$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 31, 2014

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Great place!

The room was huge - it was basically like a small apartment. Very comfortable bed, too. See full review

  • User2000
  • Jul 1, 2013
Surprisingly amazing

When I first booked this hotel, I thought it wouldn't be great as its very close to everything in... See full review

  • Irishdude
  • Apr 15, 2013
The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Collection hotel is minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., nestled in the beautiful, trendy district of Rosslyn in Arlington, VA. The Rosslyn Metro Station, shops and restaurants are only a five-minute walk away. Arlington Cemetery and Ft Myer are only two blocks away, and Pentagon and NFATC are just a short drive down the road. This all-suite property with residential style studio and one-bedroom suites from 450 to 650 square feet, all with full kitchens, offers free wireless high-speed Internet, Direct TV, 24-hour fitness center, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and weekday shuttle service to Rosslyn Metro, Safeway and NFATC. Enjoy our catered pizza party every Wednesday evening. Parking charge: 12 USD per night.

Hotel Map

38.8908 -77.0741
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Arpt, (DCA), 4.00, MI, S; Dulles Int'l Airport, (IAD), 24.40, MI, NW; Baltimore / Wash. Intl Arpt, (BWI), 35.40, MI, NE;
Area description
Airport, Rt 50 @ Ft Myer

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 4 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waltzing Matilda
Melbourne, Australia
Nov 23, 2010

Spacious room with full kitchen in DC

One of the best hotels we stayed in the US. 5 minute walk to the efficient metro, supermarket ( or free shuttle) and Arlington cemetery. Full kitchen and spacious room. Staff helpful and efficient. Couldn't find any faults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat downstairs at the Indian Museum, great food that is really different.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
arlington, va
Jun 19, 2011

great place

The hotel roomwas so nice and clean....all the hotel staff were very friendly..the pool was very nice....I can't wait to go there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
philadelphia, pa
Jun 27, 2010

Great Rooms at a Great Value

a pretty far walk from metro especially on hot steamy days. The rooms were very large and spacious and very confortable beds. but despite longer walk to metro the location was pretty central just minutes to georgetown and short metro ride to the sights to see in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Georgia
Oct 15, 2009

Convenient, affordable, comfortable

Very assessable to the Metro and walking distance to multiple restaurants. Parked our car and never used it again. Staff very helpfully resolved departure issue. Nice room and appliances.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good restaurant selection short walking distance from hotel.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 18, 2007

Outstanding

I would recommend this place to everyone visiting the Washington DC area. Everything was just great, the rooms was clean and neat not smelly, the staff was great. I just can't say enough about it. You got to check it out for yourself

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Just a short drive from down town DC

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 13, 2007

Great location for tourists

Nice place for tourists. Very nice large, clean hotel room with full kitchen, 2 TV sets, bedroom. Exterior of building is plain but pleasant. Location was convenient for catching Rosslyn metro (a 7-minute walk). Only a few Metro stops away from tourist attractions and the hotel runs a shuttle to metro station during am and pm rush hours. Parking is a reasonable $7/day. Staff was pleasant. Quiet, pleasant neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Iwo Jima monument is a 2 minute walk

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LokitaBby
silver spring,md
Feb 9, 2014

fantastic

Its a great place to stay, i felt like i was still at home. I stayed there with my son and I definitely felt safe and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fittress
Business
Vancouver, not BC, Washington, not DC.
Feb 14, 2014

DC Great Location!

You cannot beat the location for the DC Mall, Arlington and downtown. Shuttle every 30 minutes to Metro station which is only 4 blocks away, an easy walk with pedestrian crossings and a small park with art to enjoy. An older property but with over the top amenities, wonderful and prompt staff. Huge rooms with crisp white bedding on cloud soft mattresses. Staff was the best! Kitchen was a bonus that vacationers could take advantage of, stocked with everything from wine glasses to salt and pepper shakers! A travelers dream as layout of room makes for a very quiet stay. Of the three trips I have recently made to DC, this was a very pleasant stay and the most budget friendly. Coffee in the room as well as full beverage service in lobby. Fruit bowls in lobby all day and cookies in the afternoon. My early schedule did not allow for trying the weekday continental breakfast. I will be using this hotel again when visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the full kitchen for a meal or two. CVS has lots of meal options with freezer and cold case.

Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clhxoxo
Charlotte, NC
Mar 13, 2014

Great hotel & location!

I was so surprised at the great location of this hotel for the price! It was right across the bridge from DC. We did a trolley tour both days we were there which we were able to hop on from Arlington National Cemetery very close by (10 min walk). The room was large w/a cute little kitchen. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I was very happy w/this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eunice
Business
USA
Sep 27, 2007

Good value

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the accomodations. As a solo traveler I had much more space than needed for one. Only stayed one night but this property would work well for a family looking to fix some meals on site. Full kitchen - fair size dining space and living room. Cleanliness acceptable though carpet seemed in need of replacement. Lobby set up might be difficult for anyone with physical limitations. After entering from front entrance, I had to lift my luggage up over 5 - 6 stairs to reach the check in desk. A ramp is needed. The clerk did offer to call someone to carry my luggage - but I managed it alone. All in all good value for budget minded travelers and families. Limited shuttle service so I relied on taxi to metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top

Change search