$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Westin Arlington Gateway

4 stars
801 North Glebe Road, 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
124 reviews
family time

My stay was excellent. Would stay again and again. I would tell my friends and coworker about it. See full review

  • katmc704
  • Dec 2, 2013
We always stay here!

We stay at this hotel every year when we come to visit. All the staff are extremely pleasant and go... See full review

  • Siesta Key
  • Nov 12, 2013
Luxury Arlington hotel near local businesses and restaurants

The Westin Arlington Gateway is located in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. The hotel appeals to Virginia visitors, business travelers and D.C. tourists who prefer visiting the city via the Metro. The nearby Virginia neighborhoods of Clarendon and Alexandria have many restaurants and shops. There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The large, 24-hour gym has treadmills and bikes with individual TVs. The indoor heated pool and whirlpool are in a room with natural light.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds and dual-head showers
  • Themed rooms such as a room with in-room exercise equipment
  • Westin Kids Club has special amenities for families with children 12 and under
Location

The hotel is in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. It is outside of the city but close to major technology and science institutions, including The National Science Foundation. The Ballston Metro station is a two-minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms

Contemporary rooms with Heavenly beds, a bathroom with a dual-head shower and ergonomic desk chairs. Guests can book an in-room spa treatment (fees apply). High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available. Cribs and high chairs are available. The Westin WORKOUT room has in-room fitness equipment (fees apply). Suites have a separate bedroom and living room, sofa bed, two TVs and a dining table. 

Features

The indoor heated pool and whirlpool appeal to guests, as does the 24-hour fitness center.  The hotel offers maps of the area with jogging paths for outdoor exercise. Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge is a modern Italian steakhouse that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner to guests (children's menu offered). There's a Starbucks in the hotel and Starbucks coffee set-up for brewing in-room. Valet parking is available (fees apply). The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Ballston Metro station
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport
Attractions
  • Marymount University (0.1 miles/0.1 km)
  • E*Trade Financial (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Booz Allen Hamilton (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • The Nature Conservancy (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Clarendon shops and restaurants (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Pentagon City Shopping Center (3.2 mi/ 5.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Georgetown University (4.0 miles/6.4 km)
  • The National Mall (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Downtown D.C. (5 mi/8 km)
  • George Mason University/Patriot Center (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • George Washington University (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • United States Capitol (5.5 mi/8 .9 km)
  • Old Town, Alexandria historic district and shops (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Mount Vernon (11.9 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour Business center with fax, copier, high-speed Internet, and color laser jet printing (fees apply)
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Westin Executive Club Rooms
Fees and Policies
  • Valet parking with in and out privileges costs $26 USD per night including tax.
  • Overnight parking rate is $26 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Arlington Gateway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Arlington Gateway Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • The Pentagon: 3.2 mi
  • DEA Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 3.3 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 3.7 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 4.9 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Satisfy your craving with a freshly brewed coffee, mocha, latte or other favorite drink at Starbucks® in our lobby, offering a full complement of snacks and lighter fare items.
Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge
Savor homemade pastas, fresh pizzas, and other Italian-inspired fare at Pinzimini. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus are equally delectable, with something for every taste.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Arlington Gateway

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angelbaby Mom
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Oct 26, 2009

Very Disappointed

Shower Faucett Broken HAD TO USE VALET PARKING Rude Concierge Unaccommodating Front Desk Staff Broken Message Light on Phone- Kept Blinking All Night Refused to give me an itemized bill upon check out-bcause it was a third party billing. Noisy and loud about 2:00-3:00am in the morning in hallway on 14th floor No Continental Breakfast on Club floor offered on weekends Snobby and haughty staff Just a few of the reasons why I will never stay there again while in DC

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gourmet Buns just behind hotel-excellent juicy fantastic hamburgers !!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy Cyn...gle lady
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 21, 2009

Awesome stay

This was my first trip to the DC area, I was there to do all the "touristy" stuff and also visit friends in Maryland and Virginia. The hotel is in a great location, close to metro, great restaurants, bars, mall, bus, etc. I loved the hospitality of the hotel staff. I'm absolutely in love with the heavenly bed and shower. Awesome room and great bath with the most amazing toiletries and mirror... Will definitely stay there again, and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Fabulous restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port St Lucie, FL
Oct 20, 2009

Great location for the price.

