$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jlbledsoe
Business
Menlo Park, CA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Location bad, no room service and few restaurants nearby...

The price is right, but location location location, ugh! There is no restaurant in the hotel and there's only one close to the hotel, others are a good walk away (on the plus side, you can order delivery and then store leftovers in the fridge, there's a kitchen with stove, fridge, and microwave), and even worse, getting to DC locations is tough, taxi or driving is more convenient...but a times the wait for a taxi was pretty long. I will not be using the Venetian Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowentravel
Business
Dubai
Sep 19, 2011

Easy business base for DC/VA

I wish I could have stayed longer! While the outside is nothing too spectacular, the rooms are great, esp for the price. Very clean, great linens, spacious, and really nice staff. Free WIFI, only downside is no room service but fully functional kitchen if you are staying for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 8, 2011

Average but adequate

Staff was courteous. This is an old apartment building converted to a hotel so the rooms have efficiencies. Nice concept, but odd layouts and ancient elevator system. Tiny cars so only one luggage cart and one person at a time. The maid staff also uses the same 2 elevators, so one cart and one maid at a time. Don't stay above the 4th floor in this 10 story building because it will take you forever to get to your room and get to the lobby to leave or check out. No ice machines in the building and only 3 vending machines in the lobby. Yes, you have to take the elevator again from 10 to the first floor just to get a bottle of water. Plan accordingly!! Pool was nice but the lounge chair cushions are old and faded and they do not provide additional or larger size towels. Parking is limited and if coming back to the hotel late it doesn't feel safe to park around the side, it's very dark on the walk around to the front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Request to stay on the 4th floor or lower so you can use the back entrance up the hill or use the stairs to maneuver in & out of the hotel more quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boontown, NJ
Jul 13, 2011

Arf!

Not unless you absolutely have to. It's cheap I suppose. But then again most crack dens are.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle, wa
Jun 19, 2011

awesome!!

nice room, kind staffs... everything was good here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
arlington, va
Jun 19, 2011

great place

The hotel roomwas so nice and clean....all the hotel staff were very friendly..the pool was very nice....I can't wait to go there again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jychew
Business
Sacramento,Calif
Jun 11, 2011

great location

Our main purpose was to attend the graduation of my son from the FBI academy in Quantico so we added a few more days to visit Washington DC area. We had rented a car since Quantico is about 35 minutes away so the parking fee of $9.00 per day seemed high. The hotel is close to the freeway entrances but it was confusing to get onto the right one -- even with the GPS. The hotel has a shuttle to the metro which is convenient. The staff were helpful and willing to get info we needed. The janitorial service was very good . The kitchenette helped reduce our expenses in eating out . The free wi-fi was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The walk to the metro(if not using the shuttle) or Georgetown is within 20 minutes. The shuttle also goes to Safeway so try to use within the time available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Connecticut
May 17, 2011

our stay at the Virginian Suites

Our stay here was very nice. The hotel had all the accomadations we were looking for. Close to the metro. Very happy with stay. No complaints. Just get a good map and start walking out of the hotel. If your looking for a cheaper price and cannot afford to stay in downtown area, this hotel will work for all family members.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MHL
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 23, 2011

Hotel was OK

Almost everything seemed OK. Would have prefered the breakfast included as well as the parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Jan 19, 2011

Great room

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was very large!Although the hotel is older and was obviously an apartment building convertend into a hotel, the room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. It is a bit of a walk to find food but Wilson Street is 2 minutes away by car and there are lots of great restaurants there. There is a free shuttle to the metro which will take you to Washington DC. We also enjoyed the free internet. I wish we had stayed longer so I could really enjoy this wonderful suite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top