$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

The Westin Alexandria

4 stars
400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
111 reviews
visiting DC without the traffic hassle

Had a great time here, rooms were very clean, the staff was outstanding, I WILL be coming... See full review

  • john wanamaker
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great hotel!

Very pleased with this hotel and the staff! They were friendly and courteous! See full review

  • tkoenig81
  • Oct 12, 2013
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria, VA. Located in the exclusive Carlyle section of Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive, and renewing comfort. Three blocks from the King Street metro station and Alexandria Amtrak station, five miles from Ronald Reagan National Airport, and eight miles from downtown Washington, DC, our hotel is ideally situated for your visit to the Washington/Alexandria area. Our elegant hotel is an integral component of Alexandria's newest community, The Carlyle at King Street Metro – a mixed-use hotel, luxury condominium, and retail project. This unique and stylish community is home to the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the Federal Courthouse. Our hotel features 319 beautifully appointed guest rooms, including 10 Executive Studios and Suites and one Presidential Suite with sweeping views of the Masonic Temple and Old Town Alexandria. All rooms feature High Speed Internet Access and flat screen LCD televisions. The signature Westin Heavenly Bed® provides guests with the ultimate comfort in every guest room. Sumptuous, stylish, and plush, the all-white bed consists of a custom designed pillow top mattress, down blanket, three crisp sheets, luxurious duvet, and five dreamy pillows. To complement the bed, guest rooms also feature the highly acclaimed Westin Heavenly Bath®. This includes a custom-designed dual showerhead featuring several spray options from light mist to massaging needles, as well as a curved shower rod that adds an extra eight inches of elbow room. We also offer a heated indoor pool and for the energetic – the WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio. The Jamieson Grille serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Or you can dine in the comfort of your room with our 24-hour room service. After a long day, meet up with friends or colleagues for a cocktail at the Trademark Bar. Discover refreshing surroundings and a convenient location at

The Westin Alexandria Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.803 -77.0654
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 41.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 31.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 62.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.3 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (111)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Alexandria

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Mar 12, 2008

'Heavenly' stay...

The Westin Alexandria is a beautiful location, it lives true to the Westin name for comfort and class. It is located in a business area, and on the weekend not many of the cafe/coffee shops were open around the hotel. The Metro stop is just a few blocks away which is a bonus. There is only one resturant on site, and what I felt was a limited menu, the food was good, but not much of a selection. The beds, who could ask for a better sleep than a Heavenly bedfrom the Westin.. the pillows, comforters, all of it is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The King St. Metro stop is within walking distance a few blocks away. Old Town Alexandria is a few minute cab ride down to the waterfront.

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nichols
Jul 6, 2008

Great stay for the value

I found the hotel and its staff to be warm and comfortable. the only drawback to the stay was that where it is located and its beinfg a holiday weekend, the things to do immediately around the hotel were somewhat limited. I would deffinitely recommend the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is an enjoyable walk to be had along King Street filled with places to eat and shop.

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wichita, KS
Mar 16, 2008

Very convenient to DC

The Westin was very comfortable and the staff eager to help. The bed was heavenly. The Westin's location was in the business section of town... restaurants within walking distance of the hotel were closed for the weekend. However the metro was an easy walk and extremely convenient and inexpensive for getting into DC and seeing its attractions. Old town Alexandria was a short drive and a place we would like to explore when we return. Parking at the hotel was a bit steep, $48.00 for 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Old town Alexandria is a lovely place to stroll and shop. In DC there is no end of wonderful sights to explore for young and old.

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reginald Martinez
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 24, 2011

Outstanding hotel

I was on a business trip to DC. I like to stay at hotels on the Metro line and take the train into the city. I can only describe the Westin as a first class hotel in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ITHAKA, N,Y.
Oct 16, 2009

EXCELLENCE.

RESTED AND ATE WHILE ON A LONG AUTO TRIP. A-ONE COMPARED TO OTHER REST STOPS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown, PA
May 10, 2009

Beautiful hotel, great location!

Area is very quaint. My daughter and I walked around at night without feeling unsafe. Metro not too far, but a good 5 min walk. The Westin was beautiful and smells wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown, PA
May 10, 2009

Beautiful hotel, great location!

Area is very quaint. My daughter and I walked around at night without feeling unsafe. Metro not too far, but a good 5 min walk. The Westin was beautiful and smells wonderful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reginald Martinez
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 24, 2011

Outstanding hotel

I was on a business trip to DC. I like to stay at hotels on the Metro line and take the train into the city. I can only describe the Westin as a first class hotel in every way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
May 4, 2009

Lovely Retreat

Great service, lovely room. Concierge floor provided good value. Train into Washington easily accessible. Hotel van took us and picked us up from local restaurants. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
ITHAKA, N,Y.
Oct 16, 2009

EXCELLENCE.

RESTED AND ATE WHILE ON A LONG AUTO TRIP. A-ONE COMPARED TO OTHER REST STOPS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top