$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

The Westin Arlington Gateway

4 stars
801 North Glebe Road, 801 North Glebe Road, Arlington, VA 22203
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
124 reviews
family time

My stay was excellent. Would stay again and again. I would tell my friends and coworker about it. See full review

  • katmc704
  • Dec 2, 2013
We always stay here!

We stay at this hotel every year when we come to visit. All the staff are extremely pleasant and go... See full review

  • Siesta Key
  • Nov 12, 2013
Luxury Arlington hotel near local businesses and restaurants

The Westin Arlington Gateway is located in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. The hotel appeals to Virginia visitors, business travelers and D.C. tourists who prefer visiting the city via the Metro. The nearby Virginia neighborhoods of Clarendon and Alexandria have many restaurants and shops. There are restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. The large, 24-hour gym has treadmills and bikes with individual TVs. The indoor heated pool and whirlpool are in a room with natural light.

Highlights
  • Heavenly beds and dual-head showers
  • Themed rooms such as a room with in-room exercise equipment
  • Westin Kids Club has special amenities for families with children 12 and under
Location

The hotel is in the Ballston neighborhood of Arlington, Virginia. It is outside of the city but close to major technology and science institutions, including The National Science Foundation. The Ballston Metro station is a two-minute walk from the hotel.

Rooms

Contemporary rooms with Heavenly beds, a bathroom with a dual-head shower and ergonomic desk chairs. Guests can book an in-room spa treatment (fees apply). High-speed Internet access (fees apply) is available. Cribs and high chairs are available. The Westin WORKOUT room has in-room fitness equipment (fees apply). Suites have a separate bedroom and living room, sofa bed, two TVs and a dining table. 

Features

The indoor heated pool and whirlpool appeal to guests, as does the 24-hour fitness center.  The hotel offers maps of the area with jogging paths for outdoor exercise. Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge is a modern Italian steakhouse that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner to guests (children's menu offered). There's a Starbucks in the hotel and Starbucks coffee set-up for brewing in-room. Valet parking is available (fees apply). The hotel has a pet policy (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Ballston Metro station
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
  • Baltimore Washington International Airport
Attractions
  • Marymount University (0.1 miles/0.1 km)
  • E*Trade Financial (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Booz Allen Hamilton (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • The Nature Conservancy (0.1 miles/0.2 km)
  • Clarendon shops and restaurants (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Arlington National Cemetery (2.1 mi/ 3.4 km)
  • Pentagon City Shopping Center (3.2 mi/ 5.2 km)
  • Georgetown (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Georgetown University (4.0 miles/6.4 km)
  • The National Mall (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Downtown D.C. (5 mi/8 km)
  • George Mason University/Patriot Center (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • George Washington University (5.0 miles/8.1 km)
  • United States Capitol (5.5 mi/8 .9 km)
  • Old Town, Alexandria historic district and shops (6.3 mi/10.1 km)
  • Mount Vernon (11.9 mi/19.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour Business center with fax, copier, high-speed Internet, and color laser jet printing (fees apply)
  • 10,000 square feet of meeting space
  • Westin Executive Club Rooms
Fees and Policies
  • Valet parking with in and out privileges costs $26 USD per night including tax.
  • Overnight parking rate is $26 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Arlington Gateway also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Westin Arlington Gateway Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Cribs available
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 1.1 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 1.7 mi
  • Fort Myer: 2 mi
  • Arlington House: 2.3 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 2.5 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 2.5 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 2.5 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 2.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 2.7 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 2.7 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 2.7 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 3.1 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 3.2 mi
  • The Pentagon: 3.2 mi
  • DEA Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 3.3 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3.4 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 3.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 3.7 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 4.9 mi

Dining

Starbucks®
Satisfy your craving with a freshly brewed coffee, mocha, latte or other favorite drink at Starbucks® in our lobby, offering a full complement of snacks and lighter fare items.
Pinzimini Restaurant and Lounge
Savor homemade pastas, fresh pizzas, and other Italian-inspired fare at Pinzimini. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus are equally delectable, with something for every taste.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Arlington Gateway

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 21, 2010

Penn State Family reunion

We enjoy this hotel. For the first time we ate at the hotel restaurant. The food and service were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is the best way to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 15, 2010

very comfortable

The hotel is very well kept, neat, clean, attractive; seems to be well located, though we used it for access to friends nearby, very friendly staff, etc. has an indoor mall one block away, many good restaurants nearby. No complaints

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
odubo
Business
toronto
Aug 8, 2010

Everything was good

great 4 star hotel for a 2 star price, i loved everything about the room, from the computer chair to the little sample body lotion in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are spending the weekend save money on parking by parking on the side of the road (Glebe drive) the parking is free on weekend and cheaper on weekdays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MN
Jul 30, 2010

showing some wear

Rooms are showing some wear, banged up furniture, spots on carpet, and bed covers with dirty spots. I noticed lots of pink bacteria and scale built up in shower heads in both of my rooms. Average housekeeping, definitely not spotless. By comparison, the Westin in Reston Hts, VA was absolutely spotless in housekeeping and had a more friendly staff. Reasonably quiet rooms, with comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dry fork, va
Jul 25, 2010

NICE experience

Very Good experience except for one attendant ignored my question re;parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Jul 12, 2010

Good place to stay

The staff was friendly, courteous, and always bent over backwards to accommodate my wife and I. This is my first experience at a Westin, as we typically stay at Marriotts, but we found this one definitely on par. Pool and whirlpool were clean and large, beds were comfy, and Starbucks in the room. Short walking distance to many good restaurants, the Mall, Cinema, and the Metro. Complaints: $22 for overnight parking was a little ridiculous. There were better options, like the mall around the corner, but our time was tight and we were in-and-out a lot. No included breakfast, but we bring our own, so not a big deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out Vapiano (Italian) around the corner for a quick, delicious meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cableape
Business
Wildomar, Ca
Jul 10, 2010

Great Hotel

My wife and I spent a full week here and we are pleased to say that we highly recommend The Westin Arlington Gateway. The staff was always ready to help with anything you may need, the hotel is clean, and is only a 5 minute walk to the metro. Our 1 and only complaint is that the pool is indoors and the room was so hot and humid we couldn't comfortably use it. That being said, I will recommend this hotel to anyone thinking about spending time in the Arlington Va/DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ted's Montana Grill is a short walk and is a great place for lunch or dinner. Try the bison burgers! Or you can build your own burger at Big Buns Gourmet Grill, also only a short walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Jul 8, 2010

Nice Room, no fridge or mini-bar

Went to DC for fourth of July fireworks. Hotel is 2 blocks from metro and 7 stops from mall. Concierge was OK. Our nine year old loved the free apple in the reception area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Get the hop on hop off tour-valid for 2 days and they pick you up right at the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Soloflyer
Business
Winston-Salem, NC
Jul 6, 2010

The perfect place to say

I loved the location. Plenty of restaurants although the restaurant in the hotel was fabulous. The place was in a safe neighborhood, close to the Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Arlington Gateway

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chram
Business
Florida
Jul 5, 2010

nice vacation

This hotel was convenient to the Metro Station train - easy to find and has lots of extras. Pet friendly, but no pet residue within the hotel or surroundings. A+ for the type of cleanliness and class this hotel establishment offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top