$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
77 reviews
Great Location for Sightseeing

Hotel is in a great location. We did not have a car during the stay and found this very convenient.... See full review

  • Suzette S.
  • Jan 23, 2015
There when we needed them

We have always been in Arlington to see our daughter and son-in-law. It is very convenient and very... See full review

  • INDYTraveler99
  • Dec 31, 2014
The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Collection hotel is minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., nestled in the beautiful, trendy district of Rosslyn in Arlington, VA. The Rosslyn Metro Station, shops and restaurants are only a five-minute walk away. Arlington Cemetery and Ft Myer are only two blocks away, and Pentagon and NFATC are just a short drive down the road. This all-suite property with residential style studio and one-bedroom suites from 450 to 650 square feet, all with full kitchens, offers free wireless high-speed Internet, Direct TV, 24-hour fitness center, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and weekday shuttle service to Rosslyn Metro, Safeway and NFATC. Enjoy our catered pizza party every Wednesday evening. As of 02/13/15 all parking charges: 14 USD per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 4 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 77
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
May 1, 2007

Virginian Suites

I stayed at the Virginian Suites for 5 days, pleasant enough, has a full kitchen, gym and pool although access was slightly difficult to get. The hotel is located 5 mins from the Rosslyn station, not too bad when you get the shuttle to the station and back. No food in the hotel is a drag, but like i said, i had a kitchen so it is my own fault if i went hungry. Good value overall, I recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Dec 16, 2009

A gem

This is a great hotel, with helpful staff. The best value in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fittress
Business
Vancouver, not BC, Washington, not DC.
Feb 14, 2014

DC Great Location!

You cannot beat the location for the DC Mall, Arlington and downtown. Shuttle every 30 minutes to Metro station which is only 4 blocks away, an easy walk with pedestrian crossings and a small park with art to enjoy. An older property but with over the top amenities, wonderful and prompt staff. Huge rooms with crisp white bedding on cloud soft mattresses. Staff was the best! Kitchen was a bonus that vacationers could take advantage of, stocked with everything from wine glasses to salt and pepper shakers! A travelers dream as layout of room makes for a very quiet stay. Of the three trips I have recently made to DC, this was a very pleasant stay and the most budget friendly. Coffee in the room as well as full beverage service in lobby. Fruit bowls in lobby all day and cookies in the afternoon. My early schedule did not allow for trying the weekday continental breakfast. I will be using this hotel again when visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the full kitchen for a meal or two. CVS has lots of meal options with freezer and cold case.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eunice
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2007

Good value

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the accomodations. As a solo traveler I had much more space than needed for one. Only stayed one night but this property would work well for a family looking to fix some meals on site. Full kitchen - fair size dining space and living room. Cleanliness acceptable though carpet seemed in need of replacement. Lobby set up might be difficult for anyone with physical limitations. After entering from front entrance, I had to lift my luggage up over 5 - 6 stairs to reach the check in desk. A ramp is needed. The clerk did offer to call someone to carry my luggage - but I managed it alone. All in all good value for budget minded travelers and families. Limited shuttle service so I relied on taxi to metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Apr 27, 2010

A gem

We were likely the oldest person's there (in our early 50's) & the place was swarming w/ young adults, however, it was clean while a little aged, friendly & they upgraded us to a lovely suite. A great deal & we would easily recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
melnasser
Business
dearborn, mi
Mar 14, 2012

Virginian Suites

I thought this hotel was really nice. It was quiet, the room was spacious, including a walk-in closet. The bed was very comfortable and everything seemed clean. The kitchen was much more than expected. Full fridge, stove, microwave, with can opener and the like to make your stay more home-y. I really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UNKNOWN MAN
Business
Arlighton
Nov 12, 2012

Good Price and Location

Price was great and has a shuttle to the metro. The metro is only about a .4 mile walk anyways and only 3 stops to central DC. I'd take that anyday that 3 times the price in the heart of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWDC
Business
Clearwater, FL
Dec 17, 2012

Excellent Value Great Location

This is a great place to stay, close to everything and a good value. It is an older hotel, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Common areas could use a little sprucing up. If you are looking for value and location this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The rex factor
Business
Glenolden, Pa.
Nov 16, 2010

Very nice

very clean. Full kitchen and refrigerator which I did not expect. Walking distance to grocery store and other restaurants. friendly staff. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take the metro if it is to far to walk. parking is at a premium. Most places don't have a parking lot and you have to park on the street. The metro will get you everywhere and its cheap.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Good Value

Very comfortable room. Kitchen was fully stocked. Room was quiet. Excellent location- close to Roslyn Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top