Hotel and staff were very efficient. I was there for a burial at Arlington, so the location was great. The hotel is in walking distance to many interesting places to eat. Vending machines (for soda, etc) should be added to each floor by ice machines. Starbucks in the lobby closes at 7pm, which I thought was a little early. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Enjoyable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mall is not worth the walk. Many stores are vacant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tbwhidden
Business
Tennessee
Oct 19, 2009

Vacation in a Flash

The rooms are nice and very clean, but you can tell that the most expense is in the atmosphere. There is always someone there to assist you with anything. Having a young child, the staff was super friendly and really made my little boy feel special unlike some hotels where the staff pretends to not see the child.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a mall with a food area in it about two blocks from the hotel walking back toward the Metro Station. It has 2 restaurants that we really enjoyed (Chevey's Fresh Mex and Noodles).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woman Travelor
Business
Pensacola, FL
Oct 14, 2009

Wonderful hotel

I stayed two nights at the hotel, it was just a few steps to restaurants and my meeting location. Quiet, clean and I felt safe. A bit noisy on the 4th floor but that's to be expected. I checked in early and took the room that was available at that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PF Changs across the street, great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portsmouth, VA
Sep 11, 2009

Nice Hotel

When we first checked in we were amazed at how beautiful it was. The lady that checked us in had a very cold personality and kind of gave us the cold shoulder. We got a room on the 12th floor with a great view. When the porter opened the door we were flooded with paint fumes. It was so bad that within a few minutes we all had headaches. We went downstairs to request a new room and the young guy that was at the front desk acted like we really put him out and wasn't sympathetic at all. Our bags were still in the original room and we told him that we needed our stuff. He said that "if" someone was around he'd send them. In the mean time he re-programed the keys from our old room to our new room so we couldn't access our stuff if we wanted too. We went back up to the 12th floor and found someone that worked on the floor and they let us in. He told us that they were staining the furniture a few floors down and the smell was traveling. I can't believe that they would put is in that room knowing that. Once we got to our final room it had zero fumes and was wonderful. Like others have said the parking is $22 a day but the mall is one block away and during the week it's a maximum charge of $8 for up to 24 hours and only $1 on the weekend. The metro is about 2 blocks away and very convenient. We tried the pool once and was disappointed because it was too cold to even get into. It also was very cloudy??? The room was beautiful and very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We tried the pizza restaurant around the corner under the hotel (across from the mall) called Vapiano. It was DELICIOUS. It is as close to authentic Sicilian food as you can get (we moved from Sicily one year ago). The prices are pretty reasonable and everything we tried was perfectly done. One day we decided to go to the zoo and drove instead of taking the metro which was a big MISTAKE. Parking was $20 per car but the zoo was free. The metro was only about 2 blocks away from the zoo and what I'll take next time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Aug 24, 2009

Great place for my DC visit

Everything was quite enjoyable. At times, I did notice there werent enough people working the check-in desk so I had to wait a bit. Other then that, it was a great stay. Tons of places to eat close by. Starbucks inside the hotel was great. Metro station a mere 5 minute walk from the hotel. The ride from the Metro station to the DC area (Smithsonian stop) was about a 15 minute ride. Overall, It was a great place and would stay again if visiting the DC or surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the Metro- Dont drive into DC. The metro will leave you smack in the middle of all the main attractions: Lincoln Memorial, Capital building, Washington Monument.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK CITY
Aug 23, 2009

excellent

Excellent staff, very clean rooms, clean lobby, airy and light. Would go back to this hotel for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 16, 2009

good value for the Orbitz rates

10 minutes walk to the metro station. Room was very clean, modern bath room but one of the dual shower head was deficient and was not repaired despite our claim. Otherwise super clean, modern, all up to date and having a Starbuck place connected to the lobby helps to start the day. No parking around the hotel...you have to use the valet parking of the Westin at a $22.00 charge per day (this should have been mentioned in the hotel info) Best beds equal to those you'd find at Sofitel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colonial Visitor
Business
Nevada
Aug 3, 2009

Very clean

Great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top