$83 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Westin Alexandria

4 stars
400 Courthouse Square, 400 Courthouse Square, Alexandria, VA 22314-5700
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
74 reviews
Great Hotel

Very clean hotel close to the Metro. Staff is great. See full review

  • Travel 365 2014
  • Jul 8, 2014
visiting DC without the traffic hassle

Had a great time here, rooms were very clean, the staff was outstanding, I WILL be coming... See full review

  • john wanamaker
  • Jun 9, 2014
Just a few miles from Washington, D.C., The Westin Alexandria is an upscale retreat in Alexandria's exclusive Carlyle area. The hotel is located near historic Old Town, The Patent and Trademark Office, and the Albert V. Bryan Federal Courthouse. Meetings at The Westin Alexandria are refreshing and productive. Our 7,900 square feet of space spans 14 venues—all conveniently located on one floor. An attentive banquet staff and a dedicated Executive Meeting Specialist ensure a flawless event. An amazingly restful experience awaits you in one of our guest rooms. Sink into a blissful sleep in our iconic Westin Heavenly® Bed, then rise and shine in the Heavenly® Bath. Each room includes a refrigerator, flat screen TV, work desk, and ergonomic chair.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Alexandria also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Westin Alexandria Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Torpedo Factory Arts Center: 0.8 mi
  • Athenaeum: 1.3 mi
  • Carlyle House: 1.3 mi

Dining

Trademark
Clever cocktails, thoughtful sustenance, and an ingenious atmosphere help create one of Alexandria’s signature meeting places.
Starbucks®
Revive in the morning or recharge throughout the day with a freshly brewed coffee drink and a delicious muffin or scone at Starbucks®.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Alexandria

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
USPTO Visitor
Business
San Jose, California
May 27, 2012

Great alternative to DC

This is a great value hotel where I stayed instead of usual DC places. I took 5A Metrobus from IAD to Rosslyn Metro (blue line) to King Street and walked three blocks (get map). DCA is way closer. Hotel has friendly bar, with OK food, great staff, very clean and new at 2/3 to 1/2 cost of similar place in DC. Hotel is across the street from federal court and one block from USPTO, bringing interesting patrons, mostly men. Old Town is a mile away. My room had a king bed, OK view and was spotless. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AWGL
Business
Raleigh
Sep 2, 2014

Weekend in DC

The Westin Alexandria was a nice hotel. The staff was friendly, and it was located within a reasonable walk from the King Street Metro, which made it convenient for touring DC. The only complaints I have are that parking is $26/day, so we decided to park in a garage a few blocks away for $7/day, which was slightly inconvenient. Also, the only nearby option for getting snacks, drinks, etc. was the hotel gift shop (with a $10 minimum debit card charge) or the hotel restaurant, both overpriced. Would recommend bringing snacks and drinks to keep in the room. Overall, the hotel was a pretty good choice for our weekend in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel 365 2014
Business
Troy Michigan
Jul 8, 2014

Great Hotel

Very clean hotel close to the Metro. Staff is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
john wanamaker
Business
chesapeake, va
Jun 9, 2014

visiting DC without the traffic hassle

Had a great time here, rooms were very clean, the staff was outstanding, I WILL be coming back. They shuttle you to the metro, let you checkout of the room but able to leave your luggage with the concierge. This was a great experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ValerieB
Business
Ottawa, ON
May 16, 2014

Great to visit Alexandria & DC

The hotel is what you would expect from the Westin chain- no complaints. However, for the $$$ price tag I would expect that we'd not be charged for local calls or pay to print out attraction vouchers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ben and Takreem
Business
New York
May 5, 2014

Great hotel 20 min from DC

Stayed 3 nights and had no complaints. Courteous staff and affordable. Skip the valet parking for $26 and park in the nearby garages at a fraction of the price. The one by the Amc theater only charged me $1 for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ives diner a 3 min walk has a great breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Daddy Poppa
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 19, 2014

Nothing special, but fine!

Everything met expectations. Price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Better than Nat. Harbor
Business
Ashburn, Va
Dec 26, 2013

Excellent Stay

not far from the subway or king street west. we were in town for a convention which was across the river at national harbor. Better to stay in Alexandria and cross the bridge than to stay right there.. cheaper and easier for a short 10 min drive across the WW bridge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrianEsq
Business
Sea Bright, NJ
Nov 3, 2013

Westin Alexandria

I've stayed here three times in the last 3 months, having business in the courthouse across the street. The staff is always very pleasant and courteous. Upon checkout I told them that the Wifi was a little weak in my room, and they immediately removed the charges. The Trademark bar is also excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tkoenig81
Business
Virginia Beach, Va
Oct 12, 2013

Great hotel!

Very pleased with this hotel and the staff! They were friendly and courteous!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Alexandria

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NSA Z
Business
Bay Area
Sep 16, 2013

Excellent Hotel

Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable, well-equipped rooms. Good restaurant. Would have been good to be closer to the town center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top