$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

The Westin Alexandria

4 stars
400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
112 reviews
Great Hotel

Very clean hotel close to the Metro. Staff is great. See full review

  • Travel 365 2014
  • Jul 8, 2014
visiting DC without the traffic hassle

Had a great time here, rooms were very clean, the staff was outstanding, I WILL be coming... See full review

  • john wanamaker
  • Jun 9, 2014
The Westin Alexandria blends sophistication and elegance with the historic surroundings of Alexandria, VA. Located in the exclusive Carlyle section of Old Town Alexandria, our hotel is an oasis of personal, instinctive, and renewing comfort. Three blocks from the King Street metro station and Alexandria Amtrak station, five miles from Ronald Reagan National Airport, and eight miles from downtown Washington, DC, our hotel is ideally situated for your visit to the Washington/Alexandria area. Our elegant hotel is an integral component of Alexandria's newest community, The Carlyle at King Street Metro – a mixed-use hotel, luxury condominium, and retail project. This unique and stylish community is home to the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the Federal Courthouse. Our hotel features 319 beautifully appointed guest rooms, including 10 Executive Studios and Suites and one Presidential Suite with sweeping views of the Masonic Temple and Old Town Alexandria. All rooms feature High Speed Internet Access and flat screen LCD televisions. The signature Westin Heavenly Bed® provides guests with the ultimate comfort in every guest room. Sumptuous, stylish, and plush, the all-white bed consists of a custom designed pillow top mattress, down blanket, three crisp sheets, luxurious duvet, and five dreamy pillows. To complement the bed, guest rooms also feature the highly acclaimed Westin Heavenly Bath®. This includes a custom-designed dual showerhead featuring several spray options from light mist to massaging needles, as well as a curved shower rod that adds an extra eight inches of elbow room. We also offer a heated indoor pool and for the energetic – the WestinWORKOUT® Fitness Studio. The Jamieson Grille serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Or you can dine in the comfort of your room with our 24-hour room service. After a long day, meet up with friends or colleagues for a cocktail at the Trademark Bar. Discover refreshing surroundings and a convenient location at

The Westin Alexandria Rooms

Traditional
Description not provided

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Heated pool
Children's activities
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Video checkout
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.803 -77.0654
Nearby airports
Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 41.00, MI; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 31.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 62.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.3 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Alexandria

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Virginia wife
Herndon, VA
Aug 12, 2013

Ok stay

Everything was fine. The staff was helpful and friendly. There was no free Wifi which was very disappointing. Then on the 2nd day our room was never cleaned! Because we didn't book through the hotel we couldn't get a discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erg1
North Carolina
Aug 11, 2013

Nice!

Very clean, friendly staff, comfortable bed. The only downside is that you have to pay and extra $26 per day for parking. So to avoid that go to a parking garage to pay about $15 or park in a metered space (which are limited).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bev Salsa Queen
Boynton Beach, Florida
Jun 1, 2013

OK stay at Westin

Room was clean and comfortable. No view. Out of the way of King St in Old Alexandria where all the action is. It's the only hotel I've ever been in where amenities, airline info, maps, laundry facilities, pool etc were not listed anywhere in the room. Finally found a sheet to the left of check in that listed restaurants within walking distance. Didn't even know hotel had pool until I saw a sign. It was ok for the price. People should be alerted that parking is $26 per night. Local garages closed on weekends. A business/courthouse destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grantsmith
Prineville, Oregon
May 27, 2013

Centrally located but quiet

We needed a hotel close to Old Town Alexandria where our children and grandchildren live, but off of King and Duke Streets, which can be noisy. The Westin offers 4-star quality at an affordable price. Our room had all the amenities we needed and was very comfortable. We appreciated the shuttle service to King Street Metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the sandwich chains (Subway, Potbelly, Quizno's, etc) have stores within two blocks of the hotel, so affordable meals are easy to find, and you can take your to-go order to one of three plazas or 2 parks with lots of options for outside picnicking.

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amie and Conor
Philadelphia, PA
May 20, 2013

Just Mom and Baby

My 5 month old son and I spent the weekend in Old Town Alexandria. I usually stay in a more central hotel, but booked with the Westin for something different. The location is a bit removed and made it difficult for me to walk around town with my son (I needed to drive). There is no really convenient parking, so valet was a must for me with a child in tow, but the staff was so helpful even with a busy wedding going on that same weekend. They had no problem providing an infant crib and a refrigerator for my son's medication. The room was very comfortable, however, I found the previous guest's dirty laundry in the closet... Aside from that, I would still recommend this hotel because the staff was so accommodating and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDDJ83112
Washington, DC
Jan 21, 2013

Great Romantic getaway

This hotel was absolutely great. The rooms were spacious and elegant. The location was nice, but there aren't many things to do around that area besides dining.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are using the metro to get to this hotel, get off at the Eisenhower stop rather than King's St station.

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jgirl3003
Business
Pittsburgh
Aug 9, 2012

Great, but...

I was at this hotel for a conference, which was also held at the Westin. Both the conference and the room were excellent on all counts, except for one. The internet service is expensive ($10 per day) and it is HORRIBLE. The connection was so slow that I couldn't watch a 30 second video replay of the Olympics. I called customer service and they basically said it was because it was night time and busy. Other than that, the food at the conference was excellent, the coffee is Starbucks (if you like that type of coffee), and the room was the typical "Heavenly" Westin room you have come to expect. The exercise facilities were also nice, new and clean. (The pool was closed for some reason though)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't buy the Internet service unless you HAVE to.. My cell phone was faster.

Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J. Smith
North Carolina
Jul 23, 2012

comfortable overnight stay

While attending a family gathering we stayed at the Westin Alexandria. The room was very nice and was very clean. All amenities were well maintained. The rate was the best in the area and a real value. We would stay there again. Very close to all attractions in Olde Town Alexandria.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
adelaide grandmother
wisconsin
Jun 12, 2012

westin courthouse sq alexandria va

a great hotel in every way everyone was kind and helpful the room was beautiful as was the lobby and dining room i was traveling with my 6 year old grandson and we felt as if we were royalty hope to stay at the westin during my next visit to the metro dc area thanks westin!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPTO Visitor
Business
San Jose, California
May 27, 2012

Great alternative to DC

This is a great value hotel where I stayed instead of usual DC places. I took 5A Metrobus from IAD to Rosslyn Metro (blue line) to King Street and walked three blocks (get map). DCA is way closer. Hotel has friendly bar, with OK food, great staff, very clean and new at 2/3 to 1/2 cost of similar place in DC. Hotel is across the street from federal court and one block from USPTO, bringing interesting patrons, mostly men. Old Town is a mile away. My room had a king bed, OK view and was spotless. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top