$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 1500 Arlington Blvd., Arlington, VA 22209

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ironside
Business
Virginia
Feb 17, 2014

Wow... Kind of scary.

I read a few reviews... it said the place was nice and safe... They were right about nice... not about safe. Within 10 minutes of arriving, someone had gotten robbed. Cops all over the place. Parking was scarce, I guess they didn't expect people because they didn't really clear their parking of all the snow. The room was very nice though for the low low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fittress
Business
Vancouver, not BC, Washington, not DC.
Feb 14, 2014

DC Great Location!

You cannot beat the location for the DC Mall, Arlington and downtown. Shuttle every 30 minutes to Metro station which is only 4 blocks away, an easy walk with pedestrian crossings and a small park with art to enjoy. An older property but with over the top amenities, wonderful and prompt staff. Huge rooms with crisp white bedding on cloud soft mattresses. Staff was the best! Kitchen was a bonus that vacationers could take advantage of, stocked with everything from wine glasses to salt and pepper shakers! A travelers dream as layout of room makes for a very quiet stay. Of the three trips I have recently made to DC, this was a very pleasant stay and the most budget friendly. Coffee in the room as well as full beverage service in lobby. Fruit bowls in lobby all day and cookies in the afternoon. My early schedule did not allow for trying the weekday continental breakfast. I will be using this hotel again when visiting DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the full kitchen for a meal or two. CVS has lots of meal options with freezer and cold case.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
All business Chris
Business
Doylestown, Pa
Feb 13, 2014

Quick work trip

The staff was friendly and helpful when I arrived. When I got into the room I noticed that I could hear everything going on in the other rooms. There were loud conversations that didn't stop all night and you could hear the cooking happening directly next door. The sink in my room had something left over from the previous visitor and I'm not sure what it was, but it slightly resembled throw up or something. I has a quick couple hours of sleep in the room and left early in the morning. I would have definitely complained if I was in there for a longer period of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LokitaBby
Business
silver spring,md
Feb 9, 2014

fantastic

Its a great place to stay, i felt like i was still at home. I stayed there with my son and I definitely felt safe and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zz24lulu
Business
Boulder, CO
Jul 17, 2013

great deal

Great price for a nice hotel. Free breakfast and weekday shuttle. Very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
User2000
Business
Cleveland
Jul 1, 2013

Great place!

The room was huge - it was basically like a small apartment. Very comfortable bed, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Irishdude
Business
Greece, rochester
Apr 15, 2013

Surprisingly amazing

When I first booked this hotel, I thought it wouldn't be great as its very close to everything in DC and I got it for pretty cheap, we came we saw the room it was beautiful, clean full of light and nice and cool. Big bed big tv,nice couch and coffee table, lovely work area, even a fully stocked kitchen from microwave to dishwasher, was awesome, myself and fiancé said to each other this is where were staying if we come back, it's was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I know the monuments look pretty close, I advise you to get taxi or bus to the monument or muesem, you can walk there fine but if your doin all the attractions, you'll be in bits, we ended up walkin for 9 hours, I'm still in bits now. So walk up, taxi back!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWDC
Business
Clearwater, FL
Dec 17, 2012

Excellent Value Great Location

This is a great place to stay, close to everything and a good value. It is an older hotel, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Common areas could use a little sprucing up. If you are looking for value and location this is the place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
expat2007
Business
North Carolina
Nov 17, 2012

Decent stay, clean rooms, unfriendly staff

Not luxurious but the room and the hotel are clean enough for me to stay there again. The hotel staff (especially the young white male) are rude, though. The kind of behavior they exhibit towards non-native speakers is almost never seen by me before (except when I go to rural areas deep in the South).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have free pizza on 3rd floor on Wednesday but the front desk staff will not tell you about it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Virginian Suites, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UNKNOWN MAN
Business
Arlighton
Nov 12, 2012

Good Price and Location

Price was great and has a shuttle to the metro. The metro is only about a .4 mile walk anyways and only 3 stops to central DC. I'd take that anyday that 3 times the price in the heart of DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top