Budget Inn

3 stars
View map of 140 Emmet St North, Charlottesville, VA 22903-1729

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Budget Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Matt
Business
Virginia
Sep 5, 2014

Last Minute Trip to Charlottesville

The location is great. It literally touches the UVA campus so its a short walk to the corner and most of campus. The rooms were very basic but clean although my room had a slight odor when I first checked in but it quickly went away. Altogether its a cheap convenient last minute hotel for people visiting UVA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennessee Girl OMG
Business
Crossville Tn
Sep 4, 2014

Side trip!

We arrived later than expected, no problems at check in. The man working the counter was very nice and was able to direct us to a restaurant that was still open... It was quiet, even though it is in between the highway and University of Virginia! Breakfast was good with several selections. We would absolutely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Western Sizzlin is a few miles north of the motel... They have an incredible buffet with every possible type of food you could ask for, very clean and staff was great... open late!

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LadyDi17
Business
Bergenfield, New Jersey
Sep 4, 2014

Good quality for the price

This was a stop off point in our vacation plans. This hotel was adequate and the free breakfast was surprisingly good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Micky Traveler
Business
Tucson, AZ
Aug 29, 2014

One night business trip

Clean room. Mix of old motel + renovations. Tile bathroom was different feel. Water pressure rocked from sink & shower. Walls were a little thin (heard TV from next room). Parking lot was ample & well lit. Location was close to most everything. The value is outstanding especially when you include the continental breakfast in the morning. Fast check in and faster check out. Friendly, personable staff. The diner across the street only had so-so views so I hit Mel's Cafe & was blown away. Bottom line is this is a nice MOTEL not a hotel. This would work for a simple understated stay for anyone. This was a 1 star with great reviews and I'm glad I took the chance. I would do it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mel's Cafe is small but full of flavor. Short order grill, we ordered hot dog & submarine sandwich. Not only was the food awesome but the bread was bakery-fresh delivered that morning. Tried sweet potato pie for the first time. Now i want to make one! Cole slaw rocked. Yelp reviews did not lie. We spent $25 dollars for 2 and i feel like we robbed them.

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Experienced traveler 1234
Business
Fredericksburg, va
Aug 25, 2014

Good location, clean

Friendly staff, right on campus across the street from cavalier inn. Train tracks are right behind but did not bother us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

A mile walk to the restaurant/bar area in campus

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Margaret Best Grannie
Business
Charlottesville
Jul 26, 2014

A great place

Cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at. Bathroom is too small. The employees are the friendliest ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Triplesman
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jul 14, 2014

Inexpensive and close to UVA restaurants

I stayed at the Budget Inn after 300 miles on a motorbike in 95 degree heat of July. The room was clean, had great air conditioning and was within a quarter-mile walk of several restaurants frequented by UVA students. I would certainly stay there again. Friendly staff and safe parking for motorbikes as well as cars. Within about 3 miles of Monticello, which I went to the following morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 1/4 mile

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xf Yuan
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 3, 2014

Good place and very kindly people

The place is just 16min walk away from the place I need to visit in UVa, and it is close to the bus stop. Room is fine, people there are really kindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Don't stay.
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 24, 2014

Don't ever stay here!

My husband and son stayed at Budget inn for 5 days to attend Basketball camp. The hotel has no idea what customer service is. They are INCOMPETANT, rude and disrespectful. I made the reservation and paid in full prior to the trip and the hotel CANCELLED my reservation assuming my husband would pay when he got there. My husband arrived late due to a flight delay, (but allowed my son to check in night before). The next day they locked him and my son out the room and held their belongings hostage for "non payment". We attempted to explain how their staff was at fault, but "John" didn't understand. I attempted to pay over the phone but they wouldn't except it! I had to fax over documents after SEVERAL HOURS of my family waiting in lobby. The next day I see I was charged TWICE for the reservation. I once again call the hotel, "John" refused to help, refused to let me know what happened, why I was charged twice, and REFUSED to give me the managers name and contact info.. He then HUNG UP ON ME!! I called back, he STILL REFUSED TO ASSIST ME and would not allow me to talk to anyone else. My husband had to go straighten them out at the counter. Oh and to top it all off.. They send me a bill for $150 accusing my husband if taking a blanket!! OF COURSE I'm dusputing that! DO NOT STAY AT THIS LOW CLASS HOTEL WITH INCOMPETANT EMPLOYEES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Budget Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mgem
Business
Fort Washington, MD
Jun 9, 2014

Budget hotel in a good location

There was a but of confusion initially because we had two reservations - one for Thursday night and one for Friday and Saturday nights. The desk staff had difficulty finding both. After that mixup, everything was fine and the staff was helpful. Cleaning could be better as we found a sock under the bed while we looked for something that dropped. Ugh. The location is good though. A short drive to restaurants and shopping and to Monticello.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top