$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

The Westin Arlington Gateway

4 stars
801 North Glebe Road, 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
124 reviews
family time

My stay was excellent. Would stay again and again. I would tell my friends and coworker about it. See full review

  • katmc704
  • Dec 2, 2013
We always stay here!

We stay at this hotel every year when we come to visit. All the staff are extremely pleasant and go... See full review

  • Siesta Key
  • Nov 12, 2013
Luxury Arlington hotel near local businesses and restaurants

The Westin Arlington Gateway is located in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. The hotel appeals to Virginia visitors, business travelers and D.C. tourists who prefer visiting the city via the Metro. The nearby Virginia neighborhoods of Clarendon and Alexandria have many restaurants and shops. There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The large, 24-hour gym has treadmills and bikes with individual TVs. The indoor heated pool and whirlpool are in a room with natural light.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds and dual-head showers
  • Themed rooms such as a room with in-room exercise equipment
  • Westin Kids Club has special amenities for families with children 12 and under
Location

The hotel is in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. It is outside of the city but close to major technology and science institutions, including The National Science Foundation. The Ballston Metro station is a two-minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms

Contemporary rooms with Heavenly beds, a bathroom with a dual-head shower and ergonomic desk chairs. Guests can book an in-room spa treatment (fees apply). High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available. Cribs and high chairs are available. The Westin WORKOUT room has in-room fitness equipment (fees apply). Suites have a separate bedroom and living room, sofa bed, two TVs and a dining table. 

Features

The indoor heated pool and whirlpool appeal to guests, as does the 24-hour fitness center.  The hotel offers maps of the area with jogging paths for outdoor exercise. Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge is a modern Italian steakhouse that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner to guests (children's menu offered). There's a Starbucks in the hotel and Starbucks coffee set-up for brewing in-room. Valet parking is available (fees apply). The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Ballston Metro station
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport
Attractions
  • Marymount University (0.1 miles/0.1 km)
  • E*Trade Financial (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Booz Allen Hamilton (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • The Nature Conservancy (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Clarendon shops and restaurants (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Pentagon City Shopping Center (3.2 mi/ 5.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Georgetown University (4.0 miles/6.4 km)
  • The National Mall (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Downtown D.C. (5 mi/8 km)
  • George Mason University/Patriot Center (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • George Washington University (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • United States Capitol (5.5 mi/8 .9 km)
  • Old Town, Alexandria historic district and shops (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Mount Vernon (11.9 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour Business center with fax, copier, high-speed Internet, and color laser jet printing (fees apply)
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Westin Executive Club Rooms
Fees and Policies
  • Valet parking with in and out privileges costs $26 USD per night including tax.
  • Overnight parking rate is $26 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Arlington Gateway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Arlington Gateway Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • The Pentagon: 3.2 mi
  • DEA Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 3.3 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 3.7 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 4.9 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Satisfy your craving with a freshly brewed coffee, mocha, latte or other favorite drink at Starbucks® in our lobby, offering a full complement of snacks and lighter fare items.
Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge
Savor homemade pastas, fresh pizzas, and other Italian-inspired fare at Pinzimini. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus are equally delectable, with something for every taste.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Arlington Gateway

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessie M
Business
New York
Oct 29, 2012

Terrible service

We stayed at this hotel for the Marine Corps Marathon, and were welcomed with a hidden fee of $25 to pay to park, per night (no on the street parking) as well as very unaccomodating front desk staff, who was unhelpful in terms of places to eat early on race day, and no late check in for marathoners (who took up the majority of the hotel) unless you paid an additional $90. They did not offer many options, were rude, and unhelpful. I will never stay at this Westin again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marco Island, FL
Jun 21, 2011

Bad Experience

The hotel was well located for our needs and we had stayed there last year. This year we went for the US Open and the hotel was a big disappointment. The tub did not drain properly, we had no cold water but a dangerous amount of hot. For some reason housekeeping refused to leave soap so we were forced to get by on paper thin soap bars. They did not make up the room until late in the afternoon after I had requested it. Advising the main desk of these problems resulted in no corrective action. I can only conclude that by prepaying for a room results in the worst room in the house with the poorest service. My son ended up with two bed bug bites on his stomach. Not a good experience this trip. Perhaps this property is in financial difficulty and that is why the have deferred maintaince in plumbing and stingy on the soap. I paid the same rate every day but did not receive the same level of expectation every day. Does not sound fair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angelbaby Mom
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Oct 26, 2009

