$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 1, 2015 Check-out: May 2, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Sep 28, 2010

[...]

good experience.large room with kitchen.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jychew
Business
Sacramento,Calif
Jun 11, 2011

great location

Our main purpose was to attend the graduation of my son from the FBI academy in Quantico so we added a few more days to visit Washington DC area. We had rented a car since Quantico is about 35 minutes away so the parking fee of $9.00 per day seemed high. The hotel is close to the freeway entrances but it was confusing to get onto the right one -- even with the GPS. The hotel has a shuttle to the metro which is convenient. The staff were helpful and willing to get info we needed. The janitorial service was very good . The kitchenette helped reduce our expenses in eating out . The free wi-fi was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to the metro(if not using the shuttle) or Georgetown is within 20 minutes. The shuttle also goes to Safeway so try to use within the time available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowentravel
Business
Dubai
Sep 19, 2011

Easy business base for DC/VA

I wish I could have stayed longer! While the outside is nothing too spectacular, the rooms are great, esp for the price. Very clean, great linens, spacious, and really nice staff. Free WIFI, only downside is no room service but fully functional kitchen if you are staying for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 14, 2009

Great Stay

Being one of the cheaper hotels that I could find in the area, I was pleasently surprised with the quality of the accomodations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. A small but fully stocked kitchen in the room enabled us to save on food costs during the trip and have a relaxed meal at the end of the day rather than having to go out to a resturant. It was a short walk to the Rosslyn station which eliminated the need to try to find parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small market within a short walking distance where you can buy a few groceries and other items that you may have forgotten to pack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trmi
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 18, 2007

Worth the Money

Can't beat the price. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The Virginian Suites was a 10 minute walk to the Metro station and they also provided a shuttle to and from at no cost. The suite was roomy but could of used some updating especially the carpet. I liked the fact that they provided 2 TVs. My wife and I don't like the same shows/channels. I would stay at the Virginian Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to the Metro and 5-8 minute cab ride to DC landmarks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2010

Great 4th July weekend!

We had a wedding weekend with lots of friends and family at the hotel. The rooms were spacious with all the necessities and a big convenience to have the kitchen facilities for chilled beverages and snacks. Some family used the pool (which didn't open until 10 am) and enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful and they provided us with lots of tips for the 4th July traffic and crowds. My only complaint was the quality of the pillows which were all dense foam with no soft pillow options in the room. The location was great and I would stay there again for the convenience, with metro only a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jan 19, 2011

Great room

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was very large!Although the hotel is older and was obviously an apartment building convertend into a hotel, the room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. It is a bit of a walk to find food but Wilson Street is 2 minutes away by car and there are lots of great restaurants there. There is a free shuttle to the metro which will take you to Washington DC. We also enjoyed the free internet. I wish we had stayed longer so I could really enjoy this wonderful suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Apr 1, 2010

great value and location, especially for

While the rugs showed wear, the bath towels were as thick as I've ever used. Great location to Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
Apr 20, 2010

Will stay there again

The staff was very friendly. Was surprised that we were right next to the Memorial to Marines and Arlington National Cementary. The metro was an easy walk to although the directions from the metro were a little off. Go right to get out of the metro then take a left until you go over a highway, then take the pathway on your right. The suites are approx. 100 yards from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
May 7, 2010

Great hotel in Arlington

Very good romm with kitchen facilities which was really handy for meals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top