$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trmi
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 18, 2007

Worth the Money

Can't beat the price. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The Virginian Suites was a 10 minute walk to the Metro station and they also provided a shuttle to and from at no cost. The suite was roomy but could of used some updating especially the carpet. I liked the fact that they provided 2 TVs. My wife and I don't like the same shows/channels. I would stay at the Virginian Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to the Metro and 5-8 minute cab ride to DC landmarks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2010

Great 4th July weekend!

We had a wedding weekend with lots of friends and family at the hotel. The rooms were spacious with all the necessities and a big convenience to have the kitchen facilities for chilled beverages and snacks. Some family used the pool (which didn't open until 10 am) and enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful and they provided us with lots of tips for the 4th July traffic and crowds. My only complaint was the quality of the pillows which were all dense foam with no soft pillow options in the room. The location was great and I would stay there again for the convenience, with metro only a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jan 19, 2011

Great room

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was very large!Although the hotel is older and was obviously an apartment building convertend into a hotel, the room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. It is a bit of a walk to find food but Wilson Street is 2 minutes away by car and there are lots of great restaurants there. There is a free shuttle to the metro which will take you to Washington DC. We also enjoyed the free internet. I wish we had stayed longer so I could really enjoy this wonderful suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 1, 2010

great value and location, especially for

While the rugs showed wear, the bath towels were as thick as I've ever used. Great location to Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
Apr 20, 2010

Will stay there again

The staff was very friendly. Was surprised that we were right next to the Memorial to Marines and Arlington National Cementary. The metro was an easy walk to although the directions from the metro were a little off. Go right to get out of the metro then take a left until you go over a highway, then take the pathway on your right. The suites are approx. 100 yards from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
May 7, 2010

Great hotel in Arlington

Very good romm with kitchen facilities which was really handy for meals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GIGIGI
Business
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Aug 22, 2014

Comfortable and Convenient

Virginian Suites is conveniently close to the Rosslyn Metro stop, which links you to almost anywhere in the DC area. The hotel provides free shuttle to and from the Metro. Free breakfast and coffee all day are included. The hotel has a smallish gym and a nice pool. The area is very safe. All rooms include a small kitchen, and there is a Safeway supermarket in walking distance. The hotel has a self-service coin laundry (you'll need quarters). Staff members are very nice & helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Kennedy Center Millennium Stage offers a FREE music/dance performance every evening at 6pm. Just take the Metro one stop to Foggy Bottom. You can walk; the Kennedy Center also offers a shuttle service to and from the Foggy Bottom Metro. The shows last about an hour and are delightful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
showard
Business
Maputo, Mozambique
Aug 27, 2014

Spacious Hotel in Arlington

I have stayed here on several occasions, from short-term to a couple of weeks, solo and with family and pets. Every experience has been great. It is perfect if you want a kitchen, which is stocked with all things you'd need to cook, with a decent-sized refrigerator. And the room size is very nice, with huge closets and plenty of storage space. The check-in folks are great, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are always nice and clean. The *only* real complaint I have is that their door does not automatically open, so when you have bags it can get tricky, and they have several stairs that you must climb just to get to the elevator. Again, very tricky when you have a bag, kids, etc. But, they will carry them up for you. There is a great kids' park just across the street, some of the rooms have pretty views, and the location is just off of Hwy 50. Not the closest to restaurants, I wouldn't say that Rosslyn has the best food choices, but there are places, mostly for the lunch crowd, and it is walkable if you don't have a car. The Metro shuttle is very convenient and they take you to the grocery store! Nice old building with this walls, keeping the neighbors' sound to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Quarterdeck, which is just up the hill from the hotel, is a great hangout place, and they have Maryland crabs, when in season. Whack away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dog woman
Business
Detroit, mi
Sep 29, 2014

Great location

Staff was really helpful. The shuttle took us to the metro and to/from a local restaurant. The kitchen saved us money on a few meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Iwo Jima memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Butcher10
Business
Carmel, IN
Dec 2, 2014

DC via Arlington

great place, wont look for anywhere else to stay now that I've stayed here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top