk up University Ave and Main Street. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and the price was very reasonable. The only negative would be a noisy air conditioner and a mattress that was a little hard. We would stay there again, but would ask for a room on the back side of the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fox & Hounds GastroPub on Main Street

Back to menu Return to top