$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Westin Alexandria

4 stars
400 Courthouse Square, 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Great Hotel

Very clean hotel close to the Metro. Staff is great. See full review

  • Travel 365 2014
  • Jul 8, 2014
visiting DC without the traffic hassle

Had a great time here, rooms were very clean, the staff was outstanding, I WILL be coming... See full review

  • john wanamaker
  • Jun 9, 2014
Just a few miles from Washington, D.C., The Westin Alexandria is an upscale retreat in Alexandria's exclusive Carlyle area. The hotel is located near historic Old Town, The Patent and Trademark Office, and the Albert V. Bryan Federal Courthouse. Meetings at The Westin Alexandria are refreshing and productive. Our 7,900 square feet of space spans 14 venues—all conveniently located on one floor. An attentive banquet staff and a dedicated Executive Meeting Specialist ensure a flawless event. An amazingly restful experience awaits you in one of our guest rooms. Sink into a blissful sleep in our iconic Westin Heavenly® Bed, then rise and shine in the Heavenly® Bath. Each room includes a refrigerator, flat screen TV, work desk, and ergonomic chair.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Alexandria Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.3 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.3 mi

Dining

Trademark
Clever cocktails, thoughtful sustenance, and an ingenious atmosphere help create one of Alexandria’s signature meeting places.
Starbucks®
Revive in the morning or recharge throughout the day with a freshly brewed coffee drink and a delicious muffin or scone at Starbucks®.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Alexandria

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton
Jan 26, 2011

good

Good hotel. Attentive staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billsnita
Business
Huntsville Alabama
Jan 17, 2011

Very nice and friendly

easy usage of metro. Nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lots of very nice dining choices in Del Ray and close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 17, 2011

Westin

Amazing that internet access was not free. Too bad the shower/tub was so narrow - doesn't seem as luxury as the rest of the furnishings. The restaurant was a little expensive, but the food (lunch and dinner) was absolutely delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New york
Nov 15, 2010

Great location, very nice hotel

very comfortable beds, clean and large rooms, accomodating staff, just perfect. I was part of a larger group that stayed in the htoel. the only thing which annoyed me was the great hot tub and pool area, during the prime hour of 6pm was closed for cleaning. why clean during the middle of the day? kind of annoyed me a little. but good value, and very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Infrequent travler
Business
Tucson, AZ
Oct 31, 2010

Nice hotel...bad locatation

We went to DC for the John Stewart Ralley to Restore Sanity. The room was fantastic. However, we did not arrive until midnight, and at that time everything was closed. The hotel resturaunt, room service, and everything within walking distance. The last time we had food, was on the plane, which was not substantial. The hotel shuttle drive was fantastic, very personable and knowledgable. However, the shuttle does not go to the airport. I have never been to a hotel that did not have an airport shuttle. I was very surprised and discouraged when I found out. All in all, my review of the hotel is that it is beautiful and has great rooms and people. However, the amenities leave much to be desired!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was over priced and only ok. Nothing to get excited about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 30, 2010

The honest truth

Very convenient location...very short walk to Metro, accessible to tourist attractions and DCA airport, free trolley service to Old Town via King Street, good restaurants, safe and beautiful location. Very impressed with the area and all it has to offer. One bad thing: no continental breakfast and tiny pool. Planning on using this hotel again and again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leominster, MA
Aug 30, 2010

Confirmation doesn't show type of bed

Front desk tried to put us in a room with two full size beds when I ordered a King. I left my paper confirmation in the car, so they weren't going to correct the problem until I showed them proof, but when I went to get my confirmation, the[...] paperwork did not state what kind of bed I reserved (I had both printouts--one from the reservation screen after I booked; the other from my email confirmation--and neither showed the bed info). This is not the first time I've run across this old bait and switch scam when I've reserved hotels online. Buyer beware! The good news though... if you make a stink and other customers are in the lobby, you will get what you ordered; so don't let them get away with it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure you go to Old Town. It is a wonderful place full of shops, unusual dining, a waterfront, music and friendly people. Wear good shoes, though... you will walk on a lot of cobblestone and there is a slight incline in areas. The hotel shuttle goes back and forth about every 15 minutes. They will drop you off wherever you'd like, and pick you up within 15 minutes whenever you call (before 10pm).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
Aug 27, 2010

Clean, safe, and quiet

Very clean. The staff was friendly and the beds were comfortable. I like valet parking, just wish it were less expensive. Should offer a less expensive "park and stay " deal. I will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks is just dow the block. Metro train is close, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katekw
Business
Boston
Aug 14, 2010

Classy and elegant

The hotel was quiet and beautiful with a superior staff who were very accommodating and helpful. There was a free shuttle service available which was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

To shopping and dining in the area take advantage of the free shuttle or the free trolley into Old Town. To go to Washington DC use the Metro at King Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Aug 9, 2010

Great hotel, business location

The Westin was a very nice hotel. The rooms were comfortable and clean with plenty of room. The hotel bar and restaurant was nice too. I was in town for a wedding at the hotel, so the location wasn't a huge issue, but the area seemed to shut down on the weekend and not much late night activity. However the price was excellent and there was a Metro stop within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top