$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
visiting colleges
Family
Tennessee, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Delightful hotel

A charming hotel: friendly helpful staff, both in the evening and the next morning, really comfortable beds, and the complimentary breakfast filled up my teenage son. Couldn't ask for better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ant Com
Couples
Fredericksburg, VA
Jul 29, 2014

Fantastic Stay

Although the hotel is a little hard to find, it is a great place to stay for one night or multiple. The staff was helpful and energetic, the rooms were clean and cozy and the overall atmosphere was warm and inviting. The hot breakfast was pretty good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie college tour mom
Family
Upper Holland , Pa
Jul 27, 2014

Cavalier Inn

We were on a college tour for UVA . The location was a perfect walk to the college grounds as well as restaurants in town. The inn is a bit dated but was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very helpful. The morning continental breakfast was a nice addition to our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Virginian in town

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bree travel
Couples
Alexandria VA
Jul 14, 2014

Close to everything

The hotel was clean and close to everything. We were able to bring our dog. The parking was easy and we were able to walk to all the local shops and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JT just happy to be in NO
Business
Oak Hill, WV
Jun 27, 2014

Pleased

Pleasantly surprised by the overall condition of such an old motel. Very clean and well kept. Air conditioner was a little loud but no big deal. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I'm not a big Waffle house fan but the one on Seminole Rd. was very good.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Worker Passing Through
Business
Washington DC
Jun 20, 2014

Perfect for the Price

I just needed a place to crash for the night while I passed through for work. The room, and hotel in general, were nice and clean, the staff was friendly, and the location was great (walking distance to the campus and restaurants).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thedocisinthebuilding
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 20, 2014

Great hotel and great staff!

I've stayed out this hotel weekly since January so I can teach class at UVA. Great staff and I love the fact there are refrigerators in the rooms. I've stayed at more expensive hotels in the area that did not have this option. Kids loved it when they visited too. This is the only place I'll stay when in Charlottesville!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Srinidhi
Business
Bryan
Jun 13, 2014

Clean and tidy place

It was clean and friendly staff.I would prefer this hotel if at all i have a chance to in future .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sports mom 2
Single
New Jersey
Apr 21, 2014

Game day

I had an overall positive experience. The hotel operator was friendly and helpful.. I was a late arrival so I was a little nervous. The night manager was great. The room was clean, but the hotel does need some upgrades: tiles in shower need to be fixed; loud noise in adjacent rooms from water; towels were thin and rough. The room was clean and comfortable but nothing special. It was a good value for what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I try to be a healthy eater, but when travelling to places like these, college towns, one needs to do some research prior to trying to find somewhere to eat as all you are likely to find within walking distance is 7 eleven.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Robert Mathis
Business
Charleston, WV
Mar 28, 2014

Good hotel location if you have business with UVA.

A lot of noise outside our room with people walking by and rolling of suitcases. This was until around 11:00 p.m. but quite after that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baltimore Native
Couples
Southwest US
Feb 24, 2014

Needed Maintenance

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions over the years, given its combination of location and price. Most of these visits have been fine, but this past weekend was not, as our request to have the clogged bathroom sink was never acted on. (When the water was run it drained v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y and the prior crud backed up into the sink.) Also, the heat / air conditioning unit did not work and the front desk staff was notably unsympathetic to the issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top