$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
methane
Durham, NC, USA
Oct 17, 2011

service was very good!

Room was clean and service was very good! I told to find a market near the hotel. It was very helpful at that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: In Hotel

food store is required

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lake Lover
Business
Minnesota, USA
Mar 25, 2012

Excellent stay!

It was all good for our stay for a funeral at Arlington. Yassir was very helpful and the desk staff was friendly and efficient. It's about a 3 block walk to the Iwo Jima Memorial and Arlington National Cemetery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had an excellent breakfast at the Best Western across the street although we did have to drive there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
melnasser
Business
dearborn, mi
Mar 14, 2012

Virginian Suites

I thought this hotel was really nice. It was quiet, the room was spacious, including a walk-in closet. The bed was very comfortable and everything seemed clean. The kitchen was much more than expected. Full fridge, stove, microwave, with can opener and the like to make your stay more home-y. I really enjoyed it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tboneboy
Business
PA
Jan 27, 2012

good value

great location, good value for the area, friendly front desk, got a free upgrade to a larger room, free parking with AAA card

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to Iwo Jima memorial

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Conferencing in ATL
Business
Connecticut, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Worked for us

We had a nice stay at this hotel. FYI: It is one mile from the Rosslyn metro stop. That info is not clear in the hotel description and map. We were only there for one night but in general were pleased. The room was very spacious and comfortable. We didn't need the kitchen, but I think it'd be very useful for people on a long-term stay. On the downside, my husband found and killed a small roach in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick7158
Business
Annapolis, MD, USA
Nov 15, 2011

Good Location

The hotel is in a great spot for someone who needs to get to DC but doesn't want to spend a lot of money in one or two nights. It's close enough to be convenient to get anywhere on the west side of DC, but far enough away to not be too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Old Glory Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krtravels
Business
Nashville, TN, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Good but not great

Good parts; Comfortable room, easy walk to Metro, excellent business center w/ great access, decent gym, good restaurant w/in walking distance, housekeeping service excellent, most front desk staff courteous and helpful. Bad parts: Does not offer continental breakfast to Orbitz customers in spite of ad to contrary, some food smells in hallway. One front desk clerk was arrogant and officious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vist the Quarterdeck Grill a little more than one-quarter mile up the hill from the hotel for good food, decent drinks and a great informal atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Simple Country Doctor
Business
Honolulu, HI, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Good basic accommodations

The staff at the front desk was friendly and professional. I checked in before noon without a hassle, but I was too late to try the continental breakfast and l left too early the next day, too. I stayed in a clean, spacious studio apartment with a full kitchen. Free wireless Internet in the room, or use the Ethernet cable. The fitness center has a few treadmills and elliptical machines; no weights. The outdoor pool is only open from Memorial Day to Labor Day. The biggest negative is it's hard to find location, although it's just around the corner from one of the main gates to Fort Meyers. It's probably commendable principally for couples or small families who have business at Fort Meyers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Quarterdeck Lounge - a simple country tavern with terrific home-style crab cakes and Chesapeake Bay steamed crabs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
methane
Business
Durham, NC, USA
Oct 17, 2011

service was very good!

Room was clean and service was very good! I told to find a market near the hotel. It was very helpful at that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: In Hotel

food store is required

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jlbledsoe
Business
Menlo Park, CA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Location bad, no room service and few restaurants nearby...

The price is right, but location location location, ugh! There is no restaurant in the hotel and there's only one close to the hotel, others are a good walk away (on the plus side, you can order delivery and then store leftovers in the fridge, there's a kitchen with stove, fridge, and microwave), and even worse, getting to DC locations is tough, taxi or driving is more convenient...but a times the wait for a taxi was pretty long. I will not be using the Venetian Suites again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bowentravel
Business
Dubai
Sep 19, 2011

Easy business base for DC/VA

I wish I could have stayed longer! While the outside is nothing too spectacular, the rooms are great, esp for the price. Very clean, great linens, spacious, and really nice staff. Free WIFI, only downside is no room service but fully functional kitchen if you are staying for a few days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top