$49 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Budget Inn

3 stars
140 Emmet St North, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
54 reviews
stay here for UVA visits

overall better experience then before but always a good stay with a great value awesome continental... See full review

  • Karen G.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great, clean, not shady

I was hesitant to stay here because it was so cheap, but I'm glad I did. The rooms are very clean... See full review

  • SC Cowboy
  • Dec 29, 2013
Located at the University of Virginia the Budget Inn welcomes you Charlottesville and Central Virginia Our central location is ideal walking distance to University of Virginia Rotunda Grounds and The Corner John Paul Jones JPJ Arena Scott Stadium Klockner Stadium and Barracks Road Shops and Dining. A short drive will place you at Monticello Ash Lawn Michie Tavern Vineyards and Historic Downtown Mall. The University of Virginia Hospital and medical facilities are a short dive distance. The Budget Inn offers complimentary Continental Breakfast Local and Long Distance Calls USA and Canada and Cable TV. Copy services available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Budget Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Budget Inn Rooms

Standard
2 Queen Beds Non Smoking - Room with 2 Queen size beds Non-Smoking. Individual AC / Heat LCD Cable TV Wireless Internet Iron and Iron Board Hair dryer. Long Distance Calls USA and Canada . Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
2 Queen Beds Smoking - Room with 2 Queen size beds Smoking. Individual AC / Heat Cable TV Wireless Internet Hair dryer. Long Distance Calls USA and Canada . Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
2 Queen Beds Non Smoking Accessible - Handicap Accessible Room. AC /Heat. LCD/Cable TV. Wireless Internet. Iron/Board. Long istance Calls. USA/Canada. Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
1 King Bed Smoking - Room with 1 King-size bed Smoking. Individual AC / Heat LCD Cable TV Wireless Internet Iron Iron Board Hair dryer. Long Distance Calls USA Canada . Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
1 Queen Bed Smoking - Room with 1 Queen-size bed Smoking. Individual AC / Heat Cable TV Wireless Internet Iron and Iron Board Hair Dryer. Long Distance Calls USA and Canada . Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
1 Double Bed Non Smoking - Room with 1 Double-size bed Non-Smoking. Individual AC / Heat LCD Cable TV Wireless Internet Iron and Iron Board Hair Dryer. Long Distance Calls USA and Canada . Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
Description not provided
Standard
1 Queen Bed Non Smoking - Room with 1 Queen-size bed Non-Smoking. Individual AC / Heat LCD Cable TV Wireless Internet Iron and Iron Board Hair dryer. Long Distance Calls USA and Canada . Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
1 King Bed Non Smoking - Room with 1 King-size bed Non-Smoking. Individual AC / Heat LCD Cable TV Wireless Internet Iron Iron Board Hair dryer. Long Distance Calls USA Canada . Complimentary Continental Breakfast.
Standard
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
FEMA approved
Phone service
Dining
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Family plan
Services
Maid service
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • University Hall: 0.3 mi
  • John Paul Jones Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 0.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Budget Inn

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 54
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.1

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't stay.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 24, 2014

Don't ever stay here!

My husband and son stayed at Budget inn for 5 days to attend Basketball camp. The hotel has no idea what customer service is. They are INCOMPETANT, rude and disrespectful. I made the reservation and paid in full prior to the trip and the hotel CANCELLED my reservation assuming my husband would pay when he got there. My husband arrived late due to a flight delay, (but allowed my son to check in night before). The next day they locked him and my son out the room and held their belongings hostage for "non payment". We attempted to explain how their staff was at fault, but "John" didn't understand. I attempted to pay over the phone but they wouldn't except it! I had to fax over documents after SEVERAL HOURS of my family waiting in lobby. The next day I see I was charged TWICE for the reservation. I once again call the hotel, "John" refused to help, refused to let me know what happened, why I was charged twice, and REFUSED to give me the managers name and contact info.. He then HUNG UP ON ME!! I called back, he STILL REFUSED TO ASSIST ME and would not allow me to talk to anyone else. My husband had to go straighten them out at the counter. Oh and to top it all off.. They send me a bill for $150 accusing my husband if taking a blanket!! OF COURSE I'm dusputing that! DO NOT STAY AT THIS LOW CLASS HOTEL WITH INCOMPETANT EMPLOYEES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jun tan
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 15, 2014

Acceptable

The wall of the hotel was so thin that voice and noise from other rooms bothered us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Running Lady
Business
Arlington VA
Apr 2, 2014

fine for short stay

I needed a place to stay for one night while visiting my daughter and this met my bare minimum needs. I would not have wanted to stay longer. Free breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cheesehead Traveler
Business
Wausau, Wi
Jul 30, 2013

Retro

If you want a study in hotel styles from the 1960's and 70's, this is for you! I haven't stayed in a hotel that looked like this since I was a kid in the 1970's. Old furniture, pull chain light, pink tile, old striped carpeting, one chair, and dingy walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UVa Florida Mom
Business
Ft. Myers, FL
Jul 19, 2013

Great hotel for the price

The hotel is walking distance to the UVa campus and a great value. Very basic rooms and service but clean and comfortable. I was attending events on the UVa campus and this was an excellent location and price. I will use this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Linda3
Business
NJ
Jun 4, 2013

Snarky staff

The room was actually clean. The bathroom was the cleanest i have seen in a inexpensive hotel in quite a while. But the staff was not nice nor friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billy Joe Jim Bob
Business
Rochester NY
Feb 25, 2013

UVA HOOPS GAME

very good, the place has been ungraded in recent years, new beds, carpet, bathroom flooring, shower, etc, etc, very, very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Justvisitingthisonce
Business
Virginia
Nov 29, 2012

not too bad but not too great.

The heater took 4 hours to heat up the room. It was difficult to get the heat output correct. Two trains went by in the night and woke us up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ygv123
Business
ygv123
Aug 6, 2012

Good

Great location! I recommend it. Definitely going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gmnp
Business
michigan
Jul 15, 2012

what you would expect

It was clean and comfortable enough for the price. Not somewhere I would want to spend a vacation but good enough to crash for the night...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top