$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

Cavalier Inn at the University

3 stars
View map of 105 North EMMET ST, CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA 22903

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cavalier Inn at the University

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
northern virginia
Jul 24, 2010

campus visit base camp

The location is very convenient for campus visits to UVA. The staff were extremely friendly. The room was clean. The pool was small but we enjoyed it. The breakfast was OK and there were many tables in the breakfast area. The elevators were slow and the building looks rather old, but we found it adequate for our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go about a half mile down University, just past the Thomas Jefferson statue, for some very cozy restaurants with outdoor seating.

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Manassas, VA
Jul 16, 2010

Good value for UVA families

Very clean and comfortable room. Great location, close to UVA. Desk staff very friendly. Continental breakfast average. Overall, good value for price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
NY
Jul 12, 2010

Inn experience

Vacation travel plan However, there was renovation going on at time of visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beverly j
Family
baltimore,maryland
Jul 8, 2010

It was ok

This was our first trip to Charlottevile Virginia and it was ok the staff was great but the pool had things floating in it It be nice if they had someone to clean it up.The room was great and clean.But breakfast was horrible. Hard pancakes, coffe was never refilled, hard pastry, and the suasage looked raw.So, my husband and I went some where else for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything close early around there

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 27, 2010

cavalier inn

Room was neat and clean. Good value for the money. Close to U of Virginia. Very nice personnel. We checked in, got a room on the 4th floor. After we unpacked everything, the lights went out. The whole area was DARK, but the motel did not have any emergency generator. So we had to pack up in the dark, and walk down 4 flights of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Allentown, PA
Jun 21, 2010

Noisy Place!

After arriving at 1:30 am (after a long drive), I was disappointed to be awoken at 2:30 am by a wedding group who was partying outside their room! After notifying the front desk (and hearing the commotion for some time), it took almost 20 minutes for hotel staff to subdue this nuisance. When I reported the above timetable to the front desk upon check-out, I was a given a response of "well they had a wedding party". I will not return to this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Vienna, VA
Jun 15, 2010

clean and comfortable

Coca Cola machines would be a great addition....not everyone is a "Pepsi" generation. Also, the machines should be updated to accept dollar bills, not just change. When guests arrive late in the evening and are thirsty after hours of driving, its a hassle to have to go out again to get change. The front desk cannot always have change available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atlanta, GA
May 31, 2010

One opinion

Easy access to UVA and major thoroughfares.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bronx, New York
May 21, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

The experience was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Cavalier Inn at the University

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wahoo1981
Couples
Richmond, VA
May 19, 2010

Nice Basic Hotel

This was a perfectly pleasant hotel. Nothing fancy, nothing out of the ordinary. The rooms could use a little sprucing up here and there -- the place is looking its age -- but it was perfectly clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast included hard-boiled eggs, biscuits and sausage gravy, yogurt, french toast, waffles and a large selection of muffins, pastries and bagels. A bargain at this price point and I would definitely stay there again. Nothing fancy -- this isn't the Ritz, for sure -- but much nicer than most places in this price range. The lobby was very attractive, the breakfast room was clean, the wi-fi worked fine. Absolutely no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top