$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
67 reviews
Great place!

The room was huge - it was basically like a small apartment. Very comfortable bed, too. See full review

  • User2000
  • Jul 1, 2013
Surprisingly amazing

When I first booked this hotel, I thought it wouldn't be great as its very close to everything in... See full review

  • Irishdude
  • Apr 15, 2013
The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Collection hotel is minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., nestled in the beautiful, trendy district of Rosslyn in Arlington, VA. The Rosslyn Metro Station, shops and restaurants are only a five-minute walk away. Arlington Cemetery and Ft Myer are only two blocks away, and Pentagon and NFATC are just a short drive down the road. This all-suite property with residential style studio and one-bedroom suites from 450 to 650 square feet, all with full kitchens, offers free wireless high-speed Internet, Direct TV, 24-hour fitness center, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and weekday shuttle service to Rosslyn Metro, Safeway and NFATC. Enjoy our catered pizza party every Wednesday evening. Parking charge: 12 USD per night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.8908 -77.0741
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Arpt, (DCA), 4.00, MI, S; Dulles Int'l Airport, (IAD), 24.40, MI, NW; Baltimore / Wash. Intl Arpt, (BWI), 35.40, MI, NE;
Area description
Airport, Rt 50 @ Ft Myer

Nearby points of interest

  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 4 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (67)

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
krtravels
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Good but not great

Good parts; Comfortable room, easy walk to Metro, excellent business center w/ great access, decent gym, good restaurant w/in walking distance, housekeeping service excellent, most front desk staff courteous and helpful. Bad parts: Does not offer continental breakfast to Orbitz customers in spite of ad to contrary, some food smells in hallway. One front desk clerk was arrogant and officious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vist the Quarterdeck Grill a little more than one-quarter mile up the hill from the hotel for good food, decent drinks and a great informal atmosphere.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
expat2007
Business
North Carolina
Nov 17, 2012

Decent stay, clean rooms, unfriendly staff

Not luxurious but the room and the hotel are clean enough for me to stay there again. The hotel staff (especially the young white male) are rude, though. The kind of behavior they exhibit towards non-native speakers is almost never seen by me before (except when I go to rural areas deep in the South).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have free pizza on 3rd floor on Wednesday but the front desk staff will not tell you about it!!!

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 14, 2010

reasonably priced, but not luxurious

Staff was very friendly and housekeeping did a good job. The kitchenette was a convenience and was clean and well kept. This is not a new hotel and as long as you're OK with that you'll have a good stay. For the price it's in a very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
Mommy
illinois
May 30, 2012

Family gathering

It was great. Except the cleaning crew.. And the lights weren't working well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
All business Chris
Business
Doylestown, Pa
Feb 13, 2014

Quick work trip

The staff was friendly and helpful when I arrived. When I got into the room I noticed that I could hear everything going on in the other rooms. There were loud conversations that didn't stop all night and you could hear the cooking happening directly next door. The sink in my room had something left over from the previous visitor and I'm not sure what it was, but it slightly resembled throw up or something. I has a quick couple hours of sleep in the room and left early in the morning. I would have definitely complained if I was in there for a longer period of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
Branda
Montreal, Canada
May 18, 2010

Great location and price

The location of the hotel was right next to the Arlington cemetery and 5 minutes away from a metro station (metro Rosslyn). This metro station could get you to the White House, the National Mall, or Capitol Hill in no time. The hotel was very clean and the service very friendly. The bathroom needs updating but otherwise, is very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
dcritter
Palm City FL
May 31, 2012

It's not like the comforts of home

This was a nice hotel but lacked the luster I expected for the price we paid and from the reviews and listing I looked at before booking. The complimentary breakfast actually costs 12.00. We weren't told they offered only coffee in the morning until the very last day we were there. However, the room was clean, very neatly decorated & centrally located to some of the points of interest we wanted to visit. I probably wouldn't come back here simply because it was more costly than what my friends paid for better accommodations that included more perks than we got. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
somewhere
Jul 25, 2010

Decent hotel

The hotel could use some freshening up, especially for its price. And from the description, it's not in a historic district, unless the 1970's is historic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
CavRangr
Fort Knox, KY
Apr 4, 2012

A Good Hotel

The Virginia Sweets is a decent hotel that offers just what you need for your tourist’s stay in DC. It wasn’t outstanding, it wasn’t terrible. The staff do seem to need a little motivation and training as they made a few mistakes during our stay and certainly weren’t willing to go out of their way for the guests but nothing major. Really good location, pretty much what you NEED in a hotel, nothing luxurious, but we didn’t spend much time there anyway- as we were off sightseeing. DC was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the subway system from the metro stration a short walk from the hotel. Its one of the best I'v seen during my travels. Schedule your tours of the capitol bldg and white house with your state reps a few months in advance if possible.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
Simple Country Doctor
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Good basic accommodations

The staff at the front desk was friendly and professional. I checked in before noon without a hassle, but I was too late to try the continental breakfast and l left too early the next day, too. I stayed in a clean, spacious studio apartment with a full kitchen. Free wireless Internet in the room, or use the Ethernet cable. The fitness center has a few treadmills and elliptical machines; no weights. The outdoor pool is only open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. The biggest negative is it's hard to find location, although it's just around the corner from one of the main gates to Fort Meyers. It's probably commendable principally for couples or small families who have business at Fort Meyers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quarterdeck Lounge - a simple country tavern with terrific home-style crab cakes and Chesapeake Bay steamed crabs.

Back to menu Return to top