The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Great place!

The room was huge - it was basically like a small apartment. Very comfortable bed, too. See full review

  • User2000
  • Jul 1, 2013
Great location

Staff was really helpful. The shuttle took us to the metro and to/from a local restaurant. The... See full review

  • Dog woman
  • Sep 29, 2014
The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Collection hotel is minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., nestled in the beautiful, trendy district of Rosslyn in Arlington, VA. The Rosslyn Metro Station, shops and restaurants are only a five-minute walk away. Arlington Cemetery and Ft Myer are only two blocks away, and Pentagon and NFATC are just a short drive down the road. This all-suite property with residential style studio and one-bedroom suites from 450 to 650 square feet, all with full kitchens, offers free wireless high-speed Internet, Direct TV, 24-hour fitness center, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and weekday shuttle service to Rosslyn Metro, Safeway and NFATC. Enjoy our catered pizza party every Wednesday evening. Parking charge: 12 USD per night.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Map

38.8908 -77.0741
Nearby airports
Ronald Reagan National Arpt, (DCA), 4.00, MI, S; Dulles Int'l Airport, (IAD), 24.40, MI, NW; Baltimore / Wash. Intl Arpt, (BWI), 35.40, MI, NE;
Area description
Airport, Rt 50 @ Ft Myer

Nearby points of interest

  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 4 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Aug 24, 2007

very friendly

Check in was very easy and staff was very helpful.the room seemed much larger than most with a desk area and a table and two chairs. The location was very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shreveport, LA
May 1, 2007

Virginian Suites

I stayed at the Virginian Suites for 5 days, pleasant enough, has a full kitchen, gym and pool although access was slightly difficult to get. The hotel is located 5 mins from the Rosslyn station, not too bad when you get the shuttle to the station and back. No food in the hotel is a drag, but like i said, i had a kitchen so it is my own fault if i went hungry. Good value overall, I recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Dec 16, 2009

A gem

This is a great hotel, with helpful staff. The best value in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Charleston WV
Apr 7, 2010

Great Place

Rooms were very nice Great location was able to walk to tram and go anywhere we wanted to go

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

take time to learn how to work the tram then anything is possible

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
methane
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Oct 17, 2011

service was very good!

Room was clean and service was very good! I told to find a market near the hotel. It was very helpful at that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

food store is required

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tboneboy
Business
PA
Jan 27, 2012

good value

great location, good value for the area, friendly front desk, got a free upgrade to a larger room, free parking with AAA card

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Iwo Jima memorial

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irishdude
Business
Greece, rochester
Apr 15, 2013

Surprisingly amazing

When I first booked this hotel, I thought it wouldn't be great as its very close to everything in DC and I got it for pretty cheap, we came we saw the room it was beautiful, clean full of light and nice and cool. Big bed big tv,nice couch and coffee table, lovely work area, even a fully stocked kitchen from microwave to dishwasher, was awesome, myself and fiancé said to each other this is where were staying if we come back, it's was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I know the monuments look pretty close, I advise you to get taxi or bus to the monument or muesem, you can walk there fine but if your doin all the attractions, you'll be in bits, we ended up walkin for 9 hours, I'm still in bits now. So walk up, taxi back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
User2000
Business
Cleveland
Jul 1, 2013

Great place!

The room was huge - it was basically like a small apartment. Very comfortable bed, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebelpilot
Business
Plainfield, NJ
Nov 15, 2010

Great room for an Amazing Price

I came into town for a friend's Birthday. I selected this hotel based on proximity to many key areas in Arlington. The front desk could have been more pleasant, but they were mostly all business. The Room was very spacious for the price. Bed and Fold out couch were comfortable. Bathroom was functional, if not a bit small and plain. Full Kitchen was a great touch, so was a very spacious work desk area. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay. I'd say I got well more than my money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a good date like activity but are on a budget, do the DC monuments at night. When the sun goes down, park on 12th near the Washington Monument (free street parking) and just walk and enjoy one of the best night time scenery in the country!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Waltzing Matilda
Business
Melbourne, Australia
Nov 23, 2010

Spacious room with full kitchen in DC

One of the best hotels we stayed in the US. 5 minute walk to the efficient metro, supermarket ( or free shuttle) and Arlington cemetery. Full kitchen and spacious room. Staff helpful and efficient. Couldn't find any faults.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat downstairs at the Indian Museum, great food that is really different.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top