$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

The Westin Alexandria

4 stars
View map of 400 Courthouse Square, 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
80 reviews
Great Hotel

I went to visit my old roomate in DC and also my sister and brother in law in MD. Close access to... See full review

  • Kadeezy
  • Feb 13, 2015
Awesome trip

We booked this hotel stay while we were in town to see a football game. Was a wonderful hotel and a... See full review

  • John A.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Just a few miles from Washington, D.C., The Westin Alexandria is an upscale retreat in Alexandria's exclusive Carlyle area. The hotel is located near historic Old Town, The Patent and Trademark Office, and the Albert V. Bryan Federal Courthouse. Meetings at The Westin Alexandria are refreshing and productive. Our 7,900 square feet of space spans 14 venues—all conveniently located on one floor. An attentive banquet staff and a dedicated Executive Meeting Specialist ensure a flawless event. An amazingly restful experience awaits you in one of our guest rooms. Sink into a blissful sleep in our iconic Westin Heavenly® Bed, then rise and shine in the Heavenly® Bath. Each room includes a refrigerator, flat screen TV, work desk, and ergonomic chair.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Westin Alexandria Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.3 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.3 mi

Dining

Trademark
Clever cocktails, thoughtful sustenance, and an ingenious atmosphere help create one of Alexandria’s signature meeting places.
Starbucks®
Revive in the morning or recharge throughout the day with a freshly brewed coffee drink and a delicious muffin or scone at Starbucks®.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (80)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Alexandria

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 80
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kadeezy
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

Great Hotel

I went to visit my old roomate in DC and also my sister and brother in law in MD. Close access to the train and highway, with many food options near by. The staff was very polite and welcoming. They were always happy to answer my questions about the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael A.
Business
N/A
Jan 27, 2015

Fair stay

Great drinks at bar great customer service initially hairs on bed rust in shower low water pressure expired code dirty dresser slow service second day forgot to bring car around overcharged for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ross B.
Business
New Bedford
Jan 25, 2015

Business trip

Comfortable well appointed room, nice staff and quick car valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Attached restaurant was above par for such establishments and the Starbucks is attached to the side of the building.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValerieB
Business
Ottawa, ON
May 16, 2014

Great to visit Alexandria & DC

The hotel is what you would expect from the Westin chain- no complaints. However, for the $$$ price tag I would expect that we'd not be charged for local calls or pay to print out attraction vouchers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianEsq
Business
Sea Bright, NJ
Nov 3, 2013

Westin Alexandria

I've stayed here three times in the last 3 months, having business in the courthouse across the street. The staff is always very pleasant and courteous. Upon checkout I told them that the Wifi was a little weak in my room, and they immediately removed the charges. The Trademark bar is also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianEsq
Business
Sea Bright, NJ
Aug 19, 2013

Excellent hotel

Location location location. This hotel is right across the street from both the federal courthouse and the USPTO, and not far from Old Town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgirl3003
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 9, 2012

Great, but...

I was at this hotel for a conference, which was also held at the Westin. Both the conference and the room were excellent on all counts, except for one. The internet service is expensive ($10 per day) and it is HORRIBLE. The connection was so slow that I couldn't watch a 30 second video replay of the Olympics. I called customer service and they basically said it was because it was night time and busy. Other than that, the food at the conference was excellent, the coffee is Starbucks (if you like that type of coffee), and the room was the typical "Heavenly" Westin room you have come to expect. The exercise facilities were also nice, new and clean. (The pool was closed for some reason though)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't buy the Internet service unless you HAVE to.. My cell phone was faster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPTO Visitor
Business
San Jose, California
May 27, 2012

Great alternative to DC

This is a great value hotel where I stayed instead of usual DC places. I took 5A Metrobus from IAD to Rosslyn Metro (blue line) to King Street and walked three blocks (get map). DCA is way closer. Hotel has friendly bar, with OK food, great staff, very clean and new at 2/3 to 1/2 cost of similar place in DC. Hotel is across the street from federal court and one block from USPTO, bringing interesting patrons, mostly men. Old Town is a mile away. My room had a king bed, OK view and was spotless. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BeachWoman
Business
Virginia, USA
Feb 20, 2012

Sweet Dreams

The staff was just wonderful. The room was nice and clean. Would have been nice to have a small refrigerater and/or microwave. The best part was the bed. It was to die for, best night sleep I had in a very long time. The hotels advertisement about their beds was an understatement. WOW!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DTRV
Business
Florida, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Good location

Staff was great, amenities terrific and the location was outstanding. The only issues I faced dealt with television reception (was on the fritz for 4+ hours) and carpet cleanliness (seemed like it hadn't been vacuumed).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

USPTO and federal courthouse are a stone's throw away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top