$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 19, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UVA Fan
DuBois, PA
May 16, 2012

Great location, great value

We were quite pleased with the clean, quiet room, friendly staff and great free breakfast. This is a very good value for an Inn right next to the Campus of UVA. The beds were comfortable and so were the pillows. We appreciated the easy access to town and Route 64.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Charlottesville is only a few minutes away; quite the easy drive.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT just happy to be in NO
Business
Oak Hill, WV
Jun 27, 2014

Pleased

Pleasantly surprised by the overall condition of such an old motel. Very clean and well kept. Air conditioner was a little loud but no big deal. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I'm not a big Waffle house fan but the one on Seminole Rd. was very good.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Worker Passing Through
Business
Washington DC
Jun 20, 2014

Perfect for the Price

I just needed a place to crash for the night while I passed through for work. The room, and hotel in general, were nice and clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was great (walking distance to the campus and restaurants).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thedocisinthebuilding
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 20, 2014

Great hotel and great staff!

I've stayed out this hotel weekly since January so I can teach class at UVA. Great staff and I love the fact there are refrigerators in the rooms. I've stayed at more expensive hotels in the area that did not have this option. Kids loved it when they visited too. This is the only place I'll stay when in Charlottesville!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srinidhi
Business
Bryan
Jun 13, 2014

Clean and tidy place

It was clean and friendly staff.I would prefer this hotel if at all i have a chance to in future .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sports mom 2
Business
New Jersey
Apr 21, 2014

Game day

I had an overall positive experience. The hotel operator was friendly and helpful.. I was a late arrival so I was a little nervous. The night manager was great. The room was clean, but the hotel does need some upgrades: tiles in shower need to be fixed; loud noise in adjacent rooms from water; towels were thin and rough. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing special. It was a good value for what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I try to be a healthy eater, but when travelling to places like these, college towns, one needs to do some research prior to trying to find somewhere to eat as all you are likely to find within walking distance is 7 eleven.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert Mathis
Business
Charleston, WV
Mar 28, 2014

Good hotel location if you have business with UVA.

A lot of noise outside our room with people walking by and rolling of suitcases. This was until around 11:00 p.m. but quite after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baltimore Native
Business
Southwest US
Feb 24, 2014

Needed Maintenance

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions over the years, given its combination of location and price. Most of these visits have been fine, but this past weekend was not, as our request to have the clogged bathroom sink was never acted on. (When the water was run it drained v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y and the prior crud backed up into the sink.) Also, the heat / air conditioning unit did not work and the front desk staff was notably unsympathetic to the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nicknamehassle
Business
Davidson, NC
Feb 23, 2014

Cavalier Inn

Super location, walking distance to the beautiful campus. Lively area. Yet the room was quiet. Older, but also a handsome property, well-maintained. I thought it was a terrific stay for the money. Breakfast was pretty generous, and had healthy options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Second Street Gallery and the creperie up the street!!!

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Byrd
Business
VA
Jan 8, 2014

Not Bad

Front Desk is friendly.... free breakfast is not bad, especially if you are hungry. Hope you get the side that is closed off compare to the open side when it's cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Social butterfly
Business
Charlottesville, Virginia
Dec 26, 2013

Perfect occasion

The staff is wonderful and they always greet me with a warm hug and smile. They are like a little family away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinning, Malls, Movies and more all 5 minutes or less away.

Back to menu Return to top