$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
72 reviews
Great place!

The room was huge - it was basically like a small apartment. Very comfortable bed, too. See full review

  • User2000
  • Jul 1, 2013
DC via Arlington

great place, wont look for anywhere else to stay now that I've stayed here See full review

  • Butcher10
  • Dec 2, 2014
The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Collection hotel is minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., nestled in the beautiful, trendy district of Rosslyn in Arlington, VA. The Rosslyn Metro Station, shops and restaurants are only a five-minute walk away. Arlington Cemetery and Ft Myer are only two blocks away, and Pentagon and NFATC are just a short drive down the road. This all-suite property with residential style studio and one-bedroom suites from 450 to 650 square feet, all with full kitchens, offers free wireless high-speed Internet, Direct TV, 24-hour fitness center, sauna, seasonal outdoor pool, and weekday shuttle service to Rosslyn Metro, Safeway and NFATC. Enjoy our catered pizza party every Wednesday evening. Parking charge: 12 USD per night.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • US Marine Crops War memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Marine Corps War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Netherlands Carillon: 0.3 mi
  • Women in Military Service for America Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Arlington House: 0.7 mi
  • Tomb of the Unknowns: 0.8 mi
  • Arlington National Cemetary: 0.8 mi
  • Canadian Cross of Sacrifice: 0.8 mi
  • Lady Bird Johnson Park: 1.2 mi
  • Fort Myer: 1.2 mi
  • Pentagon Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Air Force Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • The Pentagon: 1.7 mi
  • Mount Vernon Trail: 1.9 mi
  • DEA Museum: 2 mi
  • Arlington Cinema: 2.2 mi
  • Synetic Theatre: 2.5 mi
  • American Century Theater: 3 mi
  • Bluemont Park: 3.4 mi
  • Signature Theatre: 3.6 mi
  • Upton Hill Regional Park: 4 mi
  • The Washington & Old Dominion Trail: 7.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 72
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
showard
Business
Maputo, Mozambique
Aug 27, 2014

Spacious Hotel in Arlington

I have stayed here on several occasions, from short-term to a couple of weeks, solo and with family and pets. Every experience has been great. It is perfect if you want a kitchen, which is stocked with all things you'd need to cook, with a decent-sized refrigerator. And the room size is very nice, with huge closets and plenty of storage space. The check-in folks are great, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are always nice and clean. The *only* real complaint I have is that their door does not automatically open, so when you have bags it can get tricky, and they have several stairs that you must climb just to get to the elevator. Again, very tricky when you have a bag, kids, etc. But, they will carry them up for you. There is a great kids' park just across the street, some of the rooms have pretty views, and the location is just off of Hwy 50. Not the closest to restaurants, I wouldn't say that Rosslyn has the best food choices, but there are places, mostly for the lunch crowd, and it is walkable if you don't have a car. The Metro shuttle is very convenient and they take you to the grocery store! Nice old building with this walls, keeping the neighbors' sound to a minimum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Quarterdeck, which is just up the hill from the hotel, is a great hangout place, and they have Maryland crabs, when in season. Whack away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LokitaBby
Business
silver spring,md
Feb 9, 2014

fantastic

Its a great place to stay, i felt like i was still at home. I stayed there with my son and I definitely felt safe and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommy
Business
illinois
May 30, 2012

Family gathering

It was great. Except the cleaning crew.. And the lights weren't working well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arlington, va
Jun 19, 2011

great place

The hotel roomwas so nice and clean....all the hotel staff were very friendly..the pool was very nice....I can't wait to go there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wowmom
Business
Beaufort, Missouri
Aug 2, 2010

D.C. sightseers

We came as a family to see D.C. meeting our oldest and his family. Weekdays a shuttle runs to and from the metro station AM and PM. But the walk from the metro to the grocery and then to the Inn was not bad. The Iwo Jima monument was also a short walk. The pool was great for the grandkids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Check the one way cost to the Smithsonian. It was much less round trip than the all day pass and you can easily spend the whole day in the museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jul 12, 2010

Enjoyable family vacation

The suites were a good deal since we were very close to so many DC area attractions. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly. I would have appreciated a free breakfast in the price of the hotel, however. A shuttle to the airport would have been nice as well. Overall, I would go back...great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 7, 2010

Great 4th July weekend!

We had a wedding weekend with lots of friends and family at the hotel. The rooms were spacious with all the necessities and a big convenience to have the kitchen facilities for chilled beverages and snacks. Some family used the pool (which didn't open until 10 am) and enjoyed it. The staff was friendly and helpful and they provided us with lots of tips for the 4th July traffic and crowds. My only complaint was the quality of the pillows which were all dense foam with no soft pillow options in the room. The location was great and I would stay there again for the convenience, with metro only a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
May 7, 2010

Great hotel in Arlington

Very good romm with kitchen facilities which was really handy for meals

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
Apr 20, 2010

Will stay there again

The staff was very friendly. Was surprised that we were right next to the Memorial to Marines and Arlington National Cementary. The metro was an easy walk to although the directions from the metro were a little off. Go right to get out of the metro then take a left until you go over a highway, then take the pathway on your right. The suites are approx. 100 yards from there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Western Mass
Apr 18, 2010

Almost Nice...

Our stay started on an unusual note... they apparently "gave away" our initial room, but set us up with one that was "much nicer". So we get to the room, and at first glance it's looks so nice. Spacious, nice furniture... then we look closely and see some stains on the carpet, the bed, the room service binder, the remote.... But honestly, we just dealt with it because they weren't ridiculously gross and we just needed a place to stay for two nights. Some other issues: for such big rooms and 3 closets, the bathroom was pretty tiny. And there's no where to eat on site, but the hotel makes up for that with a food delivery service from restaurants in the area, complimentary coffee in the lobby, and a frozen food vending machine (since each room has a fully equipped kitchen). Overall, it's proximity to D.C. with its low cost makes it a really good option if you're going for only a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

2 miles away from Georgetown neighborhood

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top