Very Disappointed

Shower Faucett Broken HAD TO USE VALET PARKING Rude Concierge Unaccommodating Front Desk Staff Broken Message Light on Phone- Kept Blinking All Night Refused to give me an itemized bill upon check out-bcause it was a third party billing. Noisy and loud about 2:00-3:00am in the morning in hallway on 14th floor No Continental Breakfast on Club floor offered on weekends Snobby and haughty staff Just a few of the reasons why I will never stay there again while in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gourmet Buns just behind hotel-excellent juicy fantastic hamburgers !!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Philip
Business
Pensacola, Florida
Jul 25, 2012

Hidden Parking Charge Sours Trip

We stayed three nights... the room was fine and was made very well. My biggest complaint is on friday night at midnight when we rolled back in, the valet was nowhere to be found. There was no staff on the floor either... for TWENTY FIVE MINUTES! I had to wait to valet my car until a person finally showed back up at the front desk and they had to park my car. What a ripoff for $24 a day. No where in my reservation or the hotel ads does it say there is a valet only parking fee. I wanted to leave but my reservation was nonrefundable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

CJ Chang

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wander Far
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Nov 5, 2012

Poor for the price

Housekeeping was inadequate. No refills on shampoo, conditioner, in room coffee supplies, used glasses. Weird TV channels: four Fox-tv channels out of the first 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Mar 19, 2010

The Westin Arlington Gateway

over priced hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westville
Sep 1, 2008

Clean, comfy, new hotel but $75/night internet access & small pool are letdowns

The hotel' appearance was very clean and I loved the new building look it has. The staff was very polite and the room itself was in pristine condition. The beds and furniture were new and very comfortable and the 30 LCD HDTV made me feel right at home. It smelled great too - i think they put cologne in the air system like at Abercrombie & Fitch stores. The surrounding city and shops were a definite plus as well - there's a Harris Teeter Pharmacy just a block away which is open 24hrs. Now the bad stuff. I definitely didn't like the $75 per night internet access charge for the non-club suite in which I stayed. The pool was really small with a max capacity of 7 and looked a little on the unclean side. 2 things that really bothered me were the two 500mL complimentary bottles of spring water placed in the room at $4.95 each and the 1L bottle of Clos du Bois red wine priced at $18. 5 bucks for a bottle of water and $18 for a $5.60 bottle of cheap wine? Ridiculous. Overall, my impression was that it was a nice stay and hotel but the side fees for stuff that should be complimentary really detracted from the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Harris Teeter right around the corner is open 24 hours/day and is like a Walmart Supercenter. They sell alcohol too!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Castle Rock
Sep 30, 2008

best option available

The Arlington Gateway Westin hotel was consistenent with the brand with well dressed and polite staff. The room was comparable with high end business-type hotel rooms. No microwave or refrigerator. The closet was modest and mirrored with one luggage stand. The bathroom had plenty of room on the vanity but no bathroom fan. Additionally, there was an in-room coffee maker with Starbuck's coffee provided. There is also a nearly full-service Starbuck's downstairs in the lobby. The bar had a great atmosphere but was limited by the bartender also serving everyone. There is room service but no dining within the hotel. Nearby there is a PF Chang's but not much else within walking distance. Of the options available in this area, it was the best, although the price and value offered weren't consistent. We had numerous problems with the valet parking group. The hotel told us as we complained that they are separately contracted and she apologized profusely for their faults. When we brought our concerns to management, they did everything possible to make up for the service issues. Simply based on that fact, I would return for a stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liebling
Business
Orlando, Florida
Mar 27, 2012

Funeral of family member in Arlington Cemetery

Some staff members answered questions in a rude and condensending manner, especially the day male concierge, and a day male front desk clerk( blonde hair). Perhaps this is due to having barriers with the English language. However, would like to commend the hotel night Security Manager that helped get the room safe fixed in a timely manner. He was kind, considerate, and professional along with understanding English.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If sightseeing get a hotel in the middle of Washington D.C. Do not rent a car. Take a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jul 30, 2010

showing some wear

Rooms are showing some wear, banged up furniture, spots on carpet, and bed covers with dirty spots. I noticed lots of pink bacteria and scale built up in shower heads in both of my rooms. Average housekeeping, definitely not spotless. By comparison, the Westin in Reston Hts, VA was absolutely spotless in housekeeping and had a more friendly staff. Reasonably quiet rooms, with comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top