$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

The Westin Alexandria

4 stars
400 Courthouse Square, 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Great Hotel

Very clean hotel close to the Metro. Staff is great. See full review

  • Travel 365 2014
  • Jul 8, 2014
visiting DC without the traffic hassle

Had a great time here, rooms were very clean, the staff was outstanding, I WILL be coming... See full review

  • john wanamaker
  • Jun 9, 2014
Just a few miles from Washington, D.C., The Westin Alexandria is an upscale retreat in Alexandria's exclusive Carlyle area. The hotel is located near historic Old Town, The Patent and Trademark Office, and the Albert V. Bryan Federal Courthouse. Meetings at The Westin Alexandria are refreshing and productive. Our 7,900 square feet of space spans 14 venues—all conveniently located on one floor. An attentive banquet staff and a dedicated Executive Meeting Specialist ensure a flawless event. An amazingly restful experience awaits you in one of our guest rooms. Sink into a blissful sleep in our iconic Westin Heavenly® Bed, then rise and shine in the Heavenly® Bath. Each room includes a refrigerator, flat screen TV, work desk, and ergonomic chair.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Alexandria Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.3 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.3 mi

Dining

Trademark
Clever cocktails, thoughtful sustenance, and an ingenious atmosphere help create one of Alexandria’s signature meeting places.
Starbucks®
Revive in the morning or recharge throughout the day with a freshly brewed coffee drink and a delicious muffin or scone at Starbucks®.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Alexandria

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
May 4, 2009

Lovely Retreat

Great service, lovely room. Concierge floor provided good value. Train into Washington easily accessible. Hotel van took us and picked us up from local restaurants. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPTO Visitor
Business
San Jose, California
May 27, 2012

Great alternative to DC

This is a great value hotel where I stayed instead of usual DC places. I took 5A Metrobus from IAD to Rosslyn Metro (blue line) to King Street and walked three blocks (get map). DCA is way closer. Hotel has friendly bar, with OK food, great staff, very clean and new at 2/3 to 1/2 cost of similar place in DC. Hotel is across the street from federal court and one block from USPTO, bringing interesting patrons, mostly men. Old Town is a mile away. My room had a king bed, OK view and was spotless. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adelaide grandmother
Business
wisconsin
Jun 12, 2012

westin courthouse sq alexandria va

a great hotel in every way everyone was kind and helpful the room was beautiful as was the lobby and dining room i was traveling with my 6 year old grandson and we felt as if we were royalty hope to stay at the westin during my next visit to the metro dc area thanks westin!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tkoenig81
Business
Virginia Beach, Va
Oct 12, 2013

Great hotel!

Very pleased with this hotel and the staff! They were friendly and courteous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john wanamaker
Business
chesapeake, va
Jun 9, 2014

visiting DC without the traffic hassle

Had a great time here, rooms were very clean, the staff was outstanding, I WILL be coming back. They shuttle you to the metro, let you checkout of the room but able to leave your luggage with the concierge. This was a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katekw
Business
Boston
Aug 14, 2010

Classy and elegant

The hotel was quiet and beautiful with a superior staff who were very accommodating and helpful. There was a free shuttle service available which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

To shopping and dining in the area take advantage of the free shuttle or the free trolley into Old Town. To go to Washington DC use the Metro at King Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 27, 2010

Clean, safe, and quiet

Very clean. The staff was friendly and the beds were comfortable. I like valet parking, just wish it were less expensive. Should offer a less expensive "park and stay " deal. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is just dow the block. Metro train is close, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
May 10, 2009

Beautiful hotel, great location!

Area is very quaint. My daughter and I walked around at night without feeling unsafe. Metro not too far, but a good 5 min walk. The Westin was beautiful and smells wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reginald Martinez
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 24, 2011

Outstanding hotel

I was on a business trip to DC. I like to stay at hotels on the Metro line and take the train into the city. I can only describe the Westin as a first class hotel in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ITHAKA, N,Y.
Oct 16, 2009

EXCELLENCE.

RESTED AND ATE WHILE ON A LONG AUTO TRIP. A-ONE COMPARED TO OTHER REST STOPS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top