$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Westin Arlington Gateway

4 stars
801 North Glebe Road, 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
124 reviews
family time

My stay was excellent. Would stay again and again. I would tell my friends and coworker about it. See full review

  • katmc704
  • Dec 2, 2013
We always stay here!

We stay at this hotel every year when we come to visit. All the staff are extremely pleasant and go... See full review

  • Siesta Key
  • Nov 12, 2013
Luxury Arlington hotel near local businesses and restaurants

The Westin Arlington Gateway is located in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. The hotel appeals to Virginia visitors, business travelers and D.C. tourists who prefer visiting the city via the Metro. The nearby Virginia neighborhoods of Clarendon and Alexandria have many restaurants and shops. There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The large, 24-hour gym has treadmills and bikes with individual TVs. The indoor heated pool and whirlpool are in a room with natural light.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds and dual-head showers
  • Themed rooms such as a room with in-room exercise equipment
  • Westin Kids Club has special amenities for families with children 12 and under
Location

The hotel is in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. It is outside of the city but close to major technology and science institutions, including The National Science Foundation. The Ballston Metro station is a two-minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms

Contemporary rooms with Heavenly beds, a bathroom with a dual-head shower and ergonomic desk chairs. Guests can book an in-room spa treatment (fees apply). High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available. Cribs and high chairs are available. The Westin WORKOUT room has in-room fitness equipment (fees apply). Suites have a separate bedroom and living room, sofa bed, two TVs and a dining table. 

Features

The indoor heated pool and whirlpool appeal to guests, as does the 24-hour fitness center.  The hotel offers maps of the area with jogging paths for outdoor exercise. Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge is a modern Italian steakhouse that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner to guests (children's menu offered). There's a Starbucks in the hotel and Starbucks coffee set-up for brewing in-room. Valet parking is available (fees apply). The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Ballston Metro station
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport
Attractions
  • Marymount University (0.1 miles/0.1 km)
  • E*Trade Financial (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Booz Allen Hamilton (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • The Nature Conservancy (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Clarendon shops and restaurants (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Pentagon City Shopping Center (3.2 mi/ 5.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Georgetown University (4.0 miles/6.4 km)
  • The National Mall (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Downtown D.C. (5 mi/8 km)
  • George Mason University/Patriot Center (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • George Washington University (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • United States Capitol (5.5 mi/8 .9 km)
  • Old Town, Alexandria historic district and shops (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Mount Vernon (11.9 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour Business center with fax, copier, high-speed Internet, and color laser jet printing (fees apply)
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Westin Executive Club Rooms
Fees and Policies
  • Valet parking with in and out privileges costs $26 USD per night including tax.
  • Overnight parking rate is $26 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Arlington Gateway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Arlington Gateway Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • The Pentagon: 3.2 mi
  • DEA Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 3.3 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 3.7 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 4.9 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Satisfy your craving with a freshly brewed coffee, mocha, latte or other favorite drink at Starbucks® in our lobby, offering a full complement of snacks and lighter fare items.
Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge
Savor homemade pastas, fresh pizzas, and other Italian-inspired fare at Pinzimini. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus are equally delectable, with something for every taste.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Arlington Gateway

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Pleasant, MI
May 25, 2010

The wonderful Westin

My wife and I spent our fifth wedding anniversary at the Westin Arlington Gateway Hotel while visiting washington DC, the Hotel was very nice and we had a wonderful stay. Very friendly and helpful people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is within 2 blocks of several dining locations and a brew pub. There is also a resturaunt in the hotel that is pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
May 19, 2010

Very clean but a lot of hidden extras

Very close to DC-clean rooms very quiet nice staff-but then they hit you with oh by the way $22/nt valet service-rip off, no frig, no micro, no internet, that's $10/nt, when your're paying 200/nt this adds upwouldn't stay again-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
psusmith
Business
Hanover, PA
Apr 20, 2010

Westin Weekend

We reserved the special package that included breakfast but the person checking us in didn't give us the coupons or instructions that we needed. The room temp was way too hot and we had trouble with the temp but after we called it was quickly corrected. We had to ask twice for the valet to get us a cab. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was amazing and the service there wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Larrapin' Larry
Business
Ft. Worth, Texas
Apr 17, 2010

Outstanding Hotel

Got to go to the Executive Club--very nice. Room was perfect! Only 2 blocks from great Ballston Mall and same to Ballstono Metro Station for easy trips about the entire area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando FL
Apr 13, 2010

Great location and nice hotel

Wonderful surroundings and I love the hotel, my only complaint was they were overbooked the first of my 3 night stay and they tried to bump me to another location for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

PF Changs is right across from hotel and Starbucks in the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SomMama
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 6, 2010

Great in every way

Great location for destinations within walking distance or via public transit. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms, clean quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Santa Maria, Ca
Apr 4, 2010

our stay

We had a wonderful time and there service was great! Close to the metro and the mall. I would stay there again. The beds where so comforable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jimbo baggins
Business
Allentown Pa.
Apr 4, 2010

Good time at the Westin in D.C.

Everything was perfect. A short walk to the Metro which took us everywhere in D.C. we wanted to go. Easy valet parking, which had your car ready in minutes when ever you needed it. A great in house restaurant with impeccable service and fantastic food. A five mile groomed jogging trail just across the street. I would return to the Westin and recommend it to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
K TOWN Canada
Apr 4, 2010

Great location if a CAPS fan

We enjoyed our trip from start to finish. The staff were very helpfull and accommodating. Great loction, right next to the Washington Capitals practice arena (Ballston Mall) 8th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

15 minutes from anything your heart desires

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. T.
Business
Pensacola, Florida
Apr 1, 2010

Nice, convenient hotel

Clean, convenient hotel in a great location! Very close to the metro. Made our stay in Washington a wonderful experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top