$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CarmelitaGold
Business
Kansas
Jul 20, 2010

Good hotel for the price and location

The room was large and comfortable; the bed was very cozy. The air conditioning works extremely well, although there is no way to adjust the temperature; it's always very cold with no in-between. When I called and requested extra towels in the morning they never came unless I went down to the front desk to complain. Also, housekeeping was very slow and would only clean the room if you left the hang-tag outside of the door all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Ibiza was safe and fun (music type: hip-hop). (To get a discount for the entry price, log onto their website and sign onto the guest list, then arrive before the designated time.)

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
May 17, 2011

our stay at the Virginian Suites

Our stay here was very nice. The hotel had all the accomadations we were looking for. Close to the metro. Very happy with stay. No complaints. Just get a good map and start walking out of the hotel. If your looking for a cheaper price and cannot afford to stay in downtown area, this hotel will work for all family members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Jun 19, 2011

awesome!!

nice room, kind staffs... everything was good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Teachers
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 23, 2010

Washington History

Our 8 day stay was fantastic. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. When you go on a trip like this you have to reserve hotel rooms well ahead of time and you really don't know what you will get. This was more than we could hope for. Close to the metro, a fantastic way to travel Washington DC, buses, trains, and nearly everything accesible. You know you have good hotel when at the end of a great but tiring day, your ready to go home, and your talking about your room at the hotel. Good all around stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Whatever you choose to see in Washington DC, don't miss the Library of Congress. It's behind the Capitol building connected by a tunnel. It made me think we were in Italy. The frescos on the ceilings and the overall architecture is unbelievable. Also the Spy Museum is great fun for all. And finally the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum is all that everyone says it is.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Sep 28, 2010

[...]

good experience.large room with kitchen.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jychew
Business
Sacramento,Calif
Jun 11, 2011

great location

Our main purpose was to attend the graduation of my son from the FBI academy in Quantico so we added a few more days to visit Washington DC area. We had rented a car since Quantico is about 35 minutes away so the parking fee of $9.00 per day seemed high. The hotel is close to the freeway entrances but it was confusing to get onto the right one -- even with the GPS. The hotel has a shuttle to the metro which is convenient. The staff were helpful and willing to get info we needed. The janitorial service was very good . The kitchenette helped reduce our expenses in eating out . The free wi-fi was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to the metro(if not using the shuttle) or Georgetown is within 20 minutes. The shuttle also goes to Safeway so try to use within the time available.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowentravel
Business
Dubai
Sep 19, 2011

Easy business base for DC/VA

I wish I could have stayed longer! While the outside is nothing too spectacular, the rooms are great, esp for the price. Very clean, great linens, spacious, and really nice staff. Free WIFI, only downside is no room service but fully functional kitchen if you are staying for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jul 14, 2009

Great Stay

Being one of the cheaper hotels that I could find in the area, I was pleasently surprised with the quality of the accomodations. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. A small but fully stocked kitchen in the room enabled us to save on food costs during the trip and have a relaxed meal at the end of the day rather than having to go out to a resturant. It was a short walk to the Rosslyn station which eliminated the need to try to find parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a small market within a short walking distance where you can buy a few groceries and other items that you may have forgotten to pack.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trmi
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 18, 2007

Worth the Money

Can't beat the price. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The Virginian Suites was a 10 minute walk to the Metro station and they also provided a shuttle to and from at no cost. The suite was roomy but could of used some updating especially the carpet. I liked the fact that they provided 2 TVs. My wife and I don't like the same shows/channels. I would stay at the Virginian Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

10 minute walk to the Metro and 5-8 minute cab ride to DC landmarks.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2010

Great 4th July weekend!

We had a wedding weekend with lots of friends and family at the hotel. The rooms were spacious with all the necessities and a big convenience to have the kitchen facilities for chilled beverages and snacks. Some family used the pool (which didn't open until 10 am) and enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful and they provided us with lots of tips for the 4th July traffic and crowds. My only complaint was the quality of the pillows which were all dense foam with no soft pillow options in the room. The location was great and I would stay there again for the convenience, with metro only a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top