$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
69 reviews
Great Trip!

This hotel is very clean. The staff were very friendly, and they offer free lemonade, coffee, and... See full review

  • Allen.
  • May 15, 2015
Great Hotel!

This hotel is very great. The staff were friendly, and very nice. The location itself maybe a bit... See full review

  • Allen.
  • May 12, 2015
The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Collection hotel is minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., nestled in the beautiful, trendy district of Rosslyn in Arlington, VA. The Rosslyn Metro Station, shops and restaurants are only a five-minute walk away. Arlington Cemetery and Ft Myer are only two blocks away, and Pentagon and NFATC are just a short drive down the road. This all-suite property with residential style studio and one-bedroom suites from 450 to 650 square feet, all with full kitchens, offers free wireless high-speed Internet, Direct TV, 24-hour fitness center, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and weekday shuttle service to Rosslyn Metro, Safeway and NFATC. Enjoy our catered pizza party every Wednesday evening. As of 02/13/15 all parking charges: 14 USD per night.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

★★★
$71
3.6 / 5 266 reviews
★★★★
$92
4.0 / 5 201 reviews
★★★★
$84
4.1 / 5 89 reviews
★★★★
$87
4.5 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$79
3.9 / 5 284 reviews
★★★
$93
4.1 / 5 121 reviews
★★★
$109
4.4 / 5 30 reviews
★★★★
$89
4.2 / 5 436 reviews

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 4 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boontown, NJ
Jul 13, 2011

Arf!

Not unless you absolutely have to. It's cheap I suppose. But then again most crack dens are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ironside
Couples
Virginia
Feb 17, 2014

Wow... Kind of scary.

I read a few reviews... it said the place was nice and safe... They were right about nice... not about safe. Within 10 minutes of arriving, someone had gotten robbed. Cops all over the place. Parking was scarce, I guess they didn't expect people because they didn't really clear their parking of all the snow. The room was very nice though for the low low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jlbledsoe
Business
Menlo Park, CA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Location bad, no room service and few restaurants nearby...

The price is right, but location location location, ugh! There is no restaurant in the hotel and there's only one close to the hotel, others are a good walk away (on the plus side, you can order delivery and then store leftovers in the fridge, there's a kitchen with stove, fridge, and microwave), and even worse, getting to DC locations is tough, taxi or driving is more convenient...but a times the wait for a taxi was pretty long. I will not be using the Venetian Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AK the Travel Guru
Single
San Antonio, TX
Oct 23, 2012

Pictures way better than the real thing.

When you first arrive this place looks old and moldy. The rooms arent much better. The rooms are so big that the AC does not really reach you. The quality of the TV in my room was horrible. I couldn't watch anything really. The bed was lumpy and the whole place smelled a little dank. I would not stay here again even though the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Get the shuttle to the metro, this is not the are you want to be walking in at night. There are no street lights over much of the path.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
May 26, 2008

Unpleasant Experience

This hotel seemed somewhat neglected. We could not close the bathroom door, as it seem to have been put on backwards. The entire room appeared less than clean (including kitchenette) & I would not go back, nor would I recommend it. The staff at check-in were unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Monuments

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Average but adequate

Staff was courteous. This is an old apartment building converted to a hotel so the rooms have efficiencies. Nice concept, but odd layouts and ancient elevator system. Tiny cars so only one luggage cart and one person at a time. The maid staff also uses the same 2 elevators, so one cart and one maid at a time. Don't stay above the 4th floor in this 10 story building because it will take you forever to get to your room and get to the lobby to leave or check out. No ice machines in the building and only 3 vending machines in the lobby. Yes, you have to take the elevator again from 10 to the first floor just to get a bottle of water. Plan accordingly!! Pool was nice but the lounge chair cushions are old and faded and they do not provide additional or larger size towels. Parking is limited and if coming back to the hotel late it doesn't feel safe to park around the side, it's very dark on the walk around to the front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Request to stay on the 4th floor or lower so you can use the back entrance up the hill or use the stairs to maneuver in & out of the hotel more quickly.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
All business Chris
Business
Doylestown, Pa
Feb 13, 2014

Quick work trip

The staff was friendly and helpful when I arrived. When I got into the room I noticed that I could hear everything going on in the other rooms. There were loud conversations that didn't stop all night and you could hear the cooking happening directly next door. The sink in my room had something left over from the previous visitor and I'm not sure what it was, but it slightly resembled throw up or something. I has a quick couple hours of sleep in the room and left early in the morning. I would have definitely complained if I was in there for a longer period of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EBeatricee
Single
Raleigh
Apr 24, 2014

Disappointment

One needed a Voucher in order to enjoy breakfast in the morning. What a disappointment! Gym was super small and basic. It was also so noisy throughout the evening and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krtravels
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Good but not great

Good parts; Comfortable room, easy walk to Metro, excellent business center w/ great access, decent gym, good restaurant w/in walking distance, housekeeping service excellent, most front desk staff courteous and helpful. Bad parts: Does not offer continental breakfast to Orbitz customers in spite of ad to contrary, some food smells in hallway. One front desk clerk was arrogant and officious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vist the Quarterdeck Grill a little more than one-quarter mile up the hill from the hotel for good food, decent drinks and a great informal atmosphere.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CavRangr
Couples
Fort Knox, KY
Apr 4, 2012

A Good Hotel

The Virginia Sweets is a decent hotel that offers just what you need for your tourist’s stay in DC. It wasn’t outstanding, it wasn’t terrible. The staff do seem to need a little motivation and training as they made a few mistakes during our stay and certainly weren’t willing to go out of their way for the guests but nothing major. Really good location, pretty much what you NEED in a hotel, nothing luxurious, but we didn’t spend much time there anyway- as we were off sightseeing. DC was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway system from the metro stration a short walk from the hotel. Its one of the best I'v seen during my travels. Schedule your tours of the capitol bldg and white house with your state reps a few months in advance if possible.

Back to menu Return